Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: ATT outage chicago area?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Mars
    Posts
    2,986
    Device(s)
    Tin cans and a string
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)

    ATT outage chicago area?

    I'm on the far northside here. No lte service. Forcing the phone to 3g works for both voice & data.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    1,132
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by GPz1100 View Post
    I'm on the far northside here. No lte service. Forcing the phone to 3g works for both voice & data.
    Just read this and went to check my GF's Cricket iPhone SE. "No Service" says the banner. Chicago/Wrigleyville for us...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Mars
    Posts
    2,986
    Device(s)
    Tin cans and a string
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    I guess it was bound to happen sooner or later. I've been on cricket for about 18 months now. Don't recall having any outages in that time.. At least none that I was aware of . All is not lost as 3g appears to be working just fine. I suppose some [many] folks don't know about forcing phones to different modes and/or it may not be possible on some devices.


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    1,882
    Carrier(s)
    TMobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    It's pathetic for att to have an outage while having the firstnet contract. Firstnet should have gone with TMobile instead or even Verizon would be better

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    10
    Feedback Score
    0
    Glad it's not just me. I put in a support ticket over chat this morning because I thought it was just my sim. But seems like it's everyone. I'm in the north Chicago suburbs.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Mars
    Posts
    2,986
    Device(s)
    Tin cans and a string
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    I don't know if it's just my phone/software (axon7/LOS 7.1.2) or the att system. I would have thought the phone would drop down to 3g/4g automatically when it failed to establish an lte connection. This does not happen. Lte discovery shows it stuck on band 2 and not even trying other bands. Network signal Guru shows it stuck in the "Paging" step under signalling.

    I locked out band 2. After reboot, it tries band 17 but same results.

    Makes me wonder if it's some sort of authentication issue rather than an actual tower/signal issue.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    10
    Feedback Score
    0
    I've got a samsung s9 and a iPhone SE and neither can connect. They both worked fine last night and both are getting "no service" this morning. I had a brief flash of connection a bit ago but it's gone again. I usually get a pretty strong signal.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    2,915
    Device(s)
    Motorola MOTO X4, Iphone 6S On VZW (Wife's)
    Carrier(s)
    GoPhone, Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by GPz1100 View Post
    I'm on the far northside here. No lte service. Forcing the phone to 3g works for both voice & data.
    According to downdetector it looks like there is a fairly large AT&T outage in & around the Chicago area today.
    https://downdetector.com/status/att/map/

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    8,738
    Carrier(s)
    TMobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    In va I've had the service go out completely for about 30 seconds and then come back on. Has done that 5 or 6 times

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Mars
    Posts
    2,986
    Device(s)
    Tin cans and a string
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Looks like it just came back up. From various posts on twitter and elsewhere it appears to have been down since ~6:30 this morning... Quite the outage.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-28-2011, 10:23 AM
  2. Chicago Area Blackberry E-mail push outage
    By vk60546 in forum USCellular
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 12-21-2009, 09:25 PM
  3. Chicago Area Outage?
    By rasmith3530 in forum USCellular
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 09-24-2009, 09:01 AM
  4. T-mo Outage in Aurora/Chicago Area
    By Mohit in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-11-2006, 09:25 AM
  5. MORE Outages in the Chicago Area!
    By rockrocks in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 184
    Last Post: 06-27-2005, 11:19 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks