Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Only Google can ring my phone !!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    5
    Carrier(s)
    Ntelos
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars

    Only Google can ring my phone !!

    Hello folks, I got a mistery that is driving me crazy.

    Anyone that calls me, the call goes into Voice Mail, the Phone NEVER RINGS
    All the settings look ok, and what driving me crazy that GOOGLE FIND MY PHONE
    is the only one that makes the phone ring.

    Also on the phone info, the phone number is "Unknown"

    The Alcatel Raven LTE A574BL

    Any ideas, because my brain is gone.....

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    BFE
    Posts
    7,936
    Device(s)
    LG G2, Moto G5+, Moto E4, (Droid Mini, GS3, Droid4, L41C, Droid3, S390G, LG500G, T404G, T301G, V170)
    Carrier(s)
    Total Wireless (Verizon, Red Pocket, Tracfone)
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Find my device works over data/wifi.

    Sounds like it hasn't fully activated so incoming calks aren't being routed to the device.

    What works? Out going calls? Text in or out? Data?

    When did you activate?
    If more the 24 hrs contact TF.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    BP subsidized Gulf Coast
    Posts
    6,574
    Carrier(s)
    Tracfone
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    The BL on the end of the model number most likely means Tracfone assigned T-Mobile service to the phone. The other possibility is AT&T.
    Do you have T-Mobile service where you are using the phone? I do not and that is what Tracfone ships me.
    Look at the red activation instruction card and give us the first 6 digits of the SIM S/N at the bottom.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    5
    Carrier(s)
    Ntelos
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    I may have found the problem already, but had not tested.
    I will have someone call me later on.

    Have to be something simple, everything on the phone works ok.
    Even if you call a number that will echo back the calling number, will mention the number correctly.

    Here is what I found while on bed thinking........

    On other Android Versions, the speaker at the very top did 3 things.
    Speaker On, Speaker Phone ( loud ) and vibrate.

    I noticed that in this Android is Speaker On, Vibrate and "SILENCE"

    Will test later, thanks for responding.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    BFE
    Posts
    7,936
    Device(s)
    LG G2, Moto G5+, Moto E4, (Droid Mini, GS3, Droid4, L41C, Droid3, S390G, LG500G, T404G, T301G, V170)
    Carrier(s)
    Total Wireless (Verizon, Red Pocket, Tracfone)
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    That wouldn't explain the phone number not being set in settings.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    229
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    The number will populate itself after ample time, not reflective of your phone not being able to ring. It sounds like the provisioning is not complete on someones end.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    6,501
    Device(s)
    LG Q6, Moto E5, Lumia 640XL
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon, FreeUp
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by LittleBear916 View Post
    The number will populate itself after ample time, not reflective of your phone not being able to ring.
    In my experience, the phone has to be programmed over-the-air (OTA) by the carrier when it's activated before it can make/receive calls/texts. The phone number is written to the SIM card at that time, and is shown in the Settings.

    If the phone was activated in TF system but there was no signal at the location for the phone to get programmed, the phone number is not shown in the Settings, and it cannot make/receive calls/texts.

    The OP said only Google FIND MY PHONE could ring the phone. FIND MY PHONE/DEVICE is a Google app that locates a phone using GPS and the phone has to be online via WiFi or data. That seems to indicate that the ringing was activated through WiFi not cell service.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    5
    Carrier(s)
    Ntelos
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars

    Final Solution

    Well, I tried again the company Chat window, but the English side was no good giving
    you a 401 Error, had to use the Chat on the Spanish section.
    the coded ##21# solve the problem, so like I said before, must had been something
    simple, the phone was working ok, but was sending everything to Voice Mail.
    Now if you ask me how I did that, I got no idea because I had never do something
    like that.

    On the other error about showing the phone number on setting--about.

    That will always be like that, never changes, but the phone works ok.

    Now a final question, that you folks may add to close this thread.
    I got other two GMS phones, can you swap the sim card between phones?

    When I ordered this service they did ask me if I wanted just the sim card or the
    full packaged Card and phone.

    And 1000 of thanks to all the responded, well done!!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    6,501
    Device(s)
    LG Q6, Moto E5, Lumia 640XL
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon, FreeUp
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Yes, you can swap SIMs between GSM phones.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    5
    Carrier(s)
    Ntelos
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars

    Thanks to all..... Another Job well done by the members....

    Thanks to all, those of you on USA, happy Memorial Day.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-24-2015, 02:27 PM
  2. Can I block unavailable numbers from ringing my phone?
    By techman41973 in forum Verizon Wireless
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-16-2008, 09:15 PM
  3. anyone have a19 or a22 so i can unlock my phone please
    By vasques101uk in forum Panasonic
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 06-19-2003, 11:51 AM
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-20-2003, 03:31 PM
  5. Anyone know where I can get my phone case modified?
    By msgoodygal in forum Hardware Modding Only
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-04-2003, 05:26 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks