Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 31 to 39 of 39

Thread: T-Mobile deploys LTE to 60k Sq miles of Gulf of Mexico

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    276
    Device(s)
    iPhone 8 Plus Product Red
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T, T-Maybe, Visible, Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by captain1charlie View Post
    Rignet/T-Mobile tower on Green Canyon 18 Platform has stopped working Since Yesterday Sunday October 11th 2020 as of approximately 7:30 PM. Like someone turned a Switch off. That needs to be reported to FCC. Been working just fine before. I think the Rig May have messed with the Communication? Most of the Crew is Upset. We used to pick up 2-Towers out here. GC 18 & GC-19 but sometime in early September stopped getting GC-19. Anyway I Hope it starts Transmitting again!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    When it was working, what's the service / speed like out there?

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Gulf Coast
    Posts
    16,611
    Device(s)
    Moto G7 Power, Galaxy S20 5G
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, PagePlus
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by captain1charlie View Post
    I should’ve made a Consumer Complaint to the FCC at FCC.GOV about Cell Tower 445 @ GC 18. Hope the Tower gets back on soon
    When you consider all the things that must work right to get a cell signal to work that far out in the Gulf it's amazing it works at all. I'm willing to bet that RigNet/T-Mobile knew that site was down before anyone picked up a satphone handset to tell them. Sending a crew out to a production platform is not quite the same as dispatching a tech to a land-based tower to make the same repairs.
    Donald Newcomb

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    37
    Device(s)
    iPhone 11
    Carrier(s)
    cricket wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Maryland View Post
    When it was working, what's the service / speed like out there?
    Service has been excellent and DL speed avg 45 MBPS & UL speed 11 MBPS. Tower started working Yesterday October 12 at 12 PM and it quit working at 11:45 PM. Last Month it was working and was intermittent in the evening hours. I don’t know if this is maintenance? Years ago I had “AT&T Wireless” signal would roam but always worked. Offshore Towers we Owned by Petrocom, used to cost extra to use the service


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    19,692
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S9+
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    When I worked for At&t Mobility/Cingular customer service, I remember getting calls occasionally from folks using Petrocom. We had to explain that we didn't own that network and that is was considered international roaming. No different than folks using their phones on a cruise ship.
    Just another day in paradise.....

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    37
    Device(s)
    iPhone 11
    Carrier(s)
    cricket wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    T-Mobile Coverage is Great in Gulf of Mexico. Port Fourchon, La. coverage is Better since T-Mobile is Using the Sprint Towers since the Acquisition. Now signal is good Inside Buildings, Ships etc...


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Gulf Coast
    Posts
    16,611
    Device(s)
    Moto G7 Power, Galaxy S20 5G
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, PagePlus
    Feedback Score
    0
    I was wondering about service in Venice, since Sprint had a tower about 11 miles farther downriver than T-Mobile's last tower at the Buras boat harbor. It wouldn't surprise me if T-Mobile decided not to keep Sprint's tower at Venice. They sometimes make some pretty bass-ackward decisions.

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    2,492
    Feedback Score
    0
    Has anyone found a coverage map or approximation where the Gulf coverage actually is?

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    19,692
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S9+
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Your best bet would be to contact Rignet directly. They have roaming agreements with At&t and T-mobile (as well as some other providers worldwide) according to their internet site. Since T-mobile doesn't own those towers and cannot guarantee coverage on or off network, their CS group won't have true coverage maps.

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    37
    Device(s)
    iPhone 11
    Carrier(s)
    cricket wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by daleraver View Post
    Has anyone found a coverage map or approximation where the Gulf coverage actually is?
    Go to tampnet.com and click on coverage map you will see the Gulf of Mexico coverage towers


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-09-2019, 03:52 PM
  2. T-Mobile deploys LTE in USVI
    By wifiguru in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 11-28-2018, 07:17 PM
  3. Does Simple Mobile throttle LTE to 20 Mbps?
    By SMFD21 in forum General Prepaid discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-10-2017, 05:34 PM
  4. T-mobile is poised to take pass sprint in numbers of subscribers by 2015
    By johnwest in forum General Prepaid discussion
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 08-02-2013, 12:49 AM
  5. FS Florida Home 1 mile from Gulf of Mexico
    By Mike Daley in forum Other Buy/Sell/Trade
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-27-2003, 11:17 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks