Page 1 of 13 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 LastLast

Thread: Getting very frustrated with TMobile's rural (or lack of) coverage

Device(s)
    Iphone Xr
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon, AT&T
    Feedback Score

Getting very frustrated with TMobile's rural (or lack of) coverage

I am a photographer and have been doing a lot of driving around into more rural areas of Southern California lately, always checking the coverage maps before I go to see what kind of coverage I will have in these areas.
    I am at the point where it is becoming obvious to me that the maps are no more than absolute fiction or wishful thinking at best. Just today, I traveled through a lot of the areas east of Escondido, into the mountains there, towards and beyond the city of Julian where coverage maps show excellent LTE coverage. Well, after driving through there today with my Galaxy S9 and my wife's Galaxy Note 9 I can honestly say the coverage there absolutely stinks, almost non existent. This was an area of about 100 miles or so, from just west of Julian, through the mountains and out the east side. Coverage only started to become acceptable closer to Anza Borego, way east of Julian. We have been through this area with AT&T phones in the past, with no problems at all.
    I know that traditionally, Tmobile was never really great at rural coverage but I thought that this has been changing for the better in the past few years. Their maps certainly state as much and their comparison slider map sure looks like it has gotten so much better. Well, after my recent experiences, I would just say that no, this is not so. It actually seems to be very bad.

Feedback Score
    Don't continue to suffer switch to another carrier backbone.
    If my actions include deeds of philanthropy in charity and acts of loving kindness I am living in my Faith.

Red Pocket (AT&T) UTnT 5GB exp 09.27.20
    Red Pocket (AT&T) UTnT 1GB exp 02.12.20
    T-Mobile Gold Rewards $10yr exp 01.11.21