Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Why when my Xfinity is down, AT&T LTE still works?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Albuquerque, NM
    Posts
    99
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S9
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0

    Question Why when my Xfinity is down, AT&T LTE still works?

    I'm writing this on my tethered connection. Comcast is down right now at my house, but full signal of AT&T LTE still works. Why is this? There's no way they use CenturyLink for backhaul, we have such an old CL infrastructure it's laughable (fastest I can get from them is 12Mbps). I have 250Mbps down on Comcast.

    Thank you for the info.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Durham, NC
    Posts
    652
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6s Plus
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by skyhawk214 View Post
    I'm writing this on my tethered connection. Comcast is down right now at my house, but full signal of AT&T LTE still works. Why is this? There's no way they use CenturyLink for backhaul, we have such an old CL infrastructure it's laughable (fastest I can get from them is 12Mbps). I have 250Mbps down on Comcast.

    Thank you for the info.
    Well, there are a variety of factors, and possible answers.

    1. AT&T might actually have fiber in the area. Their fiber infrastructure is in a lot of places they do not have other service like landlines. Do you know who owned the market before CL bought it?
    2. Just because CL doesn't offer anything but crappy DSL in your area doesn't mean they do not have business fiber offerings which are first class.
    3. Your Comcast (cable?) outage might be an equipment problem which would not effect their fiber business customers. If AT&T is getting backhaul from Comcast, you can bet the SLA puts AT&T at the top of the priority list, and the network design will make sure they stay up in the case of a single failure which might take out a neighborhood or several.
    4. One of many other possible scenarios.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Desert Southwest near a cactus.
    Posts
    142
    Device(s)
    iPhone
    Carrier(s)
    At&t and T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Sounds like a localized problem...no problems on WS or by UNM. When CL went down last month, I was surprised how it took down Verizon here in ABQ. Didn't know they used CL for backbone. Luckily my At&t line was fine. I think At&t has their own backbone here.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Greater Hartford, CT
    Posts
    12,318
    Device(s)
    iPhone XS Max 256Gb
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T Mobility
    Feedback Score
    0
    It’s possible that AT&T could still be using T1s at some sites, but I would imagine most of their sites have been upgraded with fiber.
    Hartford, CT Area

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    3,472
    Device(s)
    iPhone Xs 256 GB Gold, Nexus 6P 64 GB Silver
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T Mobility, Can and String, Smoke Signals, Verizon Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    CenturyLink likely has fiber deployed for enterprise use, not consumer. Same case here.


    Sent from my iPhone Xs using HoFo

    B4+B30+B66+B14 (20 MHz + 10 MHz + 10 MHz + 10 MHz)
    Duluth, MN (Test is AT&T, eSIM causes glitch for Carrier)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Sugar Land
    Posts
    730
    Device(s)
    iPhone X (Verizon), Pixel 2 (T-Mobile)
    Carrier(s)
    Houston Cellular/Cingular/At&t - (2000-2018) T-Mobile (2018-present, VZW (2011-present)
    Feedback Score
    0
    They could still be using Century Link fiber for backhaul. Just because you are down does not mean everyone else is. They could also be using their own At&t fiber, cable co. fiber, or some other regional fiber network.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    The Woodlands, TX
    Posts
    140
    Device(s)
    iPhone XS Max
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T/FirstNet (work), Verizon (personal)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by skyhawk214 View Post
    I'm writing this on my tethered connection. Comcast is down right now at my house, but full signal of AT&T LTE still works. Why is this? There's no way they use CenturyLink for backhaul, we have such an old CL infrastructure it's laughable (fastest I can get from them is 12Mbps). I have 250Mbps down on Comcast.

    Thank you for the info.
    Residential internet service is quite a bit different than commercial fiber backhaul... AT&T is certainly not using Comcast cable modems to feed their towers... I have several 10gbps transport links at work from Comcast and AT&T when they don't offer anything close to that on the residential side. There are plenty of other options for transport, too... could be Zayo, Level3, or a number of other carriers.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-23-2009, 07:15 AM
  2. why my phone is displaying AT&T
    By notooth3333 in forum AT&T
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 06-07-2004, 11:59 AM
  3. Replies: 39
    Last Post: 04-01-2004, 10:10 AM
  4. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-03-2004, 07:48 PM
  5. My site is down temporarily...
    By TantrumSKID in forum General Nextel Discussion
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 07-08-2003, 02:53 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks