Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 16 to 19 of 19

Thread: AT&T prepaid activation nightmare $300 plan

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    825
    Device(s)
    Google Pixel 3a XL
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T PrePaid
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by clonehappy View Post
    If they didn’t port your old number you should still have it available on your previous carrier’s SIM.

    And call the porting department back during the week on a business day. They can absolutely port a number in after a SIM is activated. Unless something has changed in the last few months, because I’ve done it many times with AT&T prepaid.


    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo
    I keep hearing this, but I've ported in numbers a few times, and helped friends do it as well, but every time they had a SIM that had already been activated we were told they needed a new SIM.

    Sent from my Pixel 3a XL using Tapatalk
    - If ignorance is bliss, why are there not more happy people in the world?

    Current Personal Phone: Google Pixel 3a XL (AT&T PrePaid)

    Other phones "in the family": Nokia 6.1 (AT&T), Huawei P20

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    804
    Device(s)
    iPhone 11
    Carrier(s)
    310-150
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by acejavelin View Post
    I keep hearing this, but I've ported in numbers a few times, and helped friends do it as well, but every time they had a SIM that had already been activated we were told they needed a new SIM.
    I can confirm that over the summer it was true (went T-Mobile prepaid->AT&T Prepaid). If you're moving from many services that run on AT&T's network (AT&T postpaid, Cricket, H2O possibly, etc.), they create a new account entirely, port the number to a new SIM, pick the same plan/move the balance, and then cancel the old account. It's a bit messy, but this is why a lot of people lost the Walmart promo when trying to move from an existing AT&T service (the reps don't see the promos attached to the plans, so they only saw an 8GB plan and recreating it on a new account obviously broke that). It's an old, broken system, and it seems that AT&T has no interest in investing in replacing it anytime soon.

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    41
    Device(s)
    11
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by truefan31 View Post
    How does prepaid att compare with their postpaid service? Coverage/roaming? I imagine prepaid has a lower priority than postpaid but is it more than say their iPad unlimited plans?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    I have no issues with the network in my area. I have better signal than Verizon prepaid. I don’t go to sport events etc so don’t know much about data throttling

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    234
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by dollar500 View Post
    I have no issues with the network in my area. I have better signal than Verizon prepaid. I don’t go to sport events etc so don’t know much about data throttling
    Ok I was curious. They’re doing the prepaid unlimited plus for 55 w/autopay, I might try it out


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Similar Threads

  1. Is there an ETF for AT&T Prepaid?
    By vanko987 in forum AT&T
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 02-17-2018, 07:16 PM
  2. AT&T Thinks Prepaid Data Plans Could Drive 3G Everywhere
    By FL1134 in forum AT&T Prepaid (formerly GoPhone)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-04-2009, 08:11 PM
  3. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-29-2008, 10:37 PM
  4. anyone activated an AMP'd E816 on a Verizon plan?
    By GuyinLACA in forum Feature Phones
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 06-03-2006, 11:49 PM

Bookmarks