Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Pixel 1 VoLTE on ATT

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    342
    Feedback Score
    0

    Pixel 1 VoLTE on ATT

    I have a BYOP ATT sim running in a Pixel 1. Everything I have read seems to say that it will not support VoLTE.

    When I go to about phone and check SIM status, mobile voice network type says LTE (as does data network type).

    Does this mean it is using VoLTE? Any way to check it?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    6,937
    Device(s)
    LG Q6, Moto E5, LG G6
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon, FreeUp
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by slamsome View Post
    I have a BYOP ATT sim running in a Pixel 1. Everything I have read seems to say that it will not support VoLTE.

    When I go to about phone and check SIM status, mobile voice network type says LTE (as does data network type).

    Does this mean it is using VoLTE? Any way to check it?
    There's no VoLTE service on TF/AT&T, regardless of the network setting on the phone.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    342
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thanks. I guess just some tomfoolery in the OS...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    California Gold Country
    Posts
    6,504
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by slamsome View Post
    Thanks. I guess just some tomfoolery in the OS...
    No, it's the network itself not allowing VoLTE.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    342
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by loboheeler View Post
    No, it's the network itself not allowing VoLTE.
    Voice network type says LTE though. If it wasn't allowing it should report something else.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    6,937
    Device(s)
    LG Q6, Moto E5, LG G6
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon, FreeUp
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by slamsome View Post
    Voice network type says LTE though. If it wasn't allowing it should report something else.
    Let me use this analogy. Let's say your "multi-language" DVD player is capable of decoding a 2nd language track (besides English). But if the disc that you're playing doesn't use a 2nd-language track, then all you will hear is English, despite the setting saying "multi-language".

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    California Gold Country
    Posts
    6,504
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by slamsome View Post
    Voice network type says LTE though. If it wasn't allowing it should report something else.
    Can you get the INFO menu by dialing *#*#4636#*#* on that phone? Might give a better indication of the network status.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    342
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by loboheeler View Post
    Can you get the INFO menu by dialing *#*#4636#*#* on that phone? Might give a better indication of the network status.
    Thanks!

    Voice network type LTE
    VoLTE Provisioned - greyed out... Nope

    Kinda sad. Another great phone destined for the scrap heap I guess.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    6,937
    Device(s)
    LG Q6, Moto E5, LG G6
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon, FreeUp
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by slamsome View Post
    Voice network type LTE
    VoLTE Provisioned - greyed out... Nope

    Kinda sad. Another great phone destined for the scrap heap I guess.
    If you really like VoLTE, you can switch your Tracfone service to TF/T-mobile (or TF/Verizon if your phone supports it). They have VoLTE enabled.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    West Central Iowa
    Posts
    860
    Device(s)
    Galaxy J7 Sky Pro SM-S727VL, Galaxy J3 Sky SM-S230VL, ZTE Z723EL, ZTE Z233VL
    Carrier(s)
    Straight Talk, Total Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hpham View Post
    If you really like VoLTE, you can switch your Tracfone service to TF/T-mobile (or TF/Verizon if your phone supports it). They have VoLTE enabled.
    I was going to say that since AT&T does not give any phone on any of their MVNO's VoLTE but for Cricket or Consumer Cellular. AT&T just recently started to give their own prepaid user VoLTE.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    69
    Device(s)
    iPhones 7
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    AT&T allowed volte on straight talk a while ago. Because my family had volte when we had straight talk



    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo
    Last edited by veriztd; 11-03-2019 at 01:02 PM.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    BFE
    Posts
    8,330
    Device(s)
    LG G2, Moto G5+, Moto E4, (Droid Mini, GS3, Droid4, L41C, Droid3, S390G, LG500G, T404G, T301G, V170)
    Carrier(s)
    Total Wireless (Verizon, Red Pocket, Tracfone)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by slamsome View Post
    Kinda sad. Another great phone destined for the scrap heap I guess.
    Why? Other than typical obsolescence, what does AT&T not currently giving VoLTE to MVNOs have to do with its usefulness?

    If VoLTE is important now you could switch to someone that gets VoLTE with AT&T.

    Or wait til AT&T gets closer to going only VoLTE and enables it on MVNOs. No reason to think it won't work then.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    California Gold Country
    Posts
    6,504
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by slamsome View Post
    Another great phone destined for the scrap heap I guess.
    You don't give up much by not having VoLTE on AT&T. You can already use simultaneous voice and data on GSM networks. T-Mobile also provides WiFi calling on TF.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    6,937
    Device(s)
    LG Q6, Moto E5, LG G6
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon, FreeUp
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by loboheeler View Post
    You don't give up much by not having VoLTE on AT&T. You can already use simultaneous voice and data on GSM networks.
    Besides simultaneous voice and data usage, VoLTE offers clearer (HD) voice and quicker connection. But those features aren't that big a deal to me.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    California Gold Country
    Posts
    6,504
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hpham View Post
    Besides simultaneous voice and data usage, VoLTE offers clearer (HD) voice and quicker connection. But those features aren't that big a deal to me.
    I do like HD Voice, but that is with others running on Verizon. Does not work between my TF/T-Mo and TF/VZW phones.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 09-11-2019, 05:32 PM
  2. VoLTE and WiFi calling on att straight talk
    By Guest557 in forum Straight Talk
    Replies: 39
    Last Post: 03-23-2019, 10:30 PM
  3. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-16-2018, 07:25 PM
  4. v66 GSM - does it work on att??
    By eradiomedia in forum AT&T
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-15-2002, 09:36 PM
  5. Question on ATT GSM
    By Conman10000 in forum Rogers/Fido/Chat-r
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-20-2001, 03:10 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks