Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Thread: US expat seeks advice for phone plan - keep a USA #, receive bank text codes abroad.

Feedback Score

US expat seeks advice for phone plan - keep a USA #, receive bank text codes abroad.

Hi,

I am a USA citizen who will be living abroad (Asia) soon.

I want to retain my USA identity and be able to receive verification codes from banks/cc's and to have a USA # they can call me on if they need to or vice versa.

I've been using the MagicJack phone app for a few years, but it's been down for 4 days now - calls go directly to voicemail, a known issue - and I need something reliable.
    I have a USA phone number from them that all my accounts have, and would want to retain that number and port it over to whatever service I use.

So far it appears from preliminary research that Ultramobile PayGo and Ting could be the solution.

I don't know if the roaming rates for international that PayGo lists (25 cents/minute for SE Asia) is only for USA calling to SE Asia, or if it is for both ways - i.e., SEA calling USA at the same int'l. roaming rates.

I can see that this is a knowledgeable forum, so will be grateful for suggestions/feedback.

Also for feedback on Ultra PayGo vs. Ting.
    Or another solution.

Thank you.

Feedback Score
    I would consider Google Fi. Detailed info regarding international texts, calls, and data here: https://support.google.com/fi/answer/6157794?hl=en

Feedback Score
    Why would you want to use Google Fi or Ultramobile paygo or Ting? You want mobile access in Asia on their native plans as data will be cheapest with domestic carriers.

You need a voip calling service in the USA. Google voice is free or you can choose from multiple other firms as well with USA based VOIP calling. Too many to list but you can use a search engine to find them as well as using google play or app store to find providers with their own applications. They allow text and calling.

Feedback Score