Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: [SOLVED]Hangouts Dialer - no contacts

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    72
    Feedback Score
    0

    [SOLVED]Hangouts Dialer - no contacts

    Can't figure out why my contacts are not showing in Hangouts Dialer. My Google Voice # works, as does Dialer, and online all my contacts are present on Hangouts web site, but on my new phone no contacts are available in Hangouts (they are on my regular phone app). Any help appreciated!

    Edit: I can use my contacts in the Google Voice app. Should I use that instead of Hangouts Dialer? Should I remove Hangouts Dialer?
    Thanks.

    Edit2: SOLVED: needed app permissions enabled on phone.
    Last edited by ben51; 04-01-2019 at 05:42 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Southwest Michigan, USA
    Posts
    3,336
    Device(s)
    Moto E (T-Mo); LG Fiesta 2 (PPC)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile Prepaid & Page Plus
    Feedback Score
    0
    Just shotgunning it here:

    Make sure, since this is a new phone, that your Google Account is listed and being synced to in the Settings>Accounts area of the phone.

    It's a subjective matter which way you want to go with how to make Wi-Fi or data calls. The trend is toward the GV app since it recently gained that ability. Read around here on the forums to see what the consensus is.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    11,671
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    It seems like when I add Hangouts to a new device, sometimes I have to go into the app permissions and enable Contacts.

    Just fyi, my Hangouts app permissions include Camera, Contacts, Microphone, and Storage.

    Give that a try and let us know if that fixes the issue.
    Vzw-$9.99/mo+$0.25/min-1999-2001
    PagePlus-2001-2015
    LycaMobile-v1-2013-2016
    Selectel Flex-2013-2015
    Puppy-2014
    Tracfone-2015-2016
    TruPhone-2015-
    Red Pocket-2016-2017
    Piranha-2016-
    FreedomPop-GSM-2016-
    T-Mo-Data-2017-
    3-2018-

    Ericsson AF738 Jul99-Dec03
    Qualcomm QCP 2760 Dec03-Feb08
    LG VX-8600 Feb08-Apr10
    Samsung Omnia SCH-i910 Apr10-Nov11
    HTC Droid Inc ADR6300 (CM7.2) Nov11-Jun13
    HTC Droid Inc 2 ADR6350 (CM7.2) Jun13-May15
    LG G2 VS980 (Rooted) May15-Apr17
    LG Phoenix 2 Mar17-

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    72
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by whacker View Post
    Just shotgunning it here:

    Make sure, since this is a new phone, that your Google Account is listed and being synced to in the Settings>Accounts area of the phone.

    It's a subjective matter which way you want to go with how to make Wi-Fi or data calls. The trend is toward the GV app since it recently gained that ability. Read around here on the forums to see what the consensus is.
    Thanks! So far the calls sound better with GV. I heard Hangouts will eventually be phased out?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    72
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Boz1 View Post
    It seems like when I add Hangouts to a new device, sometimes I have to go into the app permissions and enable Contacts.

    Just fyi, my Hangouts app permissions include Camera, Contacts, Microphone, and Storage.

    Give that a try and let us know if that fixes the issue.
    Thanks. I think that was it. Hangouts was not enabled under contacts in phone settings.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    11,671
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ben51 View Post
    Thanks. I think that was it. Hangouts was not enabled under contacts in phone settings.
    Good! I'm glad I could help!

    About Hangouts vs GV, if you're using it over data only, I'll suggest sticking with Hangouts for now.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    72
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Boz1 View Post
    Good! I'm glad I could help!

    About Hangouts vs GV, if you're using it over data only, I'll suggest sticking with Hangouts for now.
    Thanks! I mostly use it over wifi. I know data can get expensive.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    11,671
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ben51 View Post
    Thanks! I mostly use it over wifi. I know data can get expensive.
    Just fyi, WiFi is data. No matter the source, data is data.

Similar Threads

  1. Master Resetted phone - No contacts?
    By L3thal in forum General Nextel Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-07-2006, 10:46 PM
  2. No Contact list in my 930.....?
    By dooin-it in forum General Nextel Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-11-2006, 11:31 AM
  3. Rogers Told me No Contact Display-True?
    By Himself in forum Rogers Wireless
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-30-2004, 07:30 PM
  4. Agile Messenger + AIM = Sign on, no contacts?
    By k4o in forum Symbian/S60
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-18-2004, 01:03 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks