Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Tracfones with 5ghz wifi?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    39
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars

    Tracfones with 5ghz wifi?

    We recently got a new router which has dual bands, and since the 2.4 bands are highly crowded in our neighborhood, would like to try a Tracfone with 5ghz capability...if there is such a thing. Forgive me if this question has already been answered somewhere...thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    346
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by macawlady1959 View Post
    We recently got a new router which has dual bands, and since the 2.4 bands are highly crowded in our neighborhood, would like to try a Tracfone with 5ghz capability...if there is such a thing. Forgive me if this question has already been answered somewhere...thanks.
    I have two wifi connections (2 and 5 ghz) where I am also.
    Two phones can recognize the 5 ghz connection and one (which runs Oreo) does not.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    1,367
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    The TF branded Samsung Galaxy J7 Sky Pro (SM-S727VL) has Dual Band Wifi connectivity. Most of the newer Moto phones offered by TF are dual band.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    West Central Iowa
    Posts
    697
    Device(s)
    Galaxy J7 Sky Pro SM-S727VL, Galaxy J3 Sky SM-S230VL, ZTE Z723EL, ZTE Z233VL
    Carrier(s)
    Straight Talk, Total Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    I know lots of the iPhone, newer Samsung, and newer Motorola phones have 5Ghz for sure. LG and some of the other brands are hit or miss depending on the programming that the company installs. I have heard LG has been talking about getting the 5Ghz working on more of their phones, but I don't know if they have or not.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    6,629
    Device(s)
    LG Q6, Moto E5, Lumia 640XL
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon, FreeUp
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by advcomp2019 View Post
    I have heard LG has been talking about getting the 5Ghz working on more of their phones, but I don't know if they have or not.
    My LG Q6 has 5GHz WiFi and I use it with my home router.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    6,629
    Device(s)
    LG Q6, Moto E5, Lumia 640XL
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon, FreeUp
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by cv91913 View Post
    The TF branded Samsung Galaxy J7 Sky Pro (SM-S727VL) has Dual Band Wifi connectivity.
    Tracfone is selling the Samsung J7 Sky Pro with 1-yr 1200/1200/1200 for $59.99 .

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    West Central Iowa
    Posts
    697
    Device(s)
    Galaxy J7 Sky Pro SM-S727VL, Galaxy J3 Sky SM-S230VL, ZTE Z723EL, ZTE Z233VL
    Carrier(s)
    Straight Talk, Total Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by hpham View Post
    My LG Q6 has 5GHz WiFi and I use it with my home router.
    I know some of the higher end ones have 5Ghz by default, but I am talking about cheaper ones like Stylo 4 and Rebel 4. The last I knew they only use 2.4Ghz.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    4,235
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by macawlady1959 View Post
    We recently got a new router which has dual bands, and since the 2.4 bands are highly crowded in our neighborhood, would like to try a Tracfone with 5ghz capability...if there is such a thing. Forgive me if this question has already been answered somewhere...thanks.
    You can check phone specs at www.gsmarena.com or phonearena.com.

    2.4 GHz Wifi can be a real problem in high density housing areas, like apartments. A friend called on me to figure out why their Wifi was so slow in an apartment. They were paying for 50 Mbps cable Internet. I found that they were getting less than 1 Mbps with the 2.4 GHz router they had. Using the Wifi Analyzer app I could see that there were 20 or so Wifi SSIDs on 2.4 GHz and only a few on 5 GHz.

    In the mean time, you could try setting your router Wifi to channel 1 or 11. Most of the others are probably on the default channel 6.

    Good luck

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    39
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Thanks everyone. I checked our area with an app and there are 24 networks nearby. We live in a mobile home park, so yes, it is high density housing. Our router is new and our internet is fine otherwise. We've been getting occasional disconnects and low wifi signal, rebooting the router sometimes helps for a while, but when everyone's home it's murder. Will take everyone's suggestions. Thanks much

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Southwest Michigan, USA
    Posts
    3,423
    Device(s)
    Moto E (T-Mo); LG Fiesta 2 (PPC)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile Prepaid & Page Plus
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    LG Fiesta 2 is 2.4 GHz band only. Small town single unit house here, so not such stringent requirements.

    Selecting an alternate Wi-Fi channel is a very good potential solution.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    BFE
    Posts
    7,999
    Device(s)
    LG G2, Moto G5+, Moto E4, (Droid Mini, GS3, Droid4, L41C, Droid3, S390G, LG500G, T404G, T301G, V170)
    Carrier(s)
    Total Wireless (Verizon, Red Pocket, Tracfone)
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Surprised they still make US models w/o 5GHz. My LG G2 (circa 2013) has it.
    My Moto E4+ has it. Son's TF (well SM) Moto E5 has it. The E series is bottom of Motorola's line.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Southwest Michigan, USA
    Posts
    3,423
    Device(s)
    Moto E (T-Mo); LG Fiesta 2 (PPC)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile Prepaid & Page Plus
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Well, for devices aimed at the under (approximately) $150 market, the cost cutting gets done somewhere.

    Surprised to hear the LG Stylo 4 falls into the single band category though. It's a little higher priced than the model it replaced.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    BFE
    Posts
    7,999
    Device(s)
    LG G2, Moto G5+, Moto E4, (Droid Mini, GS3, Droid4, L41C, Droid3, S390G, LG500G, T404G, T301G, V170)
    Carrier(s)
    Total Wireless (Verizon, Red Pocket, Tracfone)
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by whacker View Post
    Well, for devices aimed at the under (approximately) $150 market, the cost cutting gets done somewhere.
    The Moto E series is pretty low with carrier versions selling for under $100.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    12,285
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by ST Dog View Post
    The Moto E series is pretty low with carrier versions selling for under $100.
    Yeah, I was pleasantly surprised when I discovered that even the Moto E4 and E4 plus have Dual Band WiFi connectivity.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    5,647
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Moto G5s plus (model XT1806) has 2.4 GHz & 5 GHz WIFI Connectivity.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-19-2011, 06:52 PM
  2. FS: Mint condition HP IPAQ 2210 with everything + WiFi card
    By sabesh in forum Other Buy/Sell/Trade
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-22-2004, 09:22 PM
  3. new smartphones with sdio (wifi) support?
    By Dibble in forum Windows Mobile Standard (Smartphone)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-06-2004, 10:09 PM
  4. Problem with SanDisk WiFi SD card & imate: not recognized
    By Dave Nanian in forum Windows Mobile (Before 7)
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-28-2004, 12:09 PM
  5. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-02-2004, 04:46 PM

Bookmarks