Page 7 of 9 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 LastLast
Results 91 to 105 of 130

Thread: T-Mobile Is Giving People A Free Hotspot To Test Drive Its Network

  1. #91
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    359
    Device(s)
    i205
    Carrier(s)
    nextel
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by @TheRealDanny View Post
    It's with deep regret that I inform everyone that my Coolpad mobile hotspot passed away last night after I tried to rename the 5 GHz network.

    Reset button is unresponsive. Totally charged but no lights.

    I'm going to return it and call it a day.
    Might want to try a hard reset..... wps and power button pressed at same time

    Not sure how this is going to help tmobile.... mine worked for a day. Tmobile is trying to trouble shoot it. Sending out a new one now

  2. #92
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    28
    Feedback Score
    0
    Has anybody used the international passes for LTE data and do they work well?

  3. #93
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    14
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by mgmrick View Post
    Can I assume this hotspot will get a better signal than a tmobile cell phone?
    This is my question as well. How do speeds on the hotspot translate to a cellphone modem?

  4. #94
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    US
    Posts
    1,179
    Device(s)
    Apple iPhone X
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by @TheRealDanny View Post
    It's with deep regret that I inform everyone that my Coolpad mobile hotspot passed away last night after I tried to rename the 5 GHz network.

    Reset button is unresponsive. Totally charged but no lights.

    I'm going to return it and call it a day.
    That's what I was doing when mine bricked. I get all lights when I power up, but that's it. They never shut off, it never registers back to the network. I let it sit there for 4 hours. I can't reset it or anything.

    But... they did send me 2. So I used that SIM card in the other device - so I guess I have a 60 day trial.

  5. #95
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    ROLLTIDE
    Posts
    4,785
    Device(s)
    Bag phone
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    T-Mobile's coverage is the exact same that it was 15 years ago in Mobile, AL . It's horrible and the fastest speeds I have seen with my test drive is 5megs . No 600mhz in this market or anywhere close to me

  6. #96
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    415
    Device(s)
    nexus and RIP Motorola flip phone
    Carrier(s)
    T -Mobile ATT
    Feedback Score
    0
    Has anyone seen if there is a time limit to activate the Sim card ?

    I would like to save it for when I go on vacation which will not be until around Christmas
    Wanted: old barnfind VWs and Sports cars ,
    save them from the crusher , I have had my tetanus shots so rust does not scare me ,
    anything considered even parts cars

  7. #97
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Denver
    Posts
    1,434
    Device(s)
    Any Windows Phones!
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Question for any existing T-Mobile customer who has obtained one via methods questionable or unquestionable...

    I know T-Mo doesn't seem to have a problem with us using a tablet/data-only plan on a phone (or at least they don't seem to block us from doing it) but how is T-Mo with the reverse? What happens if you put a phone SIM in a T-Mo hotspot?

    Asking for a friend...

    Sent from my moto x4 using Tapatalk
    --
    Todd Allcock, Microsoft MVP: Mobile Devices 2007-2011

  8. #98
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    2,374
    Feedback Score
    0
    For what it’s worth, I use voice sims in iPads constantly (@ about 600kbps) because I have two spare voice lines from promotions that are idle. Been doing this for years and they give free 256kbps data overseas also, which is nice for mapping, nav, email etc.

  9. #99
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Denver
    Posts
    1,434
    Device(s)
    Any Windows Phones!
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by daleraver View Post
    For what it’s worth, I use voice sims in iPads constantly (@ about 600kbps) because I have two spare voice lines from promotions that are idle. Been doing this for years and they give free 256kbps data overseas also, which is nice for mapping, nav, email etc.
    Thanks. I assumed it wouldn't be a problem, but you never know.



    Sent from my moto x4 using Tapatalk

  10. #100
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    2,374
    Feedback Score
    0
    Good luck and I hope it works. I really like that they allow this on the voice lines. It really helps while traveling to have an alternate access point.

  11. #101
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    14,618
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by daleraver View Post
    For what it’s worth, I use voice sims in iPads constantly (@ about 600kbps) because I have two spare voice lines from promotions that are idle.
    To clarify, even though they allow you to use the SIM's in iPads, they do throttle it down to 600kbps instead of getting the 4G speeds you would get in a phone. I can see how that would be great for international use since it's already throttled anyway.

  12. #102
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    359
    Device(s)
    i205
    Carrier(s)
    nextel
    Feedback Score
    0
    After 1st one failed they sent me another one. Fail it will not get past the get started screen

  13. #103
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    13
    Feedback Score
    0
    Asking for a friend who just received the hotspot, and whose Sprint 1-year Free ends 9/30.

    1. Can she wait until 10/1 to activate (insert the SIM that came with the hotspot, into the hotspot)? The goal would be to delay having to choose an MVNO until 10/30.

    2. For the heck of it, what would happen if she removed the Sprint SIM from her phone, and inserted it into the hotspot? My guess is the hotspot wouldn't work cuz I think Sprint is CDMA and Tmo is GSM, hmmm. I'm clueless tho.

    FWIW she's like many folks I know -- she's been using a Google Voice phone number for years so she doesn't really need that Sprint number. Thanks!

  14. #104
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    187
    Device(s)
    iPhone 8 Plus Product Red
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by whatIneeded View Post
    Asking for a friend who just received the hotspot, and whose Sprint 1-year Free ends 9/30.

    1. Can she wait until 10/1 to activate (insert the SIM that came with the hotspot, into the hotspot)? The goal would be to delay having to choose an MVNO until 10/30.

    2. For the heck of it, what would happen if she removed the Sprint SIM from her phone, and inserted it into the hotspot? My guess is the hotspot wouldn't work cuz I think Sprint is CDMA and Tmo is GSM, hmmm. I'm clueless tho.

    FWIW she's like many folks I know -- she's been using a Google Voice phone number for years so she doesn't really need that Sprint number. Thanks!
    1. Yes- it doesn't activate until you put the sim in the hotspot.
    2. As soon as the hotspot is activated it gets sim locked, so it wont work.
    Personal Highest on LTE - US RT 1 and MD-152

    Home internet - Verizon Fios 150/150 (Upgraded to Gigabit Jan. 26 2019)


    Fios Gigabit:

  15. #105
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    932
    Carrier(s)
    VZW - Work / T-Mobile (iPhone)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by daleraver View Post
    For what it’s worth, I use voice sims in iPads constantly (@ about 600kbps) because I have two spare voice lines from promotions that are idle. Been doing this for years and they give free 256kbps data overseas also, which is nice for mapping, nav, email etc.
    Do your free voice lines have throttled hotspot service (e.g., 3G hotspot)? The iPad and hotspots are identified as mobile broadband/hotspot devices, which explains why the iPad would be similarly throttled. I wasn't thinking they would act that way if you have full speed hotspot data.

Page 7 of 9 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. So T-mobile is giving free video streaming to Simply Prepaid Customer?
    By whohasaquestion in forum General Prepaid discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-04-2016, 02:02 PM
  2. Public mobile is giving free phone on july 10, get rogers to pm
    By next_godfather in forum Rogers/Fido/Chat-r
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-13-2010, 02:20 PM
  3. Rogers is giving me a free phone, which would you take.
    By Punkrox in forum Rogers/Fido/Chat-r
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 08-20-2005, 05:46 PM
  4. T-Mobile is giving away Free V600's..
    By jimtesla in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 38
    Last Post: 03-25-2005, 07:56 PM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-21-2002, 02:05 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks