Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 LastLast
Results 61 to 75 of 103

Thread: I hate Sprint, but this deal is too good to pass up.

  1. #61
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    534
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by comintel View Post
    In most areas if you are on Band 26 and it is slow, you should be able to disable it to get onto TMobile.
    How do I disable it?

    Sent from my SM-N960U1 using Tapatalk

  2. #62
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    4,717
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by Limeybastard View Post
    How do I disable it?

    Sent from my SM-N960U1 using Tapatalk
    Same as before:

    On my S8 (and probably N9 is the same):

    ##DATA#

    Edit

    000000

    LTE

    Toggle bands

    You MUST then exit normally and reboot before this takes effect.

    I assume you have Roaming enabled. It should Always be left on. Sprint never charges for Roaming. I think we discussed that enough times.

  3. #63
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    534
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by comintel View Post
    Same as before:

    On my S8 (and probably N9 is the same):

    ##DATA#

    Edit

    000000

    LTE

    Toggle bands

    You MUST then exit normally and reboot before this takes effect.

    I assume you have Roaming enabled. It should Always be left on. Sprint never charges for Roaming. I think we discussed that enough times.
    Roaming on my device is turned yes. I disabled band 25,26 and 41 and got 3G instead on Sprint. I'm obviously doing something wrong or roaming with T Mobile is not available in my area.

    Sent from my SM-N960U1 using Tapatalk

  4. #64
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    4,717
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by Limeybastard View Post
    Roaming on my device is turned yes. I disabled band 25,26 and 41 and got 3G instead on Sprint. I'm obviously doing something wrong or roaming with T Mobile is not available in my area.

    Sent from my SM-N960U1 using Tapatalk
    Isn't that interesting! I do not know why that would be the case unless maybe the factory-unlocked model has not yet been enabled for roaming to the same extent as the branded model. I am afraid that may be the case but, if so, hopefully it will be corrected when updates are made.

  5. #65
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    534
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by comintel View Post
    Isn't that interesting! I do not know why that would be the case unless maybe the factory-unlocked model is being treated as a second class citizen but I thought I had seen otherwise.
    Quite possibly.

    Sent from my SM-N960U1 using Tapatalk

  6. #66
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    4,717
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by Limeybastard View Post
    Quite possibly.

    Sent from my SM-N960U1 using Tapatalk
    Yeah I do not think it is intentional but just that it takes Sprint longer to update that model.

    I do believe they want that model to have VoLTE reasonably soon (a significant number of technically-advanced Sprint subscribers do prefer the factory unlocked model), and when they do update it, I expect they will catch up on the roaming updates because they will need them.

    I gather some updates for that model are currently in beta and some say those do/will bring roaming improvements.

  7. #67
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    534
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by comintel View Post
    Yeah I do not think it is intentional but just that it takes Sprint longer to update that model.

    I do believe they want that model to have VoLTE reasonably soon (a significant number of technically-advanced Sprint subscribers do prefer the factory unlocked model), and when they do update it, I expect they will catch up on the roaming updates because they will need them.

    I gather some updates for that model are currently in beta and some say those do/will bring roaming improvements.
    I don't think volte is working on branded Sprint Note 9 on One UI either from what I read on xda. But it was on Oreo for them.

    Sent from my SM-N960U1 using Tapatalk

  8. #68
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    4,717
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by Limeybastard View Post
    I don't think volte is working on branded Sprint Note 9 on One UI either from what I read on xda. But it was on Oreo for them.

    Sent from my SM-N960U1 using Tapatalk
    I agree they do not have it yet either. Neither do most Samsung phones yet. But there is no doubt they will have it soon, whether by Oreo or otherwise, probably a whole bunch of them at once any time now. Maybe they are waiting for Oreo to be out on all models.

    Hopefully you will have both VoLTE and better roaming once Oreo is out officially on your model. I think that is likely. I gather Oreo is already in beta on that model. I think that should be released in final form before not too long also.

  9. #69
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    534
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by comintel View Post
    I agree they do not have it yet either. Neither do most Samsung phones yet. But there is no doubt they will have it soon, whether by Oreo or otherwise, probably a whole bunch of them at once any time now. Maybe they are waiting for Oreo to be out on all models.

    Hopefully you will have both VoLTE and better roaming once Oreo is out officially on your model. I think that is likely. I gather Oreo is already in beta on that model. I think that should be released in final form before not too long also.
    Yes, One UI pie is beta currently on the U1 model. But the sprint U model it's already released.

    Sent from my SM-N960U1 using Tapatalk

  10. #70
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    4,717
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by Limeybastard View Post
    Yes, One UI pie is beta currently on the U1 model. But the sprint U model it's already released.

    Sent from my SM-N960U1 using Tapatalk
    OK I see.

    I did see someone who has the beta on the U1 say he thought it had roaming and VoLTE but he was a little vague. Should hopefully be ok.

  11. #71
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    534
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    I just disabled bands 25,26 and 41 and tried to update prl after reboot and got this.. then I updated profile and it reverted everything back in the ##data# menu to default.Name:  Screenshot_20190222-192512_Settings.jpg
Views: 240
Size:  21.6 KB

    Sent from my SM-N960U1 using Tapatalk

  12. #72
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    4,717
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by Limeybastard View Post
    I just disabled bands 25,26 and 41 and tried to update prl after reboot and got this.. then I updated profile and it reverted everything back in the ##data# menu to default.Name:  Screenshot_20190222-192512_Settings.jpg
Views: 240
Size:  21.6 KB

    Sent from my SM-N960U1 using Tapatalk
    Well you've definitively verified it will not roam on TMobile I guess.

  13. #73
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    534
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by comintel View Post
    Well you've definitively verified it will not roam on TMobile I guess.
    I wonder if flashing the U firmware would make a difference. I think it might. But then again I'm not that eager to find out.

    Sent from my SM-N960U1 using Tapatalk

  14. #74
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    4,717
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by Limeybastard View Post
    I wonder if flashing the U firmware would make a difference. I think it might. But then again I'm not that eager to find out.

    Sent from my SM-N960U1 using Tapatalk
    I think it likely would but with Pie just around the corner, and likely to do the same thing, I think I would wait for that.
    (corrected)
    Last edited by comintel; 02-23-2019 at 01:55 AM.

  15. #75
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    534
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by comintel View Post
    I think it likely would but with Oreo just around the corner, and likely to do the same thing, I think I would wait for that.
    You mean Pie right?

    Sent from my SM-N960U1 using Tapatalk

Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-17-2003, 02:51 AM
  2. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 12-04-2002, 11:45 AM
  3. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-09-2002, 03:13 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks