Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Cricket vs. AT&T Prepaid?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    91
    Feedback Score
    0

    Cricket vs. AT&T Prepaid?

    I currently have 4 phones on AT&T Prepaid for around $90 (only two have data). We are looking for a good deal on an iphone for one of my daughters and all the deals require opening a new line with new number. So I'm considering moving either her or myself to Cricket to get one of their iphone deals (6s for her or 8 for me). How does the coverage compare to AT&T Prepaid coverage? The only trouble we have now with service is when we drive 3 hrs. to northern PA to visit my family, there are dead spots on the way, and not very good coverage at their houses, but they have AT&T boosters that we use when in the houses. If Cricket is similar, I may try a switch. How long do I have to use Cricket before I can transfer the phone to AT&T Prepaid? And is it a pain to do that?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    40
    Feedback Score
    0
    At&t owns cricket so native coverage is identical. I believe at&t prepaid may have an area or 2 where they allow roaming that cricket doesn't offer but that's about it. As far as the specials, keep in mind the 49.99 price for the 6s is with a port in from a non at&t carrier. Meaning if you are porting your number in from at&t prepaid, is does not qualify for the 49.99 pricing.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    91
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hofonewb9 View Post
    At&t owns cricket so native coverage is identical. I believe at&t prepaid may have an area or 2 where they allow roaming that cricket doesn't offer but that's about it. As far as the specials, keep in mind the 49.99 price for the 6s is with a port in from a non at&t carrier. Meaning if you are porting your number in from at&t prepaid, is does not qualify for the 49.99 pricing.
    Ugh, really? I just thought it was porting from a different carrier All the AT&T Prepaid deals require a new line and number, but we want to keep our current numbers.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    40
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ang79 View Post
    Ugh, really? I just thought it was porting from a different carrier All the AT&T Prepaid deals require a new line and number, but we want to keep our current numbers.
    No, it has to be a from a non at&t carrier. You couldn't go straight from at&t prepaid to cricket and get the port in price, you'd have to port to a non at&t carrier first, then port in to cricket to be eligible for port in pricing.

Similar Threads

  1. Is there an ETF for AT&T Prepaid?
    By vanko987 in forum AT&T
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 02-17-2018, 07:16 PM
  2. Cricket vs. AT&T GoPhone
    By ShoogyBee in forum Cricket/AIO
    Replies: 55
    Last Post: 03-16-2017, 09:35 AM
  3. Coverage Verizon Prepaid vs AT&T GoPhone (prepaid)
    By efredmi in forum General Prepaid discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 02-23-2015, 07:36 AM
  4. Replies: 39
    Last Post: 09-30-2014, 09:24 PM
  5. Cricket vs AT&T Post-paid: The comparison
    By Travisimo1 in forum Cricket/AIO
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 06-11-2014, 08:43 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks