Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Google Voice on Alaska Cruise

Feedback Score

Google Voice on Alaska Cruise

My bride and I will be taking our first cruise soon. We will be traveling to Alaska on Norwegian Cruise Lines and as part of a promotion, will have 1GB of WiFi available for the trip. I know I can use VoLTE with my Red Pocket CDMA-V service when in port but would like to use GV or Hangouts when at sea.

Has anyone had personal experience using GV on one of the newer NCL ships? We will be on the Norwegian Bliss.

Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, AT&T, Straight Talk (AT&T)
    Feedback Score
    i have no direct experience with GV on cruiselines in particular, but I've been using GV everywhere that's got Internet (including planes and trains) for almost a decade now and if you've got a working connection, you've got GV.
    Galaxy Tab S2 SM-T817T on AT&T
    Galaxy S7 on StraightTalk (AT&T)

Device(s)
    Tin cans and a string
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    I think you'll be fine so long as jitter/latency isn't excessively high. I've used hangouts over 4g (not lte) gsm without any issues.

Safe travels.....

Device(s)
    Galaxy S10+, Moto X4, Moto G5 Plus, Blu R1HD, IPhone 6s, Defective Umidigi Power
    Carrier(s)
    VerizonPP, Red Pocket A,T,V
    Feedback Score
    I"ve used Whatsapp and Hangouts over ship's wifi on Holland America on a cruise around South America. Worked fine. So it can be done. Whether NCL blocks it is another question.

Feedback Score