Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Which Devices Allow Band Selection w/o Rooting?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Mission Viejo, CA
    Posts
    189
    Device(s)
    OnePlus 6T
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars

    Which Devices Allow Band Selection w/o Rooting?

    From my research, it appears only Samsung allows this and I confirmed it on my Dad's Samsung. I've found no way to do this on my One Plus 6T. I found this article on B12 a few years ago and I want to do the same for B71. Maybe I'm stuck with getting a Samsung? And that won't be cheap with the need for B71.

    https://www.reddit.com/r/tmobile/com...12_on_a_phone/

    Maybe I will have to take my chances rooting the OP6T.

    Any suggestions?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles/Canada
    Posts
    11,133
    Device(s)
    LG G7 (T-Mobile), iPhone 8 (AT&T)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by Falcon_73 View Post
    From my research, it appears only Samsung allows this and I confirmed it on my Dad's Samsung. I've found no way to do this on my One Plus 6T. I found this article on B12 a few years ago and I want to do the same for B71. Maybe I'm stuck with getting a Samsung? And that won't be cheap with the need for B71.

    https://www.reddit.com/r/tmobile/com...12_on_a_phone/

    Maybe I will have to take my chances rooting the OP6T.

    Any suggestions?
    LG G6 and LG G7 (probably 8 as well) allows band selection up to band 41. No rooting required.
    AT&T... your world, throttled.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Mission Viejo, CA
    Posts
    189
    Device(s)
    OnePlus 6T
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Thank you. Any others? If not, a short list then.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles/Canada
    Posts
    11,133
    Device(s)
    LG G7 (T-Mobile), iPhone 8 (AT&T)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by Falcon_73 View Post
    Thank you. Any others? If not, a short list then.
    Almost all LG G series should use a similar code (model specific) *#546368#*(model #)# e.g. *#546368#*710# for TMobile G7.


    Sent from my LM-G710 using HoFo mobile app

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    15
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    lg v30. dial 277634#*

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Mission Viejo, CA
    Posts
    189
    Device(s)
    OnePlus 6T
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Thanks again, but I opted to root my OP6T (first time I've done a root - lots of steps!) and it's letting me select bands now.

    I will keep these other phones in mind for the future and/or to replace my 2nd phone (a Nokia 6.1). I wonder if it will allow band selection like my old Windows Nokias did?

Similar Threads

  1. Devices with manual frequency band selection
    By OntarioGuy in forum Rogers/Fido/Chat-r
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-08-2016, 11:28 PM
  2. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-24-2004, 07:40 PM
  3. Which tri/dual band phone is good?
    By BriBri99 in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-03-2002, 01:00 AM
  4. Which GSM Tri-band to purchase?
    By Frank in forum General Mobile Questions and Discussion
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 07-27-2001, 06:49 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks