Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: change phone # on TF

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    45
    Feedback Score
    0

    change phone # on TF

    Hi, I want to change my phone number (TF).
    1.) I don’t know the proceedure.
    2.) will I lose TMFL?
    Can someone please help me?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    5,867
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2, Samsung J3 Sky, LG Q6
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Just contact TF. Use Chat if you don't want to deal with a rep's accent. TF allows changing phone numbers, so it's a routine procedure for them. If your phone is CDMA (on TF/VZW), you don't need a new SIM. If it's GSM (on TF/AT&T or TF/T-Mobile), they will have to send you a new SIM, no charge.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    5,867
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2, Samsung J3 Sky, LG Q6
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    If you're using a TF-branded phone, the TMFL benefit is tied to the phone, you won't lose it when changing phone numbers. If you're using BYOP, the TMFL is tied to the SIM, you will lose TMFL if you have to get a new SIM and the new SIM doesn't have TMFL.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    45
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thank you!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    198
    Feedback Score
    0
    On 4G LTE phones on T Mobile, the number change should be instant without having to change the SIM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    5,867
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2, Samsung J3 Sky, LG Q6
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by LittleBear916 View Post
    On 4G LTE phones on T Mobile, the number change should be instant without having to change the SIM.
    So TF reuses a GSM SIM on T-mobile?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    3,952
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hpham View Post
    So TF reuses a GSM SIM on T-mobile?
    A number change does not require a new SIM on AT&T. I have done it.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    5,867
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2, Samsung J3 Sky, LG Q6
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by bobdevnul View Post
    A number change does not require a new SIM on AT&T. I have done it.
    Thanks for the info. Makes you wonder why they make you use a new SIM when reactivating a phone on AT&T or T-mobile.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    17,944
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hpham View Post
    Thanks for the info. Makes you wonder why they make you use a new SIM when reactivating a phone on AT&T or T-mobile.
    With At&t, once a SIM is deactivated, it is dead. Has always been this way. A phone # change does not require a new SIM on At&t. Reactivation is a whole different issue.
    Don't make me turn this car around.....

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    11
    Feedback Score
    0
    I've not tried it, but supposedly you can do this by texting MINC to 611611.

    https://dsweb.tracfone.com/611611/help/

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Republic of Texas
    Posts
    1,036
    Device(s)
    Moto Z2 Force, Moto X4, Moto G5s Plus, Moto G4 Plus, Moto E5 Plus, Moto E5, Samsung J7 Neo, HTC One
    Carrier(s)
    metro by T-Mobile, TracFone on Verizon, AT&T and T-Mobile, Tello and FreeUp.
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by oax View Post
    I've not tried it, but supposedly you can do this by texting MINC to 611611.

    https://dsweb.tracfone.com/611611/help/
    This works. I've done it many times on my T-Mobile, AT&T and Verizon sims.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    BFE
    Posts
    7,435
    Device(s)
    LG G2, Moto G5+, Moto E4, (Droid Mini, GS3, Droid4, L41C, Droid3, S390G, LG500G, T404G, T301G, V170)
    Carrier(s)
    Total Wireless (Verizon, Red Pocket, Tracfone)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Used to be able to do it on the web site too.

    It was too easy infact, no confirmation and I nearly lost my number when. Checking the steps for someone.

    I doubt that has changed.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    California Gold Country
    Posts
    5,578
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ST Dog View Post
    Used to be able to do it on the web site too.
    Yes, you could change a phone number on the website a few years ago. I always used the CSRs though, as I did not use the website back in those days. The last change was good, as the CSR offered me a choice of available numbers. I picked one that was easy to remember.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    near Lake Michigan
    Posts
    1,234
    Device(s)
    motoGplay AT&T , Verizon
    Carrier(s)
    ATT
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by oax View Post
    I've not tried it, but supposedly you can do this by texting MINC to 611611.

    https://dsweb.tracfone.com/611611/help/
    Easy-peasy...followed the yello brick road. Worked as hoped for. Thanx OAX !!

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    198
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yeah it is easy but back in the old days of flip phones, unless you had a CDMA phone and did the *22890 thingy, you may have run the risk of getting a new SIM card.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. changing phones on your own while with verizon
    By tonedeafnyc in forum Verizon Wireless
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 10-07-2004, 04:25 PM
  2. Changing phone on company plan
    By gotskills in forum Verizon Wireless
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-21-2004, 10:20 AM
  3. changing phones on TDMA
    By Chd176 in forum AT&T
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11-28-2003, 07:28 PM
  4. Change phone on pre-paid?
    By newrogersguy in forum Bell Mobility
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 09-17-2003, 03:53 PM
  5. Changing phones on Rogers
    By Graffen in forum Rogers Wireless
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-26-2003, 07:05 PM

Bookmarks