Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 29

Thread: GV number acting weird?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    185
    Device(s)
    LG Tribute HD
    Carrier(s)
    TPO
    Feedback Score
    0

    Question GV number acting weird?

    GV number acting weird?
    ===================

    I bought a new Moto G5 Play on deal. I thought of using this as GV based device with out anyName:  GoogleVoiceCapture.JPG
Views: 180
Size:  43.1 KB attached plan.

    I have a old GV number linked to inactive/re-assigned mobile number. I used that GV account with this new device.

    It did not allow me to make outgoing call via GV, but it did via Hangout.

    As I called my assigned GV number KKK-JJJ-UUUU from another phone. It is going to different stranger. I am not able to get a new/replacement GV number either. I did reclam my number after deleting the number, it throw error. See screenshot.

    How do I fix this?

    Name:  GoogleVoiceCapture.JPG
Views: 180
Size:  43.1 KB

    Do I need to have a new active cell number to get another GV number ?

    Thanks for sharing.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Mars
    Posts
    3,074
    Device(s)
    Tin cans and a string
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    https://www.google.com/voice/b/0/redirection/voice

    What does it show for your gv # at the above page? Your old correct gv #?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    185
    Device(s)
    LG Tribute HD
    Carrier(s)
    TPO
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thanks. It is not showing any phone number. The Phone tab is missing. See screen shot.

    Left bottom it shows:

    Get your old number back:
    KKK-JJJ-UUUU
    Send feedback

    for reclaim. If I go with reclaim, I am getting the above error.

    Thanks for weighing in.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    12,785
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by RIMDHoward View Post
    Thanks. It is not showing any phone number. The Phone tab is missing. See screen shot.

    Left bottom it shows:

    Get your old number back:
    KKK-JJJ-UUUU
    Send feedback

    for reclaim. If I go with reclaim, I am getting the above error.

    Thanks for weighing in.
    Then how is it possible that Hangouts works correctly?
    Quote Originally Posted by RIMDHoward View Post
    ...

    2) With WiFi connection, I am able to text & make call using Hangout, but GV throw error , for outgoing calls.

    How do I fix this?

    ...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Mars
    Posts
    3,074
    Device(s)
    Tin cans and a string
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    You sure you're not trying to reclaim the forwarding number and not the gv #?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    PNW
    Posts
    2,271
    Device(s)
    Pixel2 XL iPhone SE
    Carrier(s)
    VZW prepaid, Page Plus
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Boz1 View Post
    Then how is it possible that Hangouts works correctly?
    It's not. Making an outgoing call/sms from Hangouts does not require a working Google Voice number. There is zero chance he could receive a call/sms sent to his old (expired) GV number in Hangouts.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Mars
    Posts
    3,074
    Device(s)
    Tin cans and a string
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    To the OP, unless you have a specific need to try to recover this number, I'd just create a new gv account, number and call it a day.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    185
    Device(s)
    LG Tribute HD
    Carrier(s)
    TPO
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by taoman View Post
    It's not. Making an outgoing call/sms from Hangouts does not require a working Google Voice number. There is zero chance he could receive a call/sms sent to his old (expired) GV number in Hangouts.
    It looks like

    Making an outgoing call/sms from Hangouts does not require a working Google Voice number.
    I am able to send text & voice call via hangout.

    GV says get a GV number, when I try to send a text/SMS via GV.

    It is not allowing to Get a new number either.

    Thanks for your guidance

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    PNW
    Posts
    2,271
    Device(s)
    Pixel2 XL iPhone SE
    Carrier(s)
    VZW prepaid, Page Plus
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by RIMDHoward View Post

    Do I need to have a new active cell number to get another GV number ?
    Yes. Or a landline you might have access to. You only need this number to obtain and validate a new GV number. Once you have the new GV number you can delete that number from your GV account. Consequently, you could use a friend's cell number temporarily just to obtain the GV number keeping in mind that any cell/landline number can only be used once to obtain a GV number.

    After deleting the number, you could then just use the GV Android app on your Moto device in Wifi mode.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    12,785
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by taoman View Post
    It's not. Making an outgoing call/sms from Hangouts does not require a working Google Voice number. There is zero chance he could receive a call/sms sent to his old (expired) GV number in Hangouts.
    I had no idea that it's possible to make outgoing phone calls or send SMS using Hangouts without a GV #. There's always something new to learn!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Southwest Michigan, USA
    Posts
    3,500
    Device(s)
    Moto E (T-Mo); LG Fiesta 2 (PPC)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile Prepaid & Page Plus
    Feedback Score
    0
    I wonder what a received call from someone using Hangouts so configured would ID itself as.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    12,785
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by RIMDHoward View Post
    ... I did reclam my number after deleting the number, it throw error. See screenshot.

    How do I fix this?

    Name:  GoogleVoiceCapture.JPG
Views: 180
Size:  43.1 KB

    Do I need to have a new active cell number to get another GV number ?

    Thanks for sharing.
    I'm just curious...why did you delete your GV # in the first place?

    Also, as stated in your screenshot, and also verified by taoman above, you will need a real phone # to either reactivate your old GV # OR to get a new GV #.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    12,785
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by whacker View Post
    I wonder what a received call from someone using Hangouts so configured would ID itself as.
    Good question!

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    12,785
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by jacksson454 View Post
    Google Voice really acts weird some times ... I've been trying to hear a code, but it gave me no chance.
    Are you using a cellular line or a landline for verification?

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    PNW
    Posts
    2,271
    Device(s)
    Pixel2 XL iPhone SE
    Carrier(s)
    VZW prepaid, Page Plus
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by whacker View Post
    I wonder what a received call from someone using Hangouts so configured would ID itself as.
    As one of Google's many generic numbers. Unfortunately, 800notes.com, TrueCNAM and Nomorobo flag most of those numbers as potential spam so many of the calls get blocked or the receiver of the call won't pick up since the number is unknown. Best used for calling businesses or numbers where the displayed CID doesn't matter.

    To receive PSTN calls in Hangouts you must have it linked with either a Google Voice or Google Fi number.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. A56 acting weird
    By Flashlight in forum Siemens
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-03-2003, 12:37 PM
  2. A56 acting weird
    By Flashlight in forum Fido
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-29-2003, 10:47 PM
  3. Camcoder by Phillips acting weird...
    By Zvika in forum UIQ
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-29-2003, 01:40 PM
  4. my phone is acting weird..
    By paintballin1306 in forum General Nextel Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-09-2003, 02:19 AM
  5. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-02-2003, 08:10 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks