Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 23

Thread: Verizon using T-Mobile cell data for IMS calling on iOS 13

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    2,398
    Device(s)
    Sonim XP8, iPhone XS, Pixel 3 XL
    Carrier(s)
    SouthernLINC, T-Mobile, Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars

    Verizon using T-Mobile cell data for IMS calling on iOS 13

    Turns out there are places where Verizon doesn't have signal, but T-Mobile does.

    With the iOS 13 Public Beta, Verizon will now use IMS calling over a different cellular provider when using Dual SIM on the iPhone XS/XR.

    Name:  fullsizeoutput_376e.jpg
Views: 679
Size:  24.9 KB

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    2,047
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by CircuitSwitched View Post
    Turns out there are places where Verizon doesn't have signal, but T-Mobile does.

    With the iOS 13 Public Beta, Verizon will now use IMS calling over a different cellular provider when using Dual SIM on the iPhone XS/XR.

    Name:  fullsizeoutput_376e.jpg
Views: 679
Size:  24.9 KB
    Today on route 267 in northern PA I passed three (maybe 4?) cell sites that had sprint/T-Mobile on them but no Verizon. So sad!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    2,125
    Device(s)
    iPhone XS
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Can you hear me now? Lol

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    2,041
    Device(s)
    Verizon Galaxy S6
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by fgpalm View Post
    Today on route 267 in northern PA I passed three (maybe 4?) cell sites that had sprint/T-Mobile on them but no Verizon. So sad!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Tweet Verizon support.

    Sent from my SM-G975U1 using HoFo mobile app

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    2,047
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by WiredGuy View Post
    Tweet Verizon support.

    Sent from my SM-G975U1 using HoFo mobile app
    Done!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1,182
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon AT&T Dual SIM
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Better than no service!

    In iOS 13, if you set T-Mobile as primary, does it automatically switch to VZW data when there's no T-mo service or do you have to switch your cellular data line manually?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    2,398
    Device(s)
    Sonim XP8, iPhone XS, Pixel 3 XL
    Carrier(s)
    SouthernLINC, T-Mobile, Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by Oopsz View Post
    Better than no service!

    In iOS 13, if you set T-Mobile as primary, does it automatically switch to VZW data when there's no T-mo service or do you have to switch your cellular data line manually?
    It’s automatically switched in my experience but that may change in the final release.


    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    1,096
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by T-MOBILE GSM View Post
    Can you hear me now? Lol
    number of places T-Mobile has service Verizon doesn't < number of places Verizon has signal that T-Mobile doesn't. Is there a reason you troll here constantly?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    DC Area
    Posts
    932
    Device(s)
    Moto G6 Play
    Carrier(s)
    Red Pocket (AT&T)-3 Lines
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by fgpalm View Post
    Today on route 267 in northern PA I passed three (maybe 4?) cell sites that had sprint/T-Mobile on them but no Verizon. So sad!
    The good news is that the Verizon coverage map looks pretty accurate along 267.

    I'm wondering if ATT actually has decent coverage in that area? Their coverage map shows solid LTE, but I'm skeptical. . . . .

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    2,047
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by Digital Rules View Post
    The good news is that the Verizon coverage map looks pretty accurate along 267.

    I'm wondering if ATT actually has decent coverage in that area? Their coverage map shows solid LTE, but I'm skeptical. . . . .
    Yeah me too...given the terrain and spacing between their towers I’m sure att and T-Mobile have some gaps along that road too.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    368
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by fgpalm View Post
    Yeah me too...given the terrain and spacing between their towers I’m sure att and T-Mobile have some gaps along that road too.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Was also traveling in northern PA recently and also saw a similar gap neither ATT or Verizon had service for 3-5 miles.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    287
    Device(s)
    Note9
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by Jack Hagar View Post
    number of places T-Mobile has service Verizon doesn't < number of places Verizon has signal that T-Mobile doesn't. Is there a reason you troll here constantly?
    Still, it's pretty freaking cool functionality, and would be killer with T and VZ sims. All the maps are crayoned over, just to varying degrees.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Kansas City
    Posts
    2,170
    Device(s)
    Apple iPhone 6S, OG Pixel XL, Apple iPad 3 (VZW variant)
    Carrier(s)
    Total Wireless (Verizon), T-Mobile, FreedomPop (AT&T)
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by SoxFan76 View Post
    Still, it's pretty freaking cool functionality, and would be killer with T and VZ sims. All the maps are crayoned over, just to varying degrees.
    It’ll be an awesome function if it works on international data SIMs. Cheap roaming calls without needing WiFi!

    Really hoping this feature sticks in the released version.
    My common forum nick: GenesisDH.

    R.I.P. Circuit City

    We are the Bor... the new AT&T: Your World, Assimilated.

    1000th post: Sept. 29th, 2008, 17:42 CDT

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Reno, NV
    Posts
    2,005
    Device(s)
    iPhone XS Max, Pixel 3
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon, T-Mobile & Sprint (via Google Fi), AT&T (via Red Pocket Mobile)
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by CircuitSwitched View Post
    Turns out there are places where Verizon doesn't have signal, but T-Mobile does.

    With the iOS 13 Public Beta, Verizon will now use IMS calling over a different cellular provider when using Dual SIM on the iPhone XS/XR.

    Name:  fullsizeoutput_376e.jpg
Views: 679
Size:  24.9 KB
    I'm trying to wrap my head around exactly what this new functionality does... First of all, how is IMS Calling different from Wi-Fi Calling - other than you're not connected to Wi-Fi, you're connected to a cellular data connection?

    I've got a Google Fi data-only (T-Mobile) physical SIM. If I understand correctly, if I have Google Fi set to primary and Verizon set as secondary, I'd be able to make and receive calls/SMS with my Verizon number via the data connection on Google Fi is my Verizon connection is poor-to-none??

    Would it work the other way around - if I have Verizon set as primary, and I go into an area where Verizon coverage is poor-to-none, will it automatically switch to IMS calling via the better data connection on the secondary SIM (Google Fi)?

    If my above scenarios are how it works this would be a killer feature with no manual switching between SIM/eSIM needed - as I have to do now.

    Can you post screenshots of the iOS 13 Cellular and Cellular Plans screens so I compare the differences with iOS 12?

    Thank you.
    Last edited by RenoWirelessGuru; 07-09-2019 at 11:54 AM.
    Check out my Reno Area Wireless Information & Cellular Guide website for cell site location maps, pictures & more https://RenoWirelessInfo.com

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Reno, NV
    Posts
    2,005
    Device(s)
    iPhone XS Max, Pixel 3
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon, T-Mobile & Sprint (via Google Fi), AT&T (via Red Pocket Mobile)
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Bamm! 2000 posts in 18 years. Not bad.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Using T-Mobile UK APN for data in the US?
    By BlueScreenOfTOM in forum AT&T
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-28-2009, 05:33 PM
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-06-2008, 02:50 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-09-2005, 11:07 AM
  4. Does Verizon offer a Mobile Office Kit for the a530
    By PrivateOne in forum Verizon Wireless
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-17-2004, 11:06 PM
  5. looking to trade working t-mobile cell phone for clear i90 housing
    By wannabe nextel in forum GSM phone Buy/Sell/Trade Archive
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-30-2003, 08:51 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks