Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: How to restore link number in GV ?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    95
    Device(s)
    LG Tribute HD
    Carrier(s)
    TPO
    Feedback Score
    0

    Question How to restore link number in GV ?

    How to restore link number in GV ?
    =======================

    Thanks for replies to my posting. I have a Hd tribute HD Android phone.


    I installed the GV app, when I had cell plan. I do not have that active plan now.

    As I play with GV to make WiFi calling, I dropped the Link number to GV.

    How do I get it back?

    I tried to link it, but it is asking to enter the code (received by text) to verify the phone number. As I do not have a cell plan, I am not able to get text for that number.


    Thanks for sharing

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    2,529
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by RIMDHoward View Post
    How to restore link number in GV ?
    =======================

    Thanks for replies to my posting. I have a Hd tribute HD Android phone.


    I installed the GV app, when I had cell plan. I do not have that active plan now.

    As I play with GV to make WiFi calling, I dropped the Link number to GV.

    How do I get it back?

    I tried to link it, but it is asking to enter the code (received by text) to verify the phone number. As I do not have a cell plan, I am not able to get text for that number.


    Thanks for sharing
    That's the whole point, if you don't have that number that's be pretty shady if it's been reasigned , why are trying to link a number that doesn't exist?!

    Sent from my K88 using HoFo mobile app

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    11,230
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by RIMDHoward View Post
    How to restore link number in GV ?
    =======================

    Thanks for replies to my posting. I have a Hd tribute HD Android phone.


    I installed the GV app, when I had cell plan. I do not have that active plan now.

    As I play with GV to make WiFi calling, I dropped the Link number to GV.

    How do I get it back?

    I tried to link it, but it is asking to enter the code (received by text) to verify the phone number. As I do not have a cell plan, I am not able to get text for that number.


    Thanks for sharing
    What you posted makes no sense to me.

    What does a cellular # linked to your GV # have to do with calls over data via the GV app ESPECIALLY a cellular # that doesn't even exist anymore!?

    Not only that, but based on your other posts in the https://www.howardforums.com/showthr...8#post17049808 AND https://www.howardforums.com/showthr...hout-cell-plan AND https://www.howardforums.com/showthr...8#post17040568 threads, unless I'm misunderstanding your confusing posts, it doesn't sound like you're even part of the GV app beta for calls over data.

    So, please explain what you're talking about!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    2,529
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by RIMDHoward View Post
    How to restore link number in GV ?
    =======================

    Thanks for replies to my posting. I have a Hd tribute HD Android phone.


    I installed the GV app, when I had cell plan. I do not have that active plan now.

    As I play with GV to make WiFi calling, I dropped the Link number to GV.

    How do I get it back?

    I tried to link it, but it is asking to enter the code (received by text) to verify the phone number. As I do not have a cell plan, I am not able to get text for that number.


    Thanks for sharing
    If you don't have a real cell number to link, why are you trying to link it? The whole point of a real cell number is to receive and make calls via Google voice forwarded to THAT number.

    Sent from my K88 using HoFo mobile app

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    11,230
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    So, RIMDHoward, are you going to answer?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    95
    Device(s)
    LG Tribute HD
    Carrier(s)
    TPO
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thanks for your replies/questions.

    I had a cell plan and installed GV and linked my cell number to GV. I was a able to get incoming calls to GV #. When WiFi on, I received GV call as wifi call.

    If WiFi off, it used my cell minutes.

    I am in transition to find another plan. As some folks suggested to for GV configuration, I removed the link number, to check, whether my GV Voip active.

    This is what happened.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Mars
    Posts
    2,852
    Device(s)
    Tin cans and a string
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    I am confused. If you're not part of gv beta and not using hangouts, how are you able to receive calls over wifi? How do you know they were over wifi?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    11,230
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    GPz1100, almost nothing RIMDHoward says makes much sense! What RIMDHoward says may or may not be what really happened. I don't know!

    RIMDHoward, you're just going to have to use the Hangouts app (+Hangouts Dialer if using Android) until the GV app VoIP function is released to the general public, since you missed out on getting in the GV app VoIP beta, according to what you said back in December at https://www.howardforums.com/showthr...hout-cell-plan!!!!!

    Hangouts for VoIP and messaging is very usable as is, and it's not going away anytime soon.

    Perhaps the GV app will do it better when the VoIP function is released to the public, but I'm personally in no rush to make the switch. In other words, Hangouts should work just fine for your needs at this time, based on what you've described!
    Vzw-$9.99/mo+$0.25/min-1999-2001
    PagePlus-2001-2015
    LycaMobile-v1-2013-2016
    Selectel Flex-2013-2015
    Puppy-2014
    Tracfone-2015-2016
    TruPhone-2015-
    Red Pocket-2016-2017
    Piranha-2016-
    FreedomPop-GSM-2016-
    T-Mo-Data-2017-
    3-2018-

    Ericsson AF738 Jul99-Dec03
    Qualcomm QCP 2760 Dec03-Feb08
    LG VX-8600 Feb08-Apr10
    Samsung Omnia SCH-i910 Apr10-Nov11
    HTC Droid Inc ADR6300 (CM7.2) Nov11-Jun13
    HTC Droid Inc 2 ADR6350 (CM7.2) Jun13-May15
    LG G2 VS980 (Rooted) May15-Apr17
    LG Phoenix 2 Mar17-

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    11,230
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    RIMDHoward, have you figured out what you're doing?

    WHY are you trying to restore a link in GV to a phone # that no longer exists for you?

    WHY are you currently trying to get VoIP calling working with the GV app when you're not part of the now now-closed beta?

    WHY don't you just use Hangouts for VoIP calling until that function is available to everyone in the GV app?

    Please explain so you can get the help you need!

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-02-2007, 10:08 PM
  2. How to restore original games in 6230i?
    By ezmsg in forum Nokia
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-08-2007, 11:06 AM
  3. How to program phone number in V3C?
    By Schmongo in forum Bell Mobility
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-16-2006, 11:19 AM
  4. Help How to restore phonebook backup in P2KTools
    By pdev in forum Motorola Modding
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-14-2006, 03:05 AM
  5. How to change own number in Nokia 2220?
    By EvanCSR in forum Rogers Wireless
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-23-2005, 12:59 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks