Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 62

Thread: Phone to work with Verizon prepaid

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    608
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by mizwiz View Post
    Yes I'll check that out.

    Sent from my Moto G Play using HoFo mobile app
    It says it will work. My screenshot wouldn't attach. It said it had the incorrect file extension.

    Sent from my Moto G Play using HoFo mobile app

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    608
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    It passed Verizon's check using my IMEI.

    Sent from my Moto G Play using HoFo mobile app

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Posts
    43
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by Boz1 View Post
    husavik accidentally tested for VoLTE using a RP AT&T SIM card, but RP AT&T doesn't allow VoLTE.

    husavik said they will use a Vzw Prepaid SIM card in the G4 Play XT1607 to test again. We're currently waiting for that report.
    My son has gone out for the night, its his phone and I guess girls are more important than his dads smartphone obsession....lol. I hope I can track him down tomorrow and put my sim in the 1607.

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    US
    Posts
    33
    Device(s)
    Moto G4 Play (unlocked version)
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by Boz1 View Post
    That's okay.

    If you put your G4 Play XT1607 IMEI in https://www.verizonwireless.com/onedp/byod#/, what does it show? What if you put it in at https://www.totalwireless.com/activa...sn?carrier=VZW?

    My wife's G4 Play XT1607 IMEI passes both of those Vzw network IMEI checkers, which is why I wonder if something has changed that now makes the G4 Play XT1607 now Vzw VoLTE compatible. Again, I'm not saying that it is for sure, but the above results make me wonder.
    On the Verizon site I can't get past the place where you enter the model of the phone. If I type in Moto G4 Play it offers a drop-down list that has G6 and G7. There isn't a button to click to enter the name I typed and hitting "enter" doesn't make anything happen.

    On the Total site I tried typing in both the IMEI and the MEID (not at the same time!) and for each I got an error message stating "There are no devices in our system that match the information you provided. Please review the information and try again."
    I can't believe I made a typo when entering my screen name....

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    608
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    I had the same results. I then put "unknown" and I got a box to type the IMEI in.

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    2,639
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by mizwiz View Post
    Do those have VoIP on Verizon?

    Sent from my Moto G Play using HoFo mobile app
    VoIP has nothing to do with carriers..

    Sent from my K88 using HoFo mobile app

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    12,266
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by itssjustme View Post
    On the Verizon site I can't get past the place where you enter the model of the phone. If I type in Moto G4 Play it offers a drop-down list that has G6 and G7. There isn't a button to click to enter the name I typed and hitting "enter" doesn't make anything happen.

    On the Total site I tried typing in both the IMEI and the MEID (not at the same time!) and for each I got an error message stating "There are no devices in our system that match the information you provided. Please review the information and try again."
    It works for me without selecting a specific phone by following the steps below.

    Click the https://www.verizonwireless.com/onedp/byod#/ link, then select Phone, then click Android, then click the Next button, then enter your phone's IMEI in the Enter device ID field, then click the See if it'll work button.

    The above is how it works for me using IE 11.

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    12,266
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by mizwiz View Post
    It says it will work. My screenshot wouldn't attach. It said it had the incorrect file extension.
    That makes me wonder if Selectel is doing something wrong when trying to enable VoLTE on your G4 Play XT1607.

    I guess we won't know for sure until husavik reports back with the results of putting his Vzw Prepaid SIM card in his son's G4 Play XT1607 to see if VoLTE can be enabled and actually works.

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Posts
    43
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by husavik View Post
    I'm an idiot. I have Verizon Prepaid, but the XT1607 phone/sim is actually my son's who has Red Pocket GSMA. I will put in my Verizon prepaid sim in the 1607 and try the test again.
    No go. Same result with Verizon sim.

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    12,266
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by husavik View Post
    No go. Same result with Verizon sim.
    Oh, well! I guess Vzw screwed up their database. Thank you for checking.

  11. #41
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    608
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by Boz1 View Post
    Oh, well! I guess Vzw screwed up their database. Thank you for checking.
    I installed Network Cell Info Lite and it reports NO on VoLTE enabled. Odd that I had those settings enabled on T-Mobile SIM. Guess I don't fully understand the inner workings.

    Sent from my Moto G Play using HoFo mobile app

  12. #42
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    386
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by mizwiz View Post
    I installed Network Cell Info Lite and it reports NO on VoLTE enabled. Odd that I had those settings enabled on T-Mobile SIM. Guess I don't fully understand the inner workings.

    Sent from my Moto G Play using HoFo mobile app
    Did you recheck VoLTE in the hidden menu? The network type or APN settings? Maybe they need reset after the SIM swaps.

  13. #43
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    1,128
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    I had a Moto G4 Plus and never got VoLTE on Verizon network.
    Sorry, Lenovo/Moto didn't certified their unlocked G4 lineup with Verizon, so they are not in the accepted phones database. They will not be provisioned.
    Probably T-Mobile does not require certification, they go by the GSM rules.

  14. #44
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    US
    Posts
    33
    Device(s)
    Moto G4 Play (unlocked version)
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by SoNic67 View Post
    I had a Moto G4 Plus and never got VoLTE on Verizon network.
    Sorry, Lenovo/Moto didn't certified their unlocked G4 lineup with Verizon, so they are not in the accepted phones database. They will not be provisioned.
    Probably T-Mobile does not require certification, they go by the GSM rules.
    This is the most likely explanation I've seen. Makes sense.

    I've also heard that Verizon doesn't always activate other features, such as wifi calling, on unlocked phones even if the phone has the capability. I wonder if there is any way to confirm which features will or won't be available on a specific phone before buying it.

  15. #45
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    12,266
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by SoNic67 View Post
    I had a Moto G4 Plus and never got VoLTE on Verizon network.
    Sorry, Lenovo/Moto didn't certified their unlocked G4 lineup with Verizon, so they are not in the accepted phones database. They will not be provisioned.
    Probably T-Mobile does not require certification, they go by the GSM rules.
    Except they, at least the Moto G4 Play XT1607, ARE in Vzw's "accepted phones database". See above.

    If my wife wasn't still using her Moto G4 Play XT1607 on T-Mobile, I'd probably take it to a Verizon store to see what's up. But she still loves that phone, and I'm NOT going to do that while she's still using it, despite the fact that it wouldn't hurt anything!

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Can a phone with a bad ESN be fixed to work with Verizon/PP?
    By justme55 in forum Verizon Wireless
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-31-2012, 02:36 PM
  2. How can I get the Lollipop phone to work with verizon
    By kimbelrylinn in forum Verizon Wireless
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-16-2010, 05:02 PM
  3. How can I get the Lollipop phone to work with verizon
    By kimbelrylinn in forum Feature Phones
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-16-2010, 05:02 PM
  4. Replies: 15
    Last Post: 03-02-2008, 10:30 PM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-22-2003, 06:49 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks