Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 79

Thread: T-Mobile service over Sprint towers?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    24
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars

    T-Mobile service over Sprint towers?

    I believe that Sprint customers have been able to roam for free on T-Mobile towers since the merger/acquisition got underway. Now that it has been approved, anyone know if the option to roam on Sprint will reciprocate?

    - Searched forum didn't see any other post
    - Most of the time T-Mobile is great, but in rural areas I get AT&T and only a small amount of data allotted.

    Thanks!

    Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles/Canada
    Posts
    11,277
    Device(s)
    LG G7 (T-Mobile), iPhone 8 (AT&T)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Currently, when performing a network scan, I can't even find Sprint service, and they are colo'd on the same site with T-Mobile in my area.
    AT&T... your world, throttled.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Gulf Coast
    Posts
    15,593
    Device(s)
    Moto G7 Power, Nexus 5X
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, PagePlus
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by formercanuck View Post
    Currently, when performing a network scan, I can't even find Sprint service, and they are colo'd on the same site with T-Mobile in my area.
    Here are the specs for the LG G7 (G710ULM):
    2G bands GSM 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900
    3G bands HSDPA 850 / 900 / 1700(AWS) / 1900 / 2100 & CDMA2000 1xEV-DO
    4G bands LTE band 2(1900), 3(1800), 4(1700/2100), 5(850), 7(2600), 13(700), 20(800), 28(700), 46, 66(1700/2100)

    I don't see band 25, 26 or 41 on that list. If you don't have those bands, you won't see Sprint's signal. They don't transmit a MFBI on their band-2 sites (AFAIK).
    Donald Newcomb

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles/Canada
    Posts
    11,277
    Device(s)
    LG G7 (T-Mobile), iPhone 8 (AT&T)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Heh - I actually found it at 311-490 (was thinking it was VZW).
    I do have B71 on there as well
    The phone version I have is LM-G710TM
    Field test allows / shows B25 and B41, but I suspect that it's disabled on the device. Allows selection, but using a network scan shows 'error'.
    B2 will show 311-490.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    2,104
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by gregoryb1 View Post
    I believe that Sprint customers have been able to roam for free on T-Mobile towers since the merger/acquisition got underway. Now that it has been approved, anyone know if the option to roam on Sprint will reciprocate?

    - Searched forum didn't see any other post
    - Most of the time T-Mobile is great, but in rural areas I get AT&T and only a small amount of data allotted.

    Thanks!

    Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk
    Yes once it clears. It will go from roaming to just like fully native for Sprint customers using TMO towers.

    Sent from my SM-G965U1 using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    2,104
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by DRNewcomb View Post
    Here are the specs for the LG G7 (G710ULM):
    2G bandsGSM 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900
    3G bandsHSDPA 850 / 900 / 1700(AWS) / 1900 / 2100 & CDMA2000 1xEV-DO
    4G bandsLTE band 2(1900), 3(1800), 4(1700/2100), 5(850), 7(2600), 13(700), 20(800), 28(700), 46, 66(1700/2100)

    I don't see band 25, 26 or 41 on that list. If you don't have those bands, you won't see Sprint's signal. They don't transmit a MFBI on their band-2 sites (AFAIK).
    They could or likely will do MFBI on A-F blocks as those are B2 also. The Sprint keep sites well get B12,66,71 added to them. Just takes a new antenna as Sprints base station can do any LTE bands they plug into it. There are limits on the amount of PCS carriers there sites can handle tho.

    Sent from my SM-G965U1 using Tapatalk

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    4,300
    Device(s)
    S9
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    The DOJ/FCC approved of the merger but it won't happen until all the States drop their lawsuit of get a court ordered verdict that could hold this up till around October. There are no plans for T-Mobile customers to roam on Sprint and very few T-Mobile customers have phones that would support Band 25, 26 or 41. The major issue is Sprint doesn't have T-Mobile's VoLTE variant. Also, the plan is to get everyone off of Sprint as fast as possible so it would be wrong to allow T-Mobile's customers to use Sprint's network.

    Dish agreement is they won't buy Band 26 until three years after the sale of Boost, Virgin and Prepaid Sprint operation and customers.

    The only thing I see as good for T-Mobile customer is that DISH will lease all their 600 Mhz to T-Mobile that should add some major bandwidth to T-Mobile's customers.

    Found this interesting since DISH is leasing 600 Mhz to T-Mobile;

    " Notably, Dish agrees not to sell its AWS-4 or 600 MHz licenses for six years without prior FCC and DOJ consent, unless that sale is part of a larger sale of Dish itself. "
    Last edited by shilohcane; 07-29-2019 at 04:41 PM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    4,300
    Device(s)
    S9
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by DRNewcomb View Post
    Here are the specs for the LG G7 (G710ULM):
    2G bands GSM 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900
    3G bands HSDPA 850 / 900 / 1700(AWS) / 1900 / 2100 & CDMA2000 1xEV-DO
    4G bands LTE band 2(1900), 3(1800), 4(1700/2100), 5(850), 7(2600), 13(700), 20(800), 28(700), 46, 66(1700/2100)

    I don't see band 25, 26 or 41 on that list. If you don't have those bands, you won't see Sprint's signal. They don't transmit a MFBI on their band-2 sites (AFAIK).
    Does Sprint's towers already have MFBI equipment on their towers for Band's 41 (Superset of Band 2 adding G block) to let T-Mobile customers see Band 2 on their phones? Because if T-Mobile has to add extra equipment like a MFBI to Sprint's towers it would just slow down the migration from Sprint customer to T-Mobile.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles/Canada
    Posts
    11,277
    Device(s)
    LG G7 (T-Mobile), iPhone 8 (AT&T)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    I can see Sprint as 311-490
    G7 supports B25 and B41
    https://www.phonescoop.com/phones/phone.php?p=5775


    Sent from my LM-G710 using HoFo mobile app

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    2,104
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by shilohcane View Post
    The DOJ/FCC approved of the merger but it won't happen until all the States drop their lawsuit of get a court ordered verdict that could hold this up till around October. There are no plans for T-Mobile customers to roam on Sprint and very few T-Mobile customers have phones that would support Band 25, 26 or 41. The major issue is Sprint doesn't have T-Mobile's VoLTE variant. Also, the plan is to get everyone off of Sprint as fast as possible so it would be wrong to allow T-Mobile's customers to use Sprint's network.

    Dish agreement is they won't buy Band 25 until three years after the sale of Boost, Virgin and Prepaid Sprint operation and customers.

    The only thing I see as good for T-Mobile customer is that DISH will lease all their 600 Mhz to T-Mobile that should add some major bandwidth to T-Mobile's customers.

    Found this interesting since DISH is leasing 600 Mhz to T-Mobile;

    " Notably, Dish agrees not to sell its AWS-4 or 600 MHz licenses for six years without prior FCC and DOJ consent, unless that sale is part of a larger sale of Dish itself. "
    Dish is buying B26 not 25 and T-Mobile customers actually be able to use Sprint sites as iPhones, LG G8 Samsung S8-10 have them also Pixel lines do also

    Sent from my SM-G965U1 using Tapatalk

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    2,104
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by formercanuck View Post
    I can see Sprint as 311-490
    G7 supports B25 and B41
    https://www.phonescoop.com/phones/phone.php?p=5775


    Sent from my LM-G710 using HoFo mobile app
    After the merger is final there will likely be mfbi on all towers. Sprint LG G5 for example supports H+ and B25. TMO does mfbi and they phone would work. Plus anyone with a older phone get a discount or free phone as part of the merger agreement

    Sent from my SM-G965U1 using Tapatalk

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    4,300
    Device(s)
    S9
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by thotguy31 View Post
    Dish is buying B26 not 25 and T-Mobile customers actually be able to use Sprint sites as iPhones, LG G8 Samsung S8-10 have them also Pixel lines do also

    Sent from my SM-G965U1 using Tapatalk
    Correct I am just getting use to the B25 & 26 and still confuse them. The B41 is all I have focused on to this point until I found out last week The B26 was sold.

