Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Hotspot with Total Wireless?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    477
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars

    Hotspot with Total Wireless?

    Anyone know how this works? I’ve never used a hotspot before, but my power is out so I wanted to try it. I went to my settings on my iPhone, and it won’t let me turn hotspot on. Does T W not allow hotspots?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    5,726
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    does your iphone have all the latest updates ??

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    West Central Iowa
    Posts
    718
    Device(s)
    Galaxy J7 Sky Pro SM-S727VL, Galaxy J3 Sky SM-S230VL, ZTE Z723EL, ZTE Z233VL
    Carrier(s)
    Straight Talk, Total Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Hotspot via a phone is against the T&C, and they can disable your data if you use it too much.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    1,029
    Device(s)
    Saumsung Galaxy S7, Motorola Moto E (2nd Generation), LG Volt
    Carrier(s)
    Total Wireless, Lycamobile, Tello
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by advcomp2019 View Post
    Hotspot via a phone is against the T&C, and they can disable your data if you use it too much.
    If TW were to catch me using my phone's hotspot, would they axe just my number, or all lines on the account (I'm on the 2 line $60 plan)? Would I still be able to port out if they shut me down?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    1,162
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    We don't know the penalty.
    I did use hotspot briefly when the Internet was out, but it was just for a day and way under the data limit.
    I assume that they'll have a beef with hotspots on the accounts that are close to the data limit.
    Last edited by SoNic67; 08-06-2019 at 05:38 AM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    22
    Device(s)
    Huawei P20 Pro
    Carrier(s)
    ATT
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    I've found one old thread: https://www.howardforums.com/showthr...otal-wireless/ The last comment says that it works, so you may try to do smth like that. But that user had Android.
    Best and worst brands, reviews from real customers - https://www.pissedconsumer.com/

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    477
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Nope. TW messaged me back on this. It's not available. Phooey.

Similar Threads

  1. Tethering/Hotspot on Total wireless?
    By Kdsheen in forum General Prepaid discussion
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 01-19-2018, 08:01 PM
  2. problem with total wireless iPhone 5s
    By inpt4you in forum General Prepaid discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-19-2016, 03:58 AM
  3. New to the USA (NYC) - trying to get a 212 area code with Total Wireless?
    By kingrukus in forum General Prepaid discussion
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 08-15-2016, 04:59 PM
  4. What's with Total Wireless data balance checks?
    By inpt4you in forum General Prepaid discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-23-2015, 07:58 PM
  5. T-Mo Hotspots with Total Internet
    By RueTheDay in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-28-2006, 05:50 AM

Bookmarks