Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Switching back and forth between cdma and gsm

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    320
    Feedback Score
    0

    Switching back and forth between cdma and gsm

    If using an unlocked phone (phone verified to work with cdma and gsm providers), can a person subscribe to cdma service and then switch back and forth between his cdma and gsm providers simply by removing the cdma card and using his gsm sim card?

    Is it just the ICCID of the cdma card that’s tied to the cdma provider or is it also the imei of the fone itself?

    Anyone using both cdma and gsm cards in a single fone?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Posts
    15
    Device(s)
    Xperia X, iPhone SE, Zmax 2
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, Tello, FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yes. No problem swapping sim cards in phones that support all US networks. APN/carrier profile needs to be updated after the swap and maybe a reboot. Can swap between Tello<->T-mobile on my iPhone SE if I wanted to.

    Sprint seems to tie the service to both the ICCID of the card and the IMEI of the phone. Verizon seems to be more lenient allowing sim swapping between different LTE capable phones without having to update the new phone's IMEI.

    I dunno of any dual sim phones that work on all networks in the US, except maybe the iPhones with an eSIM for GSM/LTE provider and a regular nano SIM for CDMA/LTE. I think all the Asian dual-sim phones are GSM/LTE only, and most don't have proper North American bands.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    320
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Slepy View Post
    Yes. No problem swapping sim cards in phones that support all US networks. APN/carrier profile needs to be updated after the swap and maybe a reboot. Can swap between Tello<->T-mobile on my iPhone SE if I wanted to.

    Sprint seems to tie the service to both the ICCID of the card and the IMEI of the phone. Verizon seems to be more lenient allowing sim swapping between different LTE capable phones without having to update the new phone's IMEI.

    I dunno of any dual sim phones that work on all networks in the US, except maybe the iPhones with an eSIM for GSM/LTE provider and a regular nano SIM for CDMA/LTE. I think all the Asian dual-sim phones are GSM/LTE only, and most don't have proper North American bands.
    Fone is a single SIM card fone.

    Sprint ties service to both ICCID and IMEI but ur experience is that u can swap between Tello (Sprint) and T-mobile? U just take out ur Sprint card and replace it with ur T-mobile SIM card (then update/reboot if needed)?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Posts
    15
    Device(s)
    Xperia X, iPhone SE, Zmax 2
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, Tello, FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yes. It's that simple, same as GSM SIM swapping. You might need to select the network in settings, but should be automatic most of the time it recognizes the SIM.

    The network providers have no clue which phone is registered to other's network. GSM networks don't care at all, as service is tied to the SIM.

    The main headache is when you want to swap different phones on the same CDMA network, especially Sprint, which uses a specific sim card type per phone model. 2G/3G CDMA is tied to the IMEI of the phone because they didn't uses SIM cards, only for 4G LTE did they implement SIM cards.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    320
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Slepy View Post
    Yes. It's that simple, same as GSM SIM swapping. You might need to select the network in settings, but should be automatic most of the time it recognizes the SIM.

    The network providers have no clue which phone is registered to other's network. GSM networks don't care at all, as service is tied to the SIM.

    The main headache is when you want to swap different phones on the same CDMA network, especially Sprint, which uses a specific sim card type per phone model. 2G/3G CDMA is tied to the IMEI of the phone because they didn't uses SIM cards, only for 4G LTE did they implement SIM cards.
    Thank u!!!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    1,157
    Feedback Score
    0
    My Motorola can swap between Sprint, Verizon, and any number of GSM providers just by swapping the SIM card. It does not require a reboot, the service simply pauses for about 10 seconds and then I'm good to go.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    570
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by barryspar View Post
    My Motorola can swap between Sprint, Verizon, and any number of GSM providers just by swapping the SIM card. It does not require a reboot, the service simply pauses for about 10 seconds and then I'm good to go.
    Moto model ?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    1,157
    Feedback Score
    0
    Moto G4 Plus, Moto G6 Play, pretty much any Moto sold in the US in the last few years.

Similar Threads

  1. Back and forth between PP and Straight Talk?
    By wetherb67 in forum Page Plus Cellular
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-14-2016, 10:12 AM
  2. Help. Is it possible to swap 4G sim back and forth between Mifi and USB Modem?
    By lsutiger in forum Other Devices (HotSpots/MiFi, USB Modems, Netbooks, etc.)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-10-2013, 08:18 AM
  3. switching back and forth between Iden and CDMA
    By mak618 in forum Boost Mobile
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 03-16-2010, 02:09 PM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-15-2008, 12:43 AM
  5. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-20-2003, 09:34 AM

Bookmarks