Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Simply want to switch phones

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    30
    Feedback Score
    0

    Simply want to switch phones

    Hi,

    I want to simply change my phone on my existing PPC service. I would like to do it myself online, but a bit confused b/c the PPC website calls it activating a new service. I have the monthly $29.95 plan on auto-renew. Any guidance/tips would be appreciated.

    - The SIM in my current phone will not work in my new phone b/c it's a micro SIM and the new phone takes a nano.

    - I have a new, unused nano SIM I purchased recently directly from PPC.

    - I want to keep my existing phone number.

    - I want my existing monthly service plan to port over as well, if that makes sense.

    If I click the "Activate a phone and keep (port) my current number", will it all work as intended? I guess I wasn't expecting to the see the language about porting (since I'm a current PPC customer), nor the language on the page about activating a new service.

    Thanks in advance for any insight.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    1,596
    Device(s)
    iPhone SE
    Carrier(s)
    Page Plus
    Feedback Score
    0
    Open a chat with PPC. Tell them you want to swap phones but will also need to transfer your account to a different SIM.

    Give them:

    Phone #
    Old IMEI
    Old SIM #
    New IMEI
    New SIM #

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    30
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by dmart View Post
    Open a chat with PPC. Tell them you want to swap phones but will also need to transfer your account to a different SIM.

    Give them:

    Phone #
    Old IMEI
    Old SIM #
    New IMEI
    New SIM #
    That's a good idea. I thought they had disabled chat but it's just because when it's off-hours it circles you around back to the phone number.
    Last edited by Kirkcellular; 05-02-2019 at 07:55 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    314
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Kirkcellular View Post
    That's a good idea. I thought they had disabled chat but it's just because when it's off-hours it circles you around back to the phone number.
    The only way I found to get a chat is by going into the Activation page; then it pops up in the corner.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    30
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by rpz1 View Post
    The only way I found to get a chat is by going into the Activation page; then it pops up in the corner.
    FYI, I discovered that if you engage the Q&A bot and type AGENT, in regular business hours a chat window will (eventually) appear.

    BTW, it all seemed to work flawlessly. Chat agent was quick and efficient.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    175
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Use Chrome, not firefox.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    3,751
    Device(s)
    HTC MyTouch 3G
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint PCS
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Kirkcellular View Post
    - The SIM in my current phone will not work in my new phone b/c it's a micro SIM and the new phone takes a nano.
    But its trivial to make a micro SIM into a nano SIM... takes 15 secs and you avoid all the stuff you're talking about...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    4,927
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by monkeyboy View Post
    But its trivial to make a micro SIM into a nano SIM... takes 15 secs and you avoid all the stuff you're talking about...
    You'd think right? I've worked on fiber optics & micro lasers on manufacturing mobos worth 15k-250k. I've never had success cutting the 3 or 4 times I've tried. And they were all cut perfectly. Now I just get 3in1 SIMs & save the cutouts for adapters.
    As a USA citizen I have the right to criticize my government. My thanks for this is endless in magnitude.

    Fascism is here led by a racist, godless, immoral, hypersensitive, crass, narcissist liar, psychopath committing High Treason against the USA.

    Red Pocket (AT&T) $192yr UTnT 5GB exp 08.08.19
    Red Pocket (AT&T) $184.50yr UTnT 1GB exp 02.19.20
    T-Mo Gold Rewards $10yr exp 01.16.20
    Tello x2 (Sprint) $5 1-use/3mo no exp by 06.03.19

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    3,751
    Device(s)
    HTC MyTouch 3G
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint PCS
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by zapjb View Post
    You'd think right? I've worked on fiber optics & micro lasers on manufacturing mobos worth 15k-250k. I've never had success cutting the 3 or 4 times I've tried. And they were all cut perfectly. Now I just get 3in1 SIMs & save the cutouts for adapters.
    I've done it at least 6-8 times with success -- never had a failure. So I don't know what to say about your bad luck with it... I've used both the purpose-made cutters (which admittedly are a bit unnerving with their crunch, but always worked), as well as just a pair of sharp scissors. Multiple times with each method, no problems.

    If the OP is just going to trash the old SIM, there's nothing to lose in trying...

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    3,008
    Device(s)
    iPhone X, iPhone 7+
    Carrier(s)
    ATT Prepaid, RP
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by zapjb View Post
    You'd think right? I've worked on fiber optics & micro lasers on manufacturing mobos worth 15k-250k. I've never had success cutting the 3 or 4 times I've tried. And they were all cut perfectly. Now I just get 3in1 SIMs & save the cutouts for adapters.
    I tried to use one of those cutouts as an adapter once on a phone where the SIM is inserted from the side (without a tray). It bound up in the slot, and by the time I got the SIM out, the phone no longer worked with a SIM. Luckily, a cheap phone.
    iPhone X is my current primary phone. I have older model iPhones and Moto phones available on other lines. Currently prepaid, though would consider postpaid on right plan.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2,247
    Device(s)
    Essential PH-1 / Apple iPhone X
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by kevink1 View Post
    I tried to use one of those cutouts as an adapter once on a phone where the SIM is inserted from the side (without a tray). It bound up in the slot, and by the time I got the SIM out, the phone no longer worked with a SIM. Luckily, a cheap phone.

    Always make sure to cover the back side of the adapter with a thin piece of tape to ensure the inner SIM doesn't pop out of the adapter inside the phone.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11-02-2013, 12:01 PM
  2. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-08-2010, 01:19 PM
  3. Half way through a contract and want to switch phones
    By musicman929 in forum TELUS Mobility
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 07-10-2006, 11:11 PM
  4. Verizon Q: My gf and I want to switch phones...
    By chrisemc in forum Verizon Wireless
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-26-2005, 06:20 AM
  5. TDMA to GSM - Want to switch phones
    By jguru in forum Rogers Wireless
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-04-2004, 11:50 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks