Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: How does AT&T choose its location for voicemail numbers?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Kent, WA
    Posts
    112
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S9
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0

    Question How does AT&T choose its location for voicemail numbers?

    For some reason my voicemail number has always been a 480 area code which leads to Arizona. Why wouldn't the voicemail platform be more local?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    19,054
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S9+
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    It doesn't matter where your VM is actually stored/forwarded to as it won't cost any extra for you to check it or someone to leave a message. The VM is sent to a central facility where it is stored or retrieved. It is much cheaper and efficient to have fewer facilities than having such a facility in every area code. I am in Florida and likely that VM is stored in a different area code or state from where I live.

    This is nothing new, unusual, or is it a problem.
    Last edited by veriztd; 03-24-2020 at 06:40 AM.
    Don't make me turn this car around.....

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    BTA-44: MTA-29: MSA-41: PEA-40: CMA-41: BEA-78: MEA-24
    Posts
    5,789
    Device(s)
    Galaxy S10+ (unlocked), Galaxy S8, LG K7, iPhone 6S, iPhone 6, iPhone 4S, iPhone 4, iPhone 3G
    Carrier(s)
    at&t
    Feedback Score
    0
    Mine VM number is and Atlanta area code. I'm in AL. But it doesn't matter these days.

    Sent from my SM-G975U1 using HoFo mobile app
    AT&T Unlimited & More w/ 2 Lines
    AT&T TV w/ HBO

    (\__/)
    (='.'=)
    (")_(")

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Greater Hartford, CT
    Posts
    12,423
    Device(s)
    iPhone XS Max 256Gb
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T Mobility
    Feedback Score
    0
    I’m in CT, but I think the voicemail system that my phone would dial out to is in Rhode Island. I very rarely ever call voicemail, I have an iPhone so everything gets downloaded to the phone automatically. No need to call in.
    Hartford, CT Area

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    19,054
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S9+
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    The voicemail # is typically stored in the handset and the user doesn't have to memorize it. By default it is stored in the quick dial for the #1 key on the handset. If a user dials their own phone #, the system automatically forwards the call directly to that #. It has been this way since I started working for Cingular Wireless in 2001 and was probably the same prior to that.

Similar Threads

  1. How does AT&T Plan to fill in Coverage gaps ?
    By WeneedJapPhones in forum AT&T
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-06-2003, 03:05 PM
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-27-2003, 12:43 AM
  3. how does AT&T bill WAP usage??
    By cmm3 in forum AT&T
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-20-2002, 08:08 PM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-24-2002, 03:25 PM
  5. Replies: 17
    Last Post: 02-06-2002, 12:54 PM

Bookmarks