Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 16 to 19 of 19

Thread: Rogers Launches 5G Network with Galaxy S20

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Posts
    11
    Feedback Score
    0
    interesting! The promise of 5G isn't what it turns out to be...

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    1,264
    Feedback Score
    0
    The whole concept of NSA 5G is stupid. It makes network and phone designs complicated, and has no meaningful benefit over LTE.

    The real 5G advancements will come with SA, once the 5G core is deployed. That's still 1-2 years away, and it'll take another few years for it to mature.
    Want to learn more about how LTE works?
    https://productioncommunity.publicmo...ls/td-p/130581

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Canada/Montreal
    Posts
    1,146
    Device(s)
    Iphone 5 iphone 4s Galaxy Nexus
    Carrier(s)
    ROGERS
    Feedback Score
    0
    Another on Lte A. At this point i really don't know if i really need 5G. Unless im using my phone as a Hotspot and using a laptop i don't think i need 5G... Lte A is more than enough for me.

    Sent from my SM-G988W using Tapatalk

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    1,706
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by sheytoon View Post
    The whole concept of NSA 5G is stupid. It makes network and phone designs complicated, and has no meaningful benefit over LTE.

    The real 5G advancements will come with SA, once the 5G core is deployed. That's still 1-2 years away, and it'll take another few years for it to mature.
    Completely agree. On Virgin I could always go into LTE only and still make and receive calls, no WCDMA at all.

    On Telus is seems a gamble (at least it was 2 months ago when I tried). For the first few minutes it does indeed work, but hours later calls will bounce for both incoming and outgoing.

    It does feel like there is unneeded complexity around it, but it was a marketing push. For the end user it felt half baked when LTE came out needing to drop to HSPA to make calls for example. Somehow the networks and phones still pulled it off.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Similar Threads

  1. [2015] Brightspot Network Samsung GALAXY S5 G900W8 Unlocking to Use with AT&T,Rogers
    By canadagsm.ca in forum Canadagsm.ca Best deals in mobilephones, accessories and unlocking all under one roof
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-04-2015, 01:24 AM
  2. [2015] Tbaytel Network Samsung GALAXY S5 Unlock Code to Work With Rogers,Solo,Fido
    By canadagsm.ca in forum Canadagsm.ca Best deals in mobilephones, accessories and unlocking all under one roof
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-24-2015, 05:31 AM
  3. Bell Looking for new phone and ?'s about Rogers 3.5G network
    By Jordan1221 in forum Bell/Virgin/Lucky/Solo
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-14-2008, 06:12 PM
  4. Just tested Slingbox with N95-3 using 3.5G network (Rogers)
    By kingsingh1973 in forum Rogers/Fido/Chat-r
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 12-30-2007, 01:46 PM
  5. Rogers 3.5G network - compatible with 903/802
    By skywalker in forum Sharp
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 11-09-2006, 11:01 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks