Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Galaxy a50 locked

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    215
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars

    Galaxy a50 locked

    I have a new galaxy a50 for Verizon.
    It was bought straight from Samsung.
    Verizon phones are known to be unlocked so I tried a tmobile sim. It works for 15 seconds and then gives a popup error saying "sorry your device can't be activated on another carrier right now"

    Samsung first told me its locked and vzw can unlock it.
    Vzw said it's not locked by them since its fully paid for.
    Samsung then told me since a50 is officially only for sprint and vzw that it's not marketed as an unlocked phone.

    I would love to use it for tmobile also but cant...
    Any ideas...
    Another point is that when I put in a sim from Italy it doesn't give any error...
    Tia

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Kansas City
    Posts
    2,194
    Device(s)
    Apple iPhone 6S, OG Pixel XL, Apple iPad 3 (VZW variant)
    Carrier(s)
    Total Wireless (Verizon), T-Mobile, FreedomPop (AT&T)
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars

    Galaxy a50 locked

    Verizon stopped leaving phones unlocked for domestic use months ago. The period of the lockout has been 24 hours, but I recall reading that the FCC recently approved VZW’s lockout extension to 60 days.

    The only time a phone, purchased from the manufacturer, is unlocked is if the manufacturer says so. Carrier branded/optimized variants tend to be locked, regardless of location of sale, unless specified.

    That said, you might wait a couple days to see if it allows the SIM. Other than that you could look at RMA-ing the phone and purchase a true unlocked model, or look into purchasing an unlock code.

    Showing that it doesn’t error for a international SIM doesn’t conclude that it’s truly unlocked. Sprint and Verizon have done international unlocks in the past.
    My common forum nick: GenesisDH.

    R.I.P. Circuit City

    We are the Bor... the new AT&T: Your World, Assimilated.

    1000th post: Sept. 29th, 2008, 17:42 CDT

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    5,721
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by boherez View Post
    I have a new galaxy a50 for Verizon. It was bought straight from Samsung. Verizon phones are known to be unlocked so I tried a tmobile sim. It works for 15 seconds and then gives a popup error saying "sorry your device can't be activated on another carrier right now" Samsung first told me its locked and vzw can unlock it. Vzw said it's not locked by them since its fully paid for. Samsung then told me since a50 is officially only for sprint and vzw that it's not marketed as an unlocked phone. I would love to use it for tmobile also but cant... Any ideas... Another point is that when I put in a sim from Italy it doesn't give any error... Tia
    see this post - https://www.howardforums.com/showthr...ne-lock-policy

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    1,271
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by boherez View Post
    I have a new galaxy a50 for Verizon.
    It was bought straight from Samsung.
    Verizon phones are known to be unlocked so I tried a tmobile sim. It works for 15 seconds and then gives a popup error saying "sorry your device can't be activated on another carrier right now"

    Samsung first told me its locked and vzw can unlock it.
    Vzw said it's not locked by them since its fully paid for.
    Samsung then told me since a50 is officially only for sprint and vzw that it's not marketed as an unlocked phone.

    I would love to use it for tmobile also but cant...
    Any ideas...
    Another point is that when I put in a sim from Italy it doesn't give any error...
    Tia
    I doubt this phone even if you could use it on T-Mobile has bands 12 or 71 and really at this point you want those bands on a phone on T-Mobile or you're not going to have an enjoyable experience

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    215
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    For now I have my active Verizon sim in the phone.
    According to vzw it's not locked but the intelligence level of the people I spoke to was not too high.
    What I found strange was how it works for maybe 15 seconds and then gives the error

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    1,271
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by boherez View Post
    For now I have my active Verizon sim in the phone.
    According to vzw it's not locked but the intelligence level of the people I spoke to was not too high.
    What I found strange was how it works for maybe 15 seconds and then gives the error
    Did you change the APN to T-Mobile?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    215
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by Jack Hagar View Post
    Did you change the APN to T-Mobile?
    It actually gets the apn automatically and works fine for 15 seconds until it gets that notification.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Kansas City
    Posts
    2,194
    Device(s)
    Apple iPhone 6S, OG Pixel XL, Apple iPad 3 (VZW variant)
    Carrier(s)
    Total Wireless (Verizon), T-Mobile, FreedomPop (AT&T)
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by boherez View Post
    It actually gets the apn automatically and works fine for 15 seconds until it gets that notification.
    That definitely sounds like a carrier lock.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    175
    Device(s)
    LG G4
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    When was the phone purchased? After the announcement?

    Sent from my VS986 using Tapatalk

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    215
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by slvrsfer View Post
    When was the phone purchased? After the announcement?

    Sent from my VS986 using Tapatalk
    Last week of June.

Similar Threads

  1. Sold: FS: Galaxy Note - Locked to Rogers
    By Auga in forum GSM phone Buy/Sell/Trade
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-23-2012, 11:26 AM
  2. For Trade: Samsung Captivate Galaxy S (locked) on Rogers for your iPhone 4/4S
    By handa in forum GSM phone Buy/Sell/Trade
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-13-2012, 02:00 PM
  3. Sold: *** Brand New White Galaxy S2 Locked to T-Mobile USA*** $375 UPS Ground US
    By @TheRealDanny in forum GSM phone Buy/Sell/Trade
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-04-2012, 06:30 PM
  4. Bell Samsung Galaxy Gio, lock screen timer or app ???
    By Dodge34 in forum Bell/Virgin/Lucky/Solo
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-22-2011, 11:45 AM
  5. Sold: Samsung Galaxy TAB (Locked to Bell) $400 CAD
    By nv00021 in forum GSM phone Buy/Sell/Trade
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-12-2011, 07:30 PM

Bookmarks