Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4
Results 46 to 56 of 56

Thread: Band 71 in Downtown LA?

  1. #46
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles/Canada
    Posts
    11,349
    Device(s)
    LG G7 (T-Mobile), iPhone 8 (AT&T)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    For band 71, one would have to check the deployment schedule. I suspect that my area will be one of the last, as capacity is good, as is density. Personally, I don't think all sites have their backhaul up to full speed. Many sites max at 150Mbps day or night, while others in busy areas max at over 250Mbps... All have band 2/4/12. Some that have band 2/4 only (college of the Canyons) hit +210Mbps ... Similar times,other areas hit only 150.

    Sent from my LM-G710 using HoFo mobile app
    AT&T... your world, throttled.

  2. #47
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles/Canada
    Posts
    11,349
    Device(s)
    LG G7 (T-Mobile), iPhone 8 (AT&T)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Band 71 in the San Fernando Valley today. I-5 @ 170 and another in Panorama City

    Sent from my LM-G710 using HoFo mobile app

  3. #48
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles/Canada
    Posts
    11,349
    Device(s)
    LG G7 (T-Mobile), iPhone 8 (AT&T)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Picked up B71 in Van Nuys at Roscoe/405. Captured tail of it 10MHz.Name:  1559587447920.jpg
Views: 218
Size:  19.2 KBName:  1559587459777.jpg
Views: 215
Size:  18.1 KB

    Sent from my LM-G710 using HoFo mobile app

  4. #49
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    386
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by formercanuck View Post
    Picked up B71 in Van Nuys at Roscoe/405. Captured tail of it 10MHz.Name:  1559587447920.jpg
Views: 218
Size:  19.2 KBName:  1559587459777.jpg
Views: 215
Size:  18.1 KB

    Sent from my LM-G710 using HoFo mobile app
    Just wondering how’s everyone’s experience is with Band 71 in Los Angeles now, I’m really congested with band 12 on my iPhone X

  5. #50
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles/Canada
    Posts
    11,349
    Device(s)
    LG G7 (T-Mobile), iPhone 8 (AT&T)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    It's not really all that noticeable in the San Fernando Valley unless you're hitting a site that's running it or you've forced B71. I haven't gone into LA itself all that often

    Sent from my LM-G710 using HoFo mobile app

  6. #51
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    386
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by formercanuck View Post
    It's not really all that noticeable in the San Fernando Valley unless you're hitting a site that's running it or you've forced B71. I haven't gone into LA itself all that often

    Sent from my LM-G710 using HoFo mobile app
    Which phone are you using for band 71 ?

  7. #52
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles/Canada
    Posts
    11,349
    Device(s)
    LG G7 (T-Mobile), iPhone 8 (AT&T)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    LG G7. I have hit better than 60Mbps on B71 alone in Santa Clarita. Part of the issue is Carrier Agg in general. Until a newer spec comes out, you won't be running B2/4/12/71 but rather B2/4/12 or B2/4/71. Afaik, B71 doesn't agg with other low band

    Sent from my LM-G710 using HoFo mobile app

  8. #53
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    386
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by formercanuck View Post
    LG G7. I have hit better than 60Mbps on B71 alone in Santa Clarita. Part of the issue is Carrier Agg in general. Until a newer spec comes out, you won't be running B2/4/12/71 but rather B2/4/12 or B2/4/71. Afaik, B71 doesn't agg with other low band


    Sent from my LM-G710 using HoFo mobile app
    Not sure I understand, your Meaning that the new iPhone will play better with band 71? Or maybe g8?

  9. #54
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles/Canada
    Posts
    11,349
    Device(s)
    LG G7 (T-Mobile), iPhone 8 (AT&T)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ericizzy1 View Post
    Not sure I understand, your Meaning that the new iPhone will play better with band 71? Or maybe g8?
    I don't think that it will make much difference 'yet', as maybe 10% of L.A.'s sites are B71.
    Also, phones will not use all 4 bands at once (i.e. B2/4/12/71) as the current spec for LTE afaik doesn't support both B12 and B71 'at the same time'.
    For the majority of the time 'until' B71 is deployed as much as B12... you won't see much of an improvement, unless you're typically in a location that is on B71, and T-Mobile has you connected to it with Carrier Aggregation in B2/4/71 vs. B2/4/12.
    When B71 uses more than 10MHz (B12 is using 5MHz), or they deploy '5G' ... then it'll be a different story. For now, it helps... a bit.

  10. #55
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5,260
    Device(s)
    N/A
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon Wireless;
    Feedback Score
    0
    Whether it's technically possible to run B12+B71 CA or not, I doubt they'd do it (other than maybe markets that ONLY have 12 and 71.)

    What VZW does on my KeyOne (that supports 2xCA) is use B4+B13 (B13 is VZW's 10mhz-wide band in 700mhz); near the site, the traffic all goes over B4, shifting onto B13 as the B4 signal drops off. So, B4 avoids the inefficient "fringe user" traffic, keeping B4 speeds higher; while B13 gets nothing but inefficient fringe user traffic, but avoids being made even slower by having traffic from users nearer to the cell site.

    In other words, I would not expect your device to use B12 *or* B71 (it might be CA'ed with it, but not necessarily USING it) until it nears the edge of B4/B2 coverage. CA between similar-range bands mainly would help your phone access unused capacity on various bands; I'm guessing both B12 and B71 would almost permanently stay busy, so I doubt CA'ing them would help much over just accessing one.

  11. #56
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles/Canada
    Posts
    11,349
    Device(s)
    LG G7 (T-Mobile), iPhone 8 (AT&T)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Typically... in most areas, T-Mobile does have (and support) B4+B2+B12 and B4+B2+B71. T-Mobile typically has B4 in most of the country, as well as B2. Even through northern MI, where much of the service is B12 'or' B71 there was no CA for B12+B71 (would be nice!).

    Even though T-Mobile does support B4+B2+B12 / B4+B2+B71, I do notice that a LOT of the time, even when running speedtest, I'll have B4+B2 only. and still rocking +200Mbps. Many 'really' urban locations (Las Vegas strip or pole mounted metrocell) are B4+B2 and no B12/B71 at all.
    If/when I truly want all 3 in CA.. I end up forcing my phone to B71, then 'reset' on the band selection and it immediately jumps to B12. With B12 as the primary, I typically will have B4+B2 as CA.

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-13-2018, 08:24 AM
  2. Band 71 live in west central AL
    By tmobilenatl in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 96
    Last Post: 01-14-2018, 01:28 PM
  3. Replies: 29
    Last Post: 05-22-2016, 10:41 AM
  4. GPS doesn't work at my office in Downtown LA
    By Japultra in forum BlackBerry
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-05-2008, 05:11 PM
  5. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-03-2005, 02:59 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks