Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Newbie question from an oldie...

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    near Lake Michigan
    Posts
    1,391
    Device(s)
    motoGplay AT&T , Verizon
    Carrier(s)
    ATT
    Feedback Score
    0

    Newbie question from an oldie...

    Is it a good idea to use the WiFi utilty on a new phone?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    BFE
    Posts
    8,340
    Device(s)
    LG G2, Moto G5+, Moto E4, (Droid Mini, GS3, Droid4, L41C, Droid3, S390G, LG500G, T404G, T301G, V170)
    Carrier(s)
    Total Wireless (Verizon, Red Pocket, Tracfone)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Use the what?
    What phone?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    near Lake Michigan
    Posts
    1,391
    Device(s)
    motoGplay AT&T , Verizon
    Carrier(s)
    ATT
    Feedback Score
    0
    tracfone G6.WiFi utility. It's an app that finds and connects to any available wifi. I assume for traveling.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    West Central Iowa
    Posts
    861
    Device(s)
    Galaxy J7 Sky Pro SM-S727VL, Galaxy J3 Sky SM-S230VL, ZTE Z723EL, ZTE Z233VL
    Carrier(s)
    Straight Talk, Total Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    I don't use this utility because at times it could connect to an unsecured open access point aka a hacker access point which would be bad.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    near Lake Michigan
    Posts
    1,391
    Device(s)
    motoGplay AT&T , Verizon
    Carrier(s)
    ATT
    Feedback Score
    0
    That is why I asked....nuff said, thanx

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    BFE
    Posts
    8,340
    Device(s)
    LG G2, Moto G5+, Moto E4, (Droid Mini, GS3, Droid4, L41C, Droid3, S390G, LG500G, T404G, T301G, V170)
    Carrier(s)
    Total Wireless (Verizon, Red Pocket, Tracfone)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by gmannix View Post
    tracfone G6.WiFi utility. It's an app that finds and connects to any available wifi. I assume for traveling.
    I just use Android's native scanning to tell me about available APs then manually connect if I want.

    Sent from my XT1687 using Tapatalk

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    656
    Feedback Score
    0
    If memory serves (never does), the utility uses a lot of battery. There was a thread on this bout a year ago.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    California Gold Country
    Posts
    6,507
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ST Dog View Post
    I just use Android's native scanning to tell me about available APs then manually connect if I want.
    It will automatically connect to a previously used network as soon as WiFi is toggled on. I assume it chooses the strongest signal if more than one is available?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    BP subsidized Gulf Coast
    Posts
    6,680
    Carrier(s)
    Tracfone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by gmannix View Post
    Is it a good idea to use the WiFi utilty on a new phone?
    Are you not talking about wi-fi optimizer (management) found under network settings (along with Network Optimizer) in the Tracfone app?
    Most of us have both disabled.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    6,948
    Device(s)
    LG Q6, Moto E5, LG G6
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon, FreeUp
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Tracfancier View Post
    Are you not talking about wi-fi optimizer (management) found under network settings (along with Network Optimizer) in the Tracfone app?
    Most of us have both disabled.
    One of my phones (can't remember which) came with a standalone "WiFi Utility" app, not part of the Tracfone app. I disabled or removed it.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    BFE
    Posts
    8,340
    Device(s)
    LG G2, Moto G5+, Moto E4, (Droid Mini, GS3, Droid4, L41C, Droid3, S390G, LG500G, T404G, T301G, V170)
    Carrier(s)
    Total Wireless (Verizon, Red Pocket, Tracfone)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by loboheeler View Post
    It will automatically connect to a previously used network as soon as WiFi is toggled on. I assume it chooses the strongest signal if more than one is available?
    Dunno. Never had a situation where that came up.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Mtns of Western NC
    Posts
    1,244
    Device(s)
    Ascend Y, Proclaim, Ascend Plus
    Carrier(s)
    America Movil, Virgin Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Possible LG only? I have this on my Fiesta 2 and just activated Stylo 3. Don't recall ever seeing it on Motorolas. I disabled it and if for some reason I have wifi problems, then I will go back and try it.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    near Lake Michigan
    Posts
    1,391
    Device(s)
    motoGplay AT&T , Verizon
    Carrier(s)
    ATT
    Feedback Score
    0
    https://www.amazon.com/TracFone-Wire.../dp/B06XPMHP7Z

    Apparently an app that comes free from Amazon, but apparently is factory-installed on the Moto G6 as well as some LG's. Only 1 1/2 stars, so probably not necessary nor desirable. Seems it may only be available ofor Tracfone.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Southwest Michigan, USA
    Posts
    3,488
    Device(s)
    Moto E (T-Mo); LG Fiesta 2 (PPC)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile Prepaid & Page Plus
    Feedback Score
    0
    I have it on my cheap LG Fiesta 2s. I disabled it, as I can find and connect to available Wi-Fi as needed just fine without it. It had some level of annoying notification going on.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    near Lake Michigan
    Posts
    1,391
    Device(s)
    motoGplay AT&T , Verizon
    Carrier(s)
    ATT
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Tracfancier View Post
    Are you not talking about wi-fi optimizer (management) found under network settings (along with Network Optimizer) in the Tracfone app?
    Most of us have both disabled.
    No, This is an app called WiFi Utility.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 15
    Last Post: 11-23-2012, 06:20 PM
  2. Three questions from an L6 owner
    By seansich in forum Motorola Modding
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-23-2006, 12:34 PM
  3. Question from an L6 user
    By seansich in forum Motorola Modding
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-03-2006, 11:07 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-04-2005, 09:31 AM
  5. Bell Question From an MTS User
    By ajlabman in forum Bell/Virgin/Lucky/Solo
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-28-2003, 01:55 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks