Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Setting a line to have no service outside USA

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Posts
    2
    Carrier(s)
    VZW
    Feedback Score
    0

    Setting a line to have no service outside USA

    Is it possible to set my line to have no service outside USA? I'm wanting to set it up to only use VZW Wi-Fi and never activate any international cellular service or charges.
    On my plan page I see my line has travelpass and international PAYG. I want to turn both of those off.

    Other lines on my plan show "no plan" for international service.

    A help page I'm seeing at VZW says that if you have no plan, you default to PAYG...but how does that relate to the lines that have no plan showing? (at verizonwireless.com, /solutions-and-services/international-travel/)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    5,858
    Feedback Score
    0
    remove the sim from the phone and just turn on WIFI this way you just use WIFI for calls & internet.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    1,447
    Feedback Score
    0
    It's called airplane mode

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    1,546
    Device(s)
    iPhone SE
    Carrier(s)
    Starting to think they all suck
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by october262 View Post
    remove the sim from the phone and just turn on WIFI this way you just use WIFI for calls & internet.
    The SIM needs to be in the device for Wi-Fi calling to work.

    Sent from my SM-N975U1 using HoFo mobile app

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Posts
    2
    Carrier(s)
    VZW
    Feedback Score
    0
    Also, need the line active to retain iMessage service using the primary phone number.

    Planning to use the other SIM slot for the local in-country PAYG SIM. I can use use WiFi calling or mobile data calling as long as the VZW line doesn't roam to a local provider.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-26-2014, 10:05 AM
  2. How can I flash a Virgin Mobile Blackberry Curve to Metro PCS? (I have no service)
    By Alex Dubstep in forum MetroPCS Flashing and Modding
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-23-2011, 08:46 AM
  3. what to do with the phone when you have no service with it???
    By magna19 in forum General Prepaid discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-01-2011, 11:58 PM
  4. Need help updated to 2.2.1 now I have "No Service"
    By Pdouble in forum iOS Jailbreaking and Unlocking
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-23-2009, 01:24 PM
  5. Anyone having "no service" problems in SoCal area?
    By tmobileone in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 08-04-2002, 11:58 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks