Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 58

Thread: I hate Sprint, but this deal is too good to pass up.

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    4,577
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Limeybastard View Post
    On phone or my sprint?

    Sent from my SM-N960U1 using Tapatalk
    On the phone.

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    484
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by comintel View Post
    On the phone.
    Yes I haveName:  Screenshot_20190203-161456_Phone.jpg
Views: 234
Size:  32.7 KB

    Sent from my SM-N960U1 using Tapatalk

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    4,577
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Limeybastard View Post
    Yes I haveName:  Screenshot_20190203-161456_Phone.jpg
Views: 234
Size:  32.7 KB

    Sent from my SM-N960U1 using Tapatalk
    OK I do not know then.

    All I can tell you is that my Sprint-branded S8 switches instantly to TMO LTE roaming the minute I go into certain places here in Raleigh such as gyms and some supermarkets where it used previously to go to Sprint 3G.

    I seems to see patterns in posts that this may partly be a function of branded versus unbranded but this in turn could just be a function of update levels. Branded S8 version have VoLTE and unbranded versions do not, so maybe it is related to that.

    There are updates coming out soon:

    https://www.droid-life.com/2019/01/3...-9-pie-update/

    Maybe they will help. According to posts elsewhere testing betas, that may be the case.

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    484
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by comintel View Post
    OK I do not know then.

    All I can tell you is that my Sprint-branded S8 switches instantly to TMO LTE roaming the minute I go into certain places here in Raleigh such as gyms and some supermarkets where it used previously to go to Sprint 3G.

    I seems to see patterns in posts that this may partly be a function of branded versus unbranded but this in turn could just be a function of update levels. Branded S8 version have VoLTE and unbranded versions do not, so maybe it is related to that.

    There are updates coming out soon:

    https://www.droid-life.com/2019/01/3...-9-pie-update/

    Maybe they will help. According to posts elsewhere testing betas, that may be the case.
    How can you tell its roaming on LTE? Do you use network signal info app?

    Sent from my SM-N960U1 using Tapatalk

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    4,577
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Limeybastard View Post
    How can you tell its roaming on LTE? Do you use network signal info app?

    Sent from my SM-N960U1 using Tapatalk

    Yes I constantly check band usage etc..

    I use SignalCheck Pro which has great Sprint support in the paid version, but the free version of that is useless.

    If you want free you can use LTE Discovery.

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    484
    Feedback Score
    0
    Correct me if I'm wrong, but are you saying roaming on T Mobile would be at full LTE speeds or just 3G hspa?

    Sent from my SM-N960U1 using Tapatalk

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    4,577
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Limeybastard View Post
    Correct me if I'm wrong, but are you saying roaming on T Mobile would be at full LTE speeds or just 3G hspa?

    Sent from my SM-N960U1 using Tapatalk
    Roaming on TMobile is full speed LTE. I have used it frequently and run speedtests.

    However latency is modestly higher than on real TMobile for now because of network routing issues. Hopefully they will be able to fix those.

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    5,311
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Limeybastard View Post
    How can you tell its roaming on LTE? Do you use network signal info app? Sent from my SM-N960U1 using Tapatalk
    on android - go into the phones settings - SIM status - check under Roaming and see what it says there.

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    1,741
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yeah, I stuck with Sprint up until 2011 on the original Sero plan. I came back for the free plan in Janurary. Oh how I hoped that they got better than they were in 2011. Nope, they suck just as bad. I'll ride out my $2.90/month plan for the year and move on. Maybe in that year TMO will do something and I will decide then what to do.

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    4,577
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by gedster314 View Post
    Yeah, I stuck with Sprint up until 2011 on the original Sero plan. I came back for the free plan in Janurary. Oh how I hoped that they got better than they were in 2011. Nope, they suck just as bad. I'll ride out my $2.90/month plan for the year and move on. Maybe in that year TMO will do something and I will decide then what to do.
    You need a phone than can take advantage of the TMO roaming.

    Do you have one?

  11. #41
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    1,741
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by comintel View Post
    You need a phone than can take advantage of the TMO roaming.

    Do you have one?
    I have a MOTO G6 Play

  12. #42
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    4,577
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by gedster314 View Post
    I have a MOTO G6 Play
    I see - I just do not know for the the different versions of that phone.

    Be sure you have Roaming enabled.

    I think the Boost/Sprint version should definitely roam well as it has all Sprint features including HPUE, LTE Calling (presumably soon VoLTE), Wifi Calling, Visual VoiceMail etc.

    If it the factory unlocked version, I know it lacks a number of Sprint features. I would hope it still would roam though.

    Have you seen it roam on bands 2, 4, etc?

    If not, hopefully it will be available after later updates still to come.
    Last edited by comintel; 02-06-2019 at 07:06 PM.

  13. #43
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    1,732
    Feedback Score
    0
    This Sprint "free" plan is not really free since there are taxes to be paid. I'm in California and had this plan and paid $8.99 a month in taxes. That's fine, but the dropped calls, dropped GPS (rerouting, rerouting, repeat) was happening way too much. Since I use Google Voice, I can buy the Mintsim promo's for 3 months for $20. ($26. with tax) and get much better coverage, no GPS problems. Another downside to Sprint is their inability to use data while on a call. Works for some, but not me. YMMV.

  14. #44
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    1,220
    Device(s)
    iPhone XS Max
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by jimxx200 View Post
    This Sprint "free" plan is not really free since there are taxes to be paid.
    That’s ridiculous, of course it’s free. Sprint isn’t charging you taxes, it’s not their fault that your state is charging you.

    I ported in a Google Voice number and have had no issues. In fact I’ve seen some of the fastest download times I’ve ever had on Sprint, however it’s been very inconsistent.

    I’d recommend this to almost anyone, why NOT save the money?



    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  15. #45
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    484
    Feedback Score
    0
    My wifi went down at home today. Had to use sprint LTE. It was painful.

    Sent from my SM-N960U1 using Tapatalk

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-17-2003, 03:51 AM
  2. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 12-04-2002, 12:45 PM
  3. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-09-2002, 04:13 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks