Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 46 to 60 of 62

Thread: Firstnet Wi-Fi calling just activated

  1. #46
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Olympia, WA
    Posts
    2,960
    Device(s)
    HTC One M8
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Just went through the process of switching to FirstNet at work — from what they’ve told me, if it doesn’t have Band 14, it’s not truly supported by them. This why WiFi calling us working on the Xs/XR but not the others.... so far so good!

  2. #47
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Chicago burbs
    Posts
    2,389
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S8 Active
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by NGeorge View Post
    Just went through the process of switching to FirstNet at work — from what they’ve told me, if it doesn’t have Band 14, it’s not truly supported by them. This why WiFi calling us working on the Xs/XR but not the others.... so far so good!
    Then why is the Samsung Galaxy S8 Active in the list of supported phones....but does not have Band 14? One of our guys when going to the store, was upgraded to an S8 Active when switching over to FirstNet....instead of a Band 14 capable S9, etc. I always thought it was weird.

  3. #48
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    3,780
    Device(s)
    Galaxy S6 Active
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by Shizam76 View Post
    Then why is the Samsung Galaxy S8 Active in the list of supported phones....but does not have Band 14? One of our guys when going to the store, was upgraded to an S8 Active when switching over to FirstNet....instead of a Band 14 capable S9, etc. I always thought it was weird.
    I'm thinking it's more marketing than anything. In case of emergency, firstnet will still have priority on the other available bands.

    Sent from my SM-N960U 6GB aka Note 9 using Tapatalk

  4. #49
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Chicago burbs
    Posts
    2,389
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S8 Active
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by Joeybutts View Post
    I'm thinking it's more marketing than anything. In case of emergency, firstnet will still have priority on the other available bands.

    Sent from my SM-N960U 6GB aka Note 9 using Tapatalk
    He upgraded from an S6 active, which he still loved. They made him upgrade, they stated the s6 active isn't compatible.

    Sent from my SM-G892A using HoFo mobile app

  5. #50
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    5,646
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars

  6. #51
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Chicago burbs
    Posts
    2,389
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S8 Active
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by october262 View Post
    Interesting. The S8 Active is no longer on the firstnet supported phones list (your first link).

    Sent from my SM-G892A using HoFo mobile app

  7. #52
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    36
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    After not having Wi-Fi calling ever since I activated FirstNet, Wi-Fi calling just suddenly showed up for me the other day. I’m running an iPhone 7+ with iOS 12.2. Finally.

  8. #53
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    943
    Device(s)
    iPhone 8+ (Intel), iPhone 6S, Galaxy S9, iPad 9.7, iPad Mini 3, Netgear Nighthawk Hotspot
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T, FirstNet
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    I know the rules are changing and FirstNet customers will no longer be able to activate non-B14 capable devices at some point. Perhaps that rule is already taking effect?
    I do not represent any company or other entity. Anything I post in these forums or write on this site are my thoughts and opinions only. I make every attempt to be 100% accurate, but I am human and do make mistakes from time to time.

  9. #54
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    3,780
    Device(s)
    Galaxy S6 Active
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    I remember recieving an update that made the S8A "firstnet ready", I think it just allowed the phone to accept the black sim.

    Sent from my SM-N960U 6GB aka Note 9 using Tapatalk

  10. #55
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    943
    Device(s)
    iPhone 8+ (Intel), iPhone 6S, Galaxy S9, iPad 9.7, iPad Mini 3, Netgear Nighthawk Hotspot
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T, FirstNet
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    My Galaxy S9 with a FirstNet SIM received a software update yesterday that finally enabled Wi-Fi Calling on it.

  11. #56
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    NE Fla.
    Posts
    562
    Carrier(s)
    FirstNet, Verizon via RedPocket, Alachua County CCC via APCO25
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by BMWDude49120 View Post
    My Galaxy S9 with a FirstNet SIM received a software update yesterday that finally enabled Wi-Fi Calling on it.
    +1. Got it this morning. Just in time too.

  12. #57
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    40
    Device(s)
    HTC Hero
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Note 9 sitting here waiting for that update...

    Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk

  13. #58
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    14
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by david279 View Post
    Note 9 sitting here waiting for that update...

    Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
    Note 9 here too, still waiting. Called in and the band-aid was to send me an ATT sim so I can have wifi calling.

    Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk

  14. #59
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Posts
    38
    Device(s)
    Samsung SM-N960U, SM-N950U
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T, Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by blterry2 View Post
    Note 9 here too, still waiting. Called in and the band-aid was to send me an ATT sim so I can have wifi calling.

    Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
    I had a FN support person mistakenly tell me the Note 9 was now supported and led me through a series of restarts, SIM swaps (black>orange>black again), only to land on "not yet, but it is coming" with someone else in support.




    Sent from my SM-N960U using HoFo mobile app
    Sent from a Sonim XP-8

  15. #60
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    5,646
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by wannabefree View Post
    I had a FN support person mistakenly tell me the Note 9 was now supported and led me through a series of restarts, SIM swaps (black>orange>black again), only to land on "not yet, but it is coming" with someone else in support. Sent from my SM-N960U using HoFo mobile app
    what model phone do you have ?? maybe you need a certain model - https://www.firstnet.com/marketing/i...g-galaxy-note9

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Galaxy S7 Active WI-FI calling
    By cyorke in forum AT&T
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 08-13-2016, 09:50 PM
  2. Problem Activating Wi-Fi Calling on T-Mobile Network
    By theunknownman in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-12-2013, 11:20 AM
  3. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-30-2007, 08:00 PM
  4. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-09-2007, 06:36 AM
  5. Wi-Fi phones: Just viewing or input as well?
    By LCH in forum Symbian/S60
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-19-2006, 08:56 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks