Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: BYOD VoLTE phones for Cricket Wireless ?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    SE USA
    Posts
    2,150
    Feedback Score
    0

    BYOD VoLTE phones for Cricket Wireless ?

    Which BYOD (non-Cricket branded) phones are capable of using VoLTE on Cricket Wireless ? - Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    4,312
    Device(s)
    Qualcomm iPhone X 256 GB Space Grey
    Carrier(s)
    Visible
    Feedback Score
    0

    BYOD VoLTE phones for Cricket Wireless ?

    I know iPhones are but not sure about androids. I can’t believe AT&T still doesn’t have full support for VoLTE for all VoLTE capable devices. It’s 2020 now.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    iPhone 7+ on the Verizon Network
    iPad Pro 9.7 on the AT&T Network

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    2,059
    Feedback Score
    0
    Modern iPhones, yes. Android phones, don't count on it. Although, *maybe* modern Samsung. Eh. I doubt that, too.

    I've heard that if you put a working AT&T SIM card, taken from an AT&T phone, into a BYOD device and turn it on, the AT&T network will then decide you're OK to have VoLTE. And then when you remove it, the AT&T network is still OK with your device. The SIM card from the AT&T phone "blesses" your BYOD phone on the network, if you will.

    Don't know if that's still a thing, but it used to be. The Blackberry forums were all over this years ago when the keyONE came out.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Mars
    Posts
    3,274
    Device(s)
    Tin cans and a string
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    I had to have cricket add the imei of an iphone 8 to my profile to get volte working on a oneplus 7t. Didn't actually have the iphone in hand to test out the sim swap theory. A month later, volte still working.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    309
    Feedback Score
    0
    Without screwing around only iPhones. Some Android phones if you want to jump through hoops with mixed results.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Mars
    Posts
    3,274
    Device(s)
    Tin cans and a string
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    An update to my post above. Today I used the sim in another device. Afterwards, I put it back into the 7t but decided to try it in sim2 slot rather than sim1. Note, each slot has a unique imei. Volte continued working even in slot 2.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    200
    Device(s)
    Oneplus One
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by GPz1100 View Post
    I had to have cricket add the imei of an iphone 8 to my profile to get volte working on a oneplus 7t. Didn't actually have the iphone in hand to test out the sim swap theory. A month later, volte still working.
    How do you know VoLTE is working on your phone? On my phone I have VoLTE as well as wifi calling both turned on in Settings. However, I have no idea if they are working.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    3,635
    Device(s)
    iPhone 11, iPhone SE, iPhone 6s
    Carrier(s)
    Boom Mobile, RP
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by emily1995 View Post
    How do you know VoLTE is working on your phone? On my phone I have VoLTE as well as wifi calling both turned on in Settings. However, I have no idea if they are working.
    Turn off Wi-Fi. Make a phone call. If it remains on LTE you have VoLTE. If it drops to 3G/4G, no.

    Turn on airplane mode. Turn on Wi-Fi. Attempt to make a call. If it succeeds (especially if it says something like Wi-Fi calling in the top area, phone dependent), you have Wi-Fi calling.
    iPhone 11 is my current primary phone. But I have more phones than lines. Back to only Prepaid with the changes in the economy.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    200
    Device(s)
    Oneplus One
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by kevink1 View Post
    Turn off Wi-Fi. Make a phone call. If it remains on LTE you have VoLTE. If it drops to 3G/4G, no.

    Turn on airplane mode. Turn on Wi-Fi. Attempt to make a call. If it succeeds (especially if it says something like Wi-Fi calling in the top area, phone dependent), you have Wi-Fi calling.
    Thank you.

    I found that I do not have wifi calling or VoLTE even though my phone has both turned on. What a nuisance created by Cricket!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    876
    Feedback Score
    0
    Cricket restricts VoLTE. AT&T won't let BYOD Android devices have WiFi Calling. This apply to AT&T postpaid, prepaid and all MVNO's.
    Quote Originally Posted by emily1995 View Post
    Thank you.

    I found that I do not have wifi calling or VoLTE even though my phone has both turned on. What a nuisance created by Cricket!
    Sent from my SM-T720 using HoFo mobile app

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Mars
    Posts
    3,274
    Device(s)
    Tin cans and a string
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    I mentioned this elsewhere. I recently swapped the cricket sim to the 2nd sim slot on the oneplus 7t. For those not in the know, devices wil multiple sim slots have multiple imei's. For the this other slot I didn't have to contact cricket to enable volte. Perhaps the feature remains enabled once enabled on the sim itself.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-21-2014, 10:37 PM
  2. Want PDA Phone for Cricket Wireless--any help?
    By normlynn in forum HP/Palm
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-09-2006, 02:05 PM
  3. Best phone for Verizon Wireless and Internet Access
    By phxlibra in forum Verizon Wireless
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-29-2005, 03:12 PM
  4. WTS: New Samsung a890 EVDO Phone for Verizon Wireless
    By _KC_ in forum Non GSM phone Buy/Sell/Trade
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-22-2005, 08:29 AM
  5. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-11-2003, 08:01 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks