Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Moto e5 WiFi issue

Feedback Score

Moto e5 WiFi issue

My Moto e5 has developed a problem signing into WiFi. It will not let me sign in but my other phones will.

I noted that it says the frequency is 5ghz and the other phones that do sign in say 2.4ghz.

Since I'm signing in using the same network and password on all devices, I'm stumped as to why this network is showing as 5ghz on the Moto and 2.4ghz on my other phones.

I don't have access to the WiFi router here, It's a guest log in.

I think the error is in the phone. It did this maybe a month ago for a day and then started signing in again the next day. I don't use it very often but tried again today and no go NASA.

Any idea what it could be or if there's a solution except using it as a paperweight?

Sent from my LGL64VL using HoFo mobile app

Feedback Score
    Do your other phones even have 5GHz? I have no experience with 5GHz, as my home router does not have it and have not seen it on public networks so far.

Device(s)
    LG Q6, Moto E5, LG G6
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon, FreeUp
    Feedback Score
    My home WiFi router has dual bands, 2.4GHz and 5GHz. I also have a WiFi extender, so there are a total of 4 WiFi sources. My Simple Mobile Moto E5 sees all of them and I can select any of them.

Name:  Moto-E5-WiFi-sources.jpg
Views: 210
Size:  18.9 KB

Device(s)
    LG Q6, Moto E5, LG G6
    Carrier(s)
    Feedback Score
    Quote Originally Posted by WheelieBoot View Post
    I noted that it says the frequency is 5ghz and the other phones that do sign in say 2.4ghz.

Since I'm signing in using the same network and password on all devices, I'm stumped as to why this network is showing as 5ghz on the Moto and 2.4ghz on my other phones.

I don't have access to the WiFi router here, It's a guest log in.