Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Can anyone explain me being on band 26

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    85
    Feedback Score
    0

    Can anyone explain me being on band 26

    So I was driving and checking out one tower where proposed band 71 was launched for T-Mobile. I was able to see band 2,4,5,66 and weirdly enough band 26 on that tower. Can anyone explain why would I see band 26??? Isn’t that sprint LTE band?? Also I didn’t lock into band 71 at that time when others claim they did.
    I know that T-Mobile and sprint is the only two carriers on that tower.




    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    85
    Feedback Score
    0
    And can anyone tell me how to post screen shots of pics here? I was able to do so while back but I can’t find the attach a picture button anywhere. That way I would post a screen shot of the field test.


    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    3,516
    Device(s)
    iPhone Xs 256 GB Gold (Dual SIM)
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T Mobility, T-Mobile US
    Feedback Score
    0
    Probably MFBI of Band 5 for Sprint roamers. Are you in or around Myrtle Beach?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

    B4+B30+B66+B14 (20 MHz + 10 MHz + 10 MHz + 10 MHz)
    Duluth, MN (Test is AT&T, eSIM causes glitch for Carrier)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    85
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by jakeuten View Post
    Probably MFBI of Band 5 for Sprint roamers. Are you in or around Myrtle Beach?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Live in little river SC so basically yeah myrtle beach


    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    1,151
    Feedback Score
    0
    Agreed, probably MFBI for B5.
    B26 is a superset of B5. I believe Ericsson RAN will broadcast MFBI by default.
    Want to learn more about how LTE works?
    https://productioncommunity.publicmo...ls/td-p/130581

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    1,487
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S9
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    That sounds about right. Most equipment nowadays is manufactured for the superset bands (B25, B26, B66, etc.) so any carrier can purchase and use it instead of making two different sets of equipment. That's why you'll see those bands pop up even if a carrier doesn't have a license for that spectrum.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    85
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by JimMcGraff View Post
    That sounds about right. Most equipment nowadays is manufactured for the superset bands (B25, B26, B66, etc.) so any carrier can purchase and use it instead of making two different sets of equipment. That's why you'll see those bands pop up even if a carrier doesn't have a license for that spectrum.
    Got ya thanks guys.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Almont, Michigan
    Posts
    3,874
    Device(s)
    Galaxy S10
    Carrier(s)
    LTE-A
    Feedback Score
    0
    Seems this MFBI is being seen mostly on Apple. Just like B25 has been spotted on Verizon in southeast MI but I'm not seeing it on Android.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Gulf Coast
    Posts
    15,258
    Device(s)
    Moto G7 Power, Nexus 5X
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, PagePlus
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by JimMcGraff View Post
    That sounds about right. Most equipment nowadays is manufactured for the superset bands (B25, B26, B66, etc.) so any carrier can purchase and use it instead of making two different sets of equipment. That's why you'll see those bands pop up even if a carrier doesn't have a license for that spectrum.
    Sorry if this sounds like a quibble. I don't think that it's necessary for a base unit to support the superset frequencies (e.g. 859-869 MHz) to broadcast a MFBI. It just has to be compliant within the frequencies it can operate on. For instance, in Myrtle Beach, T-Mobile has an A-block cellular license (869-891.5 MHz). That's the only part of band 5 or 26 that it has to be standardized and approved to operate on but it can still broadcast both band 5 & 26 band indicators because the signal is entirely within either band.

    Yes, it's in everyone's interests to deploy flexible base stations that can adapt to changing circumstances and T-Mobile has done this. It's just not necessary to broadcast a MFBI. The reason carrier's broadcast a MFBI is to be compatible with customers' handsets, which are not as flexible. For example, I don't know if AT&T's early band 17 base stations were approved for all of band 12 or not. This would not keep them from broadcasting a band 12 MFBI for their signal on blocks B & C.
    Donald Newcomb

Similar Threads

  1. can anyone explain me?
    By emblema in forum Nokia
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-06-2004, 06:13 PM
  2. can anyone explain me plse ?
    By emblema in forum Samsung
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-08-2003, 05:37 PM
  3. can anyone supply me information on stocks?
    By Chaoss in forum Nextel Lounge
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-30-2003, 02:14 AM
  4. Can anyone explain me?
    By emblema in forum Nokia
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-27-2003, 06:07 PM
  5. Can anyone give me info on Smart Access plans?
    By indierocknrd in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-29-2002, 05:26 PM

Bookmarks