    Lot’s of T-Mobile branded iPhones have a Intel modem that can’t do CDMA. Show me proof that Sprint’s phones are compatible with T- Mobile variation of VoLTE? There are lots of T-Mobile customers that have phones that don’t support Sprint’s Band 25, 26 or 41 and have never been approved by the FCC for those bands.

    Anything that cost money or slowed down the migration of Sprint customers to T- Mobile is a step backwards. Adding T-Mobile customers to Sprint’s Network is going the wrong Way with this migration. Sprint has lots of Greenfield Band 41 Spectrum that hasn’t been deployed that T- Mobile could refarm ASAP. We are in Phase 5 of the 600 MHz deployment and every one at T-Mobile should be working on adding both T-Mobiles and the lease DISH B71 Spectrum on to T-Mobiles Network. Unless they can get T- Mobiles Network bandwidth sunffucient to handle all of Sprint, Dish and all Sprint’s MVNO this merger will fail like Nextel did.
    Last edited by shilohcane; 07-29-2019 at 04:55 PM.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Gulf Coast
    Posts
    15,593
    Device(s)
    Moto G7 Power, Nexus 5X
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, PagePlus
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by formercanuck View Post
    I can see Sprint as 311-490
    G7 supports B25 and B41
    My G7 Power sees 11 MNCs on a manual scan. T-Mobile, three AT&T (regular & 2 FirstNet), Verizon, CSpire, SouthernLinc and the rest are Sprint. Why Sprint needs so many MNCs is beyond me. I wonder if T-Mobile will rationalize them all to a single MNC?

    I have a dream: Sprint's PCS G-block spectrum deployed on High Altitude Platforms (HAPs) to provide ubiquitous LTE service in rural areas of central and western states.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles/Canada
    Posts
    11,277
    Device(s)
    LG G7 (T-Mobile), iPhone 8 (AT&T)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    I suspect that Sprint has (or had) a few reasons for this. Some carriers had multiple as part of regional (vs just one MNC). The other reason may be companies which are 'Sprint Affiliates' which Sprint sees as .. Sprint. The other may have been MVNO style branches of Sprint.
    I see T-Mobile GSM, T-Mobile UMTS, T-Mobile LTE, 311-490 (Sprint), AT&T LTE, AT&T WCDMA, Verizon LTE and Firstnet 313-030

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    2,104
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by shilohcane View Post
    Correct I am just getting use to the B25 & 26 and still confuse them. The B41 is all I have focused on to this point until I found out last week The B26 was sold.

    Lot’s of T-Mobile branded iPhones have a Intel modem that can’t do CDMA. Show me proof that Sprint’s phones are compatible with T- Mobile variation of VoLTE? There are lots of T-Mobile customers that have phones that don’t support Sprint’s Band 25, 26 or 41 and have never been approved by the FCC for those bands.

    Anything that cost money or slowed down the migration of Sprint customers to T- Mobile is a step backwards. Adding T-Mobile customers to Sprint’s Network is going the wrong Way with this migration. Sprint has lots of Greenfield Band 41 Spectrum that hasn’t been deployed that T- Mobile could refarm ASAP. We are in Phase 5 of the 600 MHz deployment and every one at T-Mobile should be working on adding both T-Mobiles and the lease DISH B71 Spectrum on to T-Mobiles Network. Unless they can get T- Mobiles Network bandwidth sunffucient to handle all of Sprint, Dish and all Sprint’s MVNO this merger will fail like Nextel did.
    No CDMA just the LTE/VOLTE part of Sprint. TMO will shut CDMA pcs soon. 1x800 in 3 years

    Sent from my SM-G965U1 using Tapatalk

Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 12
    Last Post: 09-12-2013, 07:35 PM
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-22-2013, 09:25 AM
  3. does virgin mobile service equal sprint (reception)
    By cefotetan2gq12 in forum Sprint
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-03-2008, 06:47 AM
  4. Nextel service on Sprint towers...
    By BB Junkie in forum General Nextel Discussion
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 01-14-2006, 04:31 PM
  5. Why choose a network card from T-Mobile over SPRINT?
    By Life-Is-Good in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 01-26-2003, 12:50 AM

Bookmarks