Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: FreedomPop Global SIM: anyone with a working SIM used it in Europe recently?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    365
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop, Truphone, Toggle, Netzclub DE, Three UK
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars

    FreedomPop Global SIM: anyone with a working SIM used it in Europe recently?

    I know most have but shut down, but a few of you are fortunate enough to have Global SIMs that still work. For you few lucky ones, have anyone of you used the SIM in Europe in the past couple months? Any problems with service?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    805
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    When/why have most global FP SIMs been disconnected?

    And why most but not all?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    365
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop, Truphone, Toggle, Netzclub DE, Three UK
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by josephf View Post
    When/why have most global FP SIMs been disconnected?

    And why most but not all?
    See thread: Freedompop Global SIM will quit working on 1/3/2018

    As to why some accounts were disconnected and not others is a matter of speculation in that thread.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    12,257
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by djphilosophy View Post
    I know most have but shut down, but a few of you are fortunate enough to have Global SIMs that still work. For you few lucky ones, have anyone of you used the SIM in Europe in the past couple months? Any problems with service?
    I haven't used any of mine in Europe since June, 2018. But a lot has changed since then.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    365
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop, Truphone, Toggle, Netzclub DE, Three UK
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by Boz1 View Post
    I haven't used any of mine in Europe since June, 2018. But a lot has changed since then.
    I would check the status of those accounts. A batch of people on the FP forums have reported account suspensions due to of an "unforeseen technical issue" in the past week, and several of them were Global SIM users.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    12,257
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by djphilosophy View Post
    I would check the status of those accounts. A batch of people on the FP forums have reported account suspensions due to of an "unforeseen technical issue" in the past week, and several of them were Global SIM users.
    Well, well...

    It looks like FP FINALLY got around to several of my Global SIMs. 3 of my 4 FP Global SIMs do now show "Alert: Your FreedomPop service is inactive due to an unforeseen technical issue. Please Click here to contact customer service. null"

    So, at the moment, it looks like only 1 of my 4 FP Global SIMs is still working. I'm guessing it will be short lived.

    It was a fun ride with the FP Global SIMs, and I did get good use out of them in 2016 and 2018!

    Oh, well. At least I still have my Truphone, Three UK, and Piranha SIMs.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,692
    Device(s)
    LG Ultimate 2 L41C, HTC Evo 4G, Photon Mifi
    Carrier(s)
    Pageplus Cellular
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    i think someone on Freedompop is monitoring this forum.

    i have an lte sim that converted a global sim last november. it stopped working on June 6th. trying to get anyone to reactivate it is taking forever.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    365
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop, Truphone, Toggle, Netzclub DE, Three UK
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by ShredFred View Post
    i think someone on Freedompop is monitoring this forum.

    i have an lte sim that converted a global sim last november. it stopped working on June 6th. trying to get anyone to reactivate it is taking forever.
    I've never seen an FP rep post here. I've always had best/fastest results contacting them through Twitter at twitter.com/FreedomPop.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,692
    Device(s)
    LG Ultimate 2 L41C, HTC Evo 4G, Photon Mifi
    Carrier(s)
    Pageplus Cellular
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    i think they are silently monitoring us

    i heard they shut down their support via social media platforms. have left several inquiries on their community forum. seems like they have a lengthy backlog. submitting a ticket is now a paid option.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    4,820
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by ShredFred View Post
    i think they are silently monitoring us

    i heard they shut down their support via social media platforms. have left several inquiries on their community forum. seems like they have a lengthy backlog. submitting a ticket is now a paid option.
    You probably already did this but just in case not, you have to start a new public thread on their community forum. (Only then can private followup occur).

    Adding to an existing thread is considered a comment only.

    FP is now part of RedPocket so you may also be able to use Red Pocket channels (I do not know).

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,692
    Device(s)
    LG Ultimate 2 L41C, HTC Evo 4G, Photon Mifi
    Carrier(s)
    Pageplus Cellular
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    lol...i just got a response...

    they seem to have an exception to my LTE sim being on an account formerly tied to a Global Sim. never mind that everything was working fine for over 8 months.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    12,257
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by ShredFred View Post
    lol...i just got a response...

    they seem to have an exception to my LTE sim being on an account formerly tied to a Global Sim. never mind that everything was working fine for over 8 months.
    Also, never mind that this was what FP WANTED people to do with their Global SIM accounts! Good old FreedomPop!

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,692
    Device(s)
    LG Ultimate 2 L41C, HTC Evo 4G, Photon Mifi
    Carrier(s)
    Pageplus Cellular
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    I understand they need to change but what I don't like is how easily they change your plan, charge you for it and disable your account with mostly no notice.

    Sent from my LEX727 Leeco Le Pro3 using HoFo mobile app

Similar Threads

  1. Using FreedomPop SIM(s) with a dual SIM cell phone.
    By rfranzq in forum General Prepaid discussion
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 09-26-2017, 05:16 PM
  2. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-01-2012, 01:51 PM
  3. Anyone with an e71 sim, switched to BYOD and sold their e71?
    By CallMeCoach in forum Straight Talk
    Replies: 45
    Last Post: 05-07-2012, 07:37 AM
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-16-2012, 06:30 PM
  5. has anyone recently received an E-71 with a working SIM?
    By thefinalsay in forum Straight Talk
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 09-09-2011, 05:07 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks