Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20

Thread: What can go wrong when porting a number???

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    1,535
    Feedback Score
    0

    What can go wrong when porting a number???

    Just wondering what kind of things can go wrong when porting a number. I just ported from Cricket over to Red Pocket/At&t and can't seem to get Data, SMS and MMS working. I have given Red Pocket 24 hours to troubleshoot and figure it out. All the regular things have been tried on two different factory unlocked phones like APN changes, reboot and factory reset. Is there a such thing as a "Bad Port" which can't be fixed????

    Phones are: Huawei Mate SE and LG-G6. Calls work fine.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Chantilly, VA
    Posts
    860
    Device(s)
    Moto G6 Play
    Carrier(s)
    Red Pocket (AT&T)
    Feedback Score
    0
    I'm assuming you are only seeing "H" or "H+" but no LTE? Is that correct?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Mars
    Posts
    2,848
    Device(s)
    Tin cans and a string
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    To OP, be more specific.

    1) What device are you using?
    2) What messaging program?
    3) Are you able to make AND receive calls?
    4) Post a screen shot of the apn settings screen.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    1,535
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by GPz1100 View Post
    To OP, be more specific.

    1) What device are you using?
    2) What messaging program?
    3) Are you able to make AND receive calls?
    4) Post a screen shot of the apn settings screen.
    Trying a factory unlocked LG-G6 and Huawei Mate SE (Both are not showing LTE)
    Tried both Textra and stock messaging apps
    Yes, I can make and receive calls

    APN: Reseller
    Proxy: Not set
    Port: Not set
    Username: Not set
    Password: Not set
    Server: Not set
    MMSC: http://mmsc.mobile.att.net
    MMS proxy: proxy.mobile.att.net
    MMS port: 80
    MCC: 310
    MNC: 410
    Authentication Type: None
    APN type: default,mms,supl
    APN protocol IPv4
    Bearer: Unspecified


    Right now I have the Red Pocket sim in my LG-G6 so I can at least make and receive calls.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    816
    Carrier(s)
    VZW - Work / T-Mobile (iPhone)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Odd things tend to happen more often when the "port" isn't a port from another network, but rather is an internal transfer within the same network (either from one MVNO to another or from the parent to/from a MVNO). In this case, it's a transfer from one AT&T operator to another (i.e., from Cricket to Red Pocket).

    This is where things may not "port" correctly, as internally Cricket hasn't fully released the line in their servers for things like MMS or Data, and thus Red Pocket hasn't fully assumed them. I'm not sure what I'd do in this situation, but if I were a former customer of Cricket, I think I would call them, get their view and perhaps speak with their porting department to ensure they have fully released the line. Once they confirm that, I would call Red Pocket again, and ask them to reset everything on their side again, and see if things start working.

    If that doesn't work, then another option might be to port to a non-AT&T operator temporarily (even if for a day), then port to Red Pocket.. Of course, whatever you've already paid Red Pocket for (which could be an annual plan) and you'd need to sort that out with them (i.e., could they / would they acknowledge this glitch and then provide you with the plan you paid for when you port back in?)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Mars
    Posts
    2,848
    Device(s)
    Tin cans and a string
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    On a moto g4 play there's 2 apn entries. One for data configured as apn type default, then another for mms which contains the mms entries from above. Both data and mms send/recv work.

    I did an apn reset which resulted in a single apn entry as shown below.

    https://i.imgur.com/IpXCzOH.png
    https://i.imgur.com/enLASYF.png
    https://i.imgur.com/1Ta11b8.png
    https://i.imgur.com/YMozoS5.png

    I suppose it is possible for an incomplete port when moving between mvno's on the same network. Keep in mind, mms requires mobile data to work. Does your mobile data work? Is it on when you're trying to do mms?

    Do basic texts (sms) work if they come from a none att network?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    1,535
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by GPz1100 View Post
    On a moto g4 play there's 2 apn entries. One for data configured as apn type default, then another for mms which contains the mms entries from above. Both data and mms send/recv work.

    I did an apn reset which resulted in a single apn entry as shown below.

    https://i.imgur.com/IpXCzOH.png
    https://i.imgur.com/enLASYF.png
    https://i.imgur.com/1Ta11b8.png
    https://i.imgur.com/YMozoS5.png

    I suppose it is possible for an incomplete port when moving between mvno's on the same network. Keep in mind, mms requires mobile data to work. Does your mobile data work? Is it on when you're trying to do mms?

    Do basic texts (sms) work if they come from a none att network?
    Mobile Data is not working. I followed High Tech's advice and called Cricket to see if the port was complete. Cricket told me it completed around 12:00 Noon yesterday. I think Red Pocket was trying to troubleshoot before Noon yesterday. Currently on hold with Red Pocket and will try to get them to reset everything again. Thanks for all the quick help so far and I'll definitely be posting the results in a few.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    5,302
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Fishx65 View Post
    Trying a factory unlocked LG-G6 and Huawei Mate SE (Both are not showing LTE)
    Tried both Textra and stock messaging apps
    Yes, I can make and receive calls

    APN: Reseller
    Proxy: Not set
    Port: Not set
    Username: Not set
    Password: Not set
    Server: Not set
    MMSC: http://mmsc.mobile.att.net
    MMS proxy: proxy.mobile.att.net
    MMS port: 80
    MCC: 310
    MNC: 410
    Authentication Type: None
    APN type: default,mms,supl
    APN protocol IPv4
    Bearer: Unspecified


    Right now I have the Red Pocket sim in my LG-G6 so I can at least make and receive calls.
    try these apn settings - https://bestmvno.com/apn-settings/re...-apn-settings/

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    1,535
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by october262 View Post
    Already tried all of them on both phones but thanks.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Mars
    Posts
    2,848
    Device(s)
    Tin cans and a string
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Does your account reflect data @ redpocket.com?


  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    1,535
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by GPz1100 View Post
    Does your account reflect data @ redpocket.com?

    Yup, 5,120 MB of LTE left for the month.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    5,302
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Fishx65 View Post
    Yup, 5,120 MB of LTE left for the month.
    are the phones removed from your cricket account ??

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    1,535
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by october262 View Post
    are the phones removed from your cricket account ??
    Not sure what ya mean. My Cricket account (single line) was automatically closed when the port went through. Red Pocket just reset everything on their end and I powered down and took the sim out for about 5 minutes. Still nothing!!! Looks like I'm gonna get a refund from Red Pocket for the 360 plan I purchased on Ebay and port back to Cricket.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Mars
    Posts
    2,848
    Device(s)
    Tin cans and a string
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Have you tried reaching out to RP using the ebay messaging? I've had better results from reps assigned to handle those accounts than actual RP customer service.

    I also have this # in my notes - 1-712-775-8777 .

    Maybe porting to the tmo side as suggested above, then back to gsma might be the solution.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    1,535
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by GPz1100 View Post
    Have you tried reaching out to RP using the ebay messaging? I've had better results from reps assigned to handle those accounts than actual RP customer service.

    I also have this # in my notes - 1-712-775-8777 .

    Maybe porting to the tmo side as suggested above, then back to gsma might be the solution.
    Thanks, just sent them a message through ebay. On another note, I just tried the Red Pocket sim in an UNLOCKED At&t Moto Z2 Force and get the exact same results.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. what things can go wrong with porting a number?
    By Guest 113 in forum Bell Mobility
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-23-2008, 10:27 PM
  2. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-04-2007, 09:45 PM
  3. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 08-05-2004, 11:31 PM
  4. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-29-2003, 02:20 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks