Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Voice Mail, "Passwords must contain at least 7 digits..."

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    257
    Device(s)
    Moto G5+
    Carrier(s)
    TF/ATT
    Feedback Score
    0

    Voice Mail, "Passwords must contain at least 7 digits..."

    https://www.tracfone.com/voicemailre...ilinstruction/

    "To Change Voicemail Password
    On your mobile phone, press and hold the "1" key. Press the number "4" to access the personal Options menu. Press the number "2" to access the Administrative Options menu. Press the number "1" to access the Password Options menu. Press the number "1" to change your password. Enter your new password (4 digits) and press the "#" key which is under the number 9."

    I want to change my existing 4-digit pin/password to a different 4-digit pin/password.

    When I follow the above instructions, "she" says, "Passwords must contain at least 7 digits..."

    "It's Always Something" with TF!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    BFE
    Posts
    7,717
    Device(s)
    LG G2, Moto G5+, Moto E4, (Droid Mini, GS3, Droid4, L41C, Droid3, S390G, LG500G, T404G, T301G, V170)
    Carrier(s)
    Total Wireless (Verizon, Red Pocket, Tracfone)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by C8H10N4O2 View Post
    "It's Always Something" with TF!
    That's not TF. The carrier (Verizon, AT&T, T-Mobile) provides VM services.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    257
    Device(s)
    Moto G5+
    Carrier(s)
    TF/ATT
    Feedback Score
    0
    So even though I input my phone number (on ATT) TF instructions that say "4 digits" is incorrect?

    I have had a 4 digit password "forever", so I guess ATT changed their side?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    BFE
    Posts
    7,717
    Device(s)
    LG G2, Moto G5+, Moto E4, (Droid Mini, GS3, Droid4, L41C, Droid3, S390G, LG500G, T404G, T301G, V170)
    Carrier(s)
    Total Wireless (Verizon, Red Pocket, Tracfone)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by C8H10N4O2 View Post
    so I guess ATT changed their side?
    If it's changed it was the carrier, AT&T in your case.

    TF likely hasn't updated the instructions in a long time.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    California Gold Country
    Posts
    5,747
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by C8H10N4O2 View Post
    So even though I input my phone number (on ATT) TF instructions that say "4 digits" is incorrect?

    I have had a 4 digit password "forever", so I guess ATT changed their side?
    The instructions you quoted sound like the ones for Verizon, but looking at the AT&T menu it is the same sequence for password change. I don't see anything about the amount of digits needed in an AT&T password. You might check with an AT&T store. Doubt TF is going to be much help.

    https://www.att.com/media/att/2013/s...email+Menu.pdf

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    257
    Device(s)
    Moto G5+
    Carrier(s)
    TF/ATT
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ST Dog View Post
    If it's changed it was the carrier, AT&T in your case.

    TF likely hasn't updated the instructions in a long time.
    https://www.wireless.att.com/busines...ssword_tcm.pdf (June 6, 2018)
    After you receive the text message with your temporary voicemail password, you can
    change it to a secure 4 to 15-digit password using one of the following methods depending
    on your device type...
    No need to reply... I'll just keep the one I have.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    California Gold Country
    Posts
    5,747
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by C8H10N4O2 View Post
    That's kinda what I was seeing, that you had to have an AT&T account to do some things. Verizon is the same way. Extra goodies for their contract customers.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    257
    Device(s)
    Moto G5+
    Carrier(s)
    TF/ATT
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by loboheeler View Post
    That's kinda what I was seeing, that you had to have an AT&T account to do some things. Verizon is the same way. Extra goodies for their contract customers.
    But, I am not a "contract customer", just a TF user since the early 2000's.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    6,200
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2, Moto E5, LG Q6
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    I'm still using a 4-digit password for my voicemail on TF/AT&T. It's possible that they now require a longer password, but "grandfather" the old ones.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    274
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hpham View Post
    I'm still using a 4-digit password for my voicemail on TF/AT&T. It's possible that they now require a longer password, but "grandfather" the old ones.
    So am I, but TF/Verizon. My voicemail has always been there on any new phone I activate using the same 4 digit password.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    California Gold Country
    Posts
    5,747
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by C8H10N4O2 View Post
    But, I am not a "contract customer", just a TF user since the early 2000's.
    I doubt regular AT&T customer service would be useful without an account, but one of the stores may be for verification of password rules. Who is going to remember a 7 digit password?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    6,200
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2, Moto E5, LG Q6
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by loboheeler View Post
    Who is going to remember a 7 digit password?
    Do you remember your SS#, your phone number, and other phone numbers? They're 9 to 10 digits long.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    California Gold Country
    Posts
    5,747
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hpham View Post
    Do you remember your SS#, your phone number, and other phone numbers? They're 9 to 10 digits long.
    Memorization ability varies between people, and is selective. It takes a lot of repetition for me to remember numbers and often names. SS, main phone number, home address, and bank PIN are about the only things remembered. I rely on lists and notes always available.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    BFE
    Posts
    7,717
    Device(s)
    LG G2, Moto G5+, Moto E4, (Droid Mini, GS3, Droid4, L41C, Droid3, S390G, LG500G, T404G, T301G, V170)
    Carrier(s)
    Total Wireless (Verizon, Red Pocket, Tracfone)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hpham View Post
    Do you remember your SS#, your phone number, and other phone numbers? They're 9 to 10 digits long.
    Remember when we all had more than a dozen 7 digit phone numbers memorized?

    Home, grandparents, friends, time&temp, movie theater, emergency numbers, etc.

    I haven't called it in 25 years but remember my home number as a child.

Similar Threads

  1. BB 7130e - can't program: "msl password must contain 6 digits"
    By buzzinhornets in forum Bell Mobility
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-13-2008, 02:29 PM
  2. 8390/AT&T GSM Voice Mail Question
    By Kavio in forum Nokia
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-25-2002, 09:55 AM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-09-2002, 04:35 PM
  4. nokia 3360 auto password voice mail?
    By fifa4life in forum Nokia
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-25-2002, 01:55 PM
  5. Help! Rogers AT&T Voice Mail Question!!!
    By mikew44 in forum Rogers Wireless
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-04-2002, 09:09 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks