Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Wrong camping band?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    1,661
    Feedback Score
    0

    Question Wrong camping band?

    Hi,

    Any reason why the tower would force me to camp / use band 12 (5 Mhz) here in Kingston, ON? A little surprised when running a speed test... Getting about 3.2 Mbps myself and my friends Bell phone is no better at about 1.2 Mbps.

    No CA. If I force my phone to Band 7 (20 Mhz) I get 75 Mbps...

    (This is an LTE Question, this stupid forum has to choose a prefix and there is no Telus even in the list)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    297
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by @Class View Post
    Hi,

    Any reason why the tower would force me to camp / use band 12 (5 Mhz) here in Kingston, ON? A little surprised when running a speed test... Getting about 3.2 Mbps myself and my friends Bell phone is no better at about 1.2 Mbps.

    No CA. If I force my phone to Band 7 (20 Mhz) I get 75 Mbps...

    (This is an LTE Question, this stupid forum has to choose a prefix and there is no Telus even in the list)
    Hey, I understand your problem. I can almost never get carrier Aggregation in Kingston, ON with bands 7 and 12. I think there's something up with the network there because my s10e would only be on 1 band when it supports way more than 1.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    1,238
    Feedback Score
    0
    Sounds like a Bell threshold optimization problem. Is this happening at all Kingston sites, or only certain ones?

    What is the RSRP for B12 and B7 at the locations where you are stuck on low band?
    Want to learn more about how LTE works?
    https://productioncommunity.publicmo...ls/td-p/130581

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    216
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6s Plus, iPhone 6s
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers, Telus, Bell
    Feedback Score
    0
    I noticed something like this in Kingston as well back in January. Camped on a few different bands IIRC, but CA just wouldn't happen very often, this wasn't a problem last year when I was there. Once I got into Belleville, everything seemed normal again, CA engaged normally. Really bizarre. Seemed to be a problem across Kingston, using an S10 for reference.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    1,238
    Feedback Score
    0
    Can someone give me a site location where this is happening? I'll pass it on to a network engineer to take a look.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    1,661
    Feedback Score
    0

    Question

    Quote Originally Posted by sheytoon View Post
    Can someone give me a site location where this is happening? I'll pass it on to a network engineer to take a look.
    Yes, at the time of the screenshots attached, it was on single Band 13 (5 Mhz). House is near Portsmouth Ave and Princess St in Kingston, ON.

    It eventually switched over after running quite a few tests to CA couldn't tell which bands because is quickly switched to Band 2 for a while then to Band 12.

    Tons of towers around here...

    Name:  Screenshot_20200325-003048_Network Speed.jpg
Views: 40
Size:  19.9 KB
    Name:  Screenshot_20200325-003116_Network Speed.jpg
Views: 38
Size:  23.2 KB
    Name:  Screenshot_20200325-003127_Service mode RIL.jpg
Views: 44
Size:  39.3 KB

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    1,661
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by crab9000 View Post
    I noticed something like this in Kingston as well back in January. Camped on a few different bands IIRC, but CA just wouldn't happen very often, this wasn't a problem last year when I was there. Once I got into Belleville, everything seemed normal again, CA engaged normally. Really bizarre. Seemed to be a problem across Kingston, using an S10 for reference.
    Note 10 here. Usually CA is pretty good given the number of cell sites around here (seems excessive)...

    Name:  Screen Shot 2020-03-25 at 12.45.18 AM.jpg
Views: 39
Size:  77.7 KB

    Rogers has more of an 'appropriate' number of towers given the number of subs here.

    Name:  Screen Shot 2020-03-25 at 12.46.13 AM.jpg
Views: 40
Size:  75.8 KB

    I wish Bell would fill in the holes in cottage country rather than tower on top of tower here in Kingston (the cottage at the end of Vansickle Rd, ON).

    Name:  Screen Shot 2020-03-25 at 12.49.16 AM.jpg
Views: 39
Size:  89.8 KB

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    297
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by @Class View Post
    Note 10 here. Usually CA is pretty good given the number of cell sites around here (seems excessive)...

    Name:  Screen Shot 2020-03-25 at 12.45.18 AM.jpg
Views: 39
Size:  77.7 KB

    Rogers has more of an 'appropriate' number of towers given the number of subs here.

    Name:  Screen Shot 2020-03-25 at 12.46.13 AM.jpg
Views: 40
Size:  75.8 KB

    I wish Bell would fill in the holes in cottage country rather than tower on top of tower here in Kingston (the cottage at the end of Vansickle Rd, ON).

    Name:  Screen Shot 2020-03-25 at 12.49.16 AM.jpg
Views: 39
Size:  89.8 KB
    I feel you there. I live so close to vansickle road Haha. Done lots of work out there in massive cottages. Literally ZERO service there. Only wireless internet service providers.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    1,238
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thanks @Class, this is good info. In your example, B13 RSRP is -106. What is B7 or B2 typically at this location? Usually the phone should stay on high band if it's better than -120 ish.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    1,661
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by DevinRabey View Post
    I feel you there. I live so close to vansickle road Haha. Done lots of work out there in massive cottages. Literally ZERO service there. Only wireless internet service providers.
    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Ugh I know... It's very frustrating. It's literally smack dab in the middle of 4-5 towers, all of them just that 1-2 KM too far away. The annoying thing is both Rogers and Bell (and hence Telus) overstate the coverage there, showing it on the coverage map. There is ZERO coverage there, on a hill, ontop of a car, down by the lake, zero zip nada.

    We actually thought about something like this: https://dsl-warehouse.com/planet-tec...ter-p-257.html or this https://www.ebay.ca/itm/VDSL2-modem-...cAAOSwpmNbIC7e

    Running it over ground or under the lake to the cottage from the lake about 2 KM away where there is *super* weak reception, but with the right setup it could work.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    1,661
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by sheytoon View Post
    Thanks @Class, this is good info. In your example, B13 RSRP is -106. What is B7 or B2 typically at this location? Usually the phone should stay on high band if it's better than -120 ish.
    Band 2: -112
    Band 4: -114
    Band 5: Not available here
    Band 7: -116
    Band 12: -103
    Band 13: -104

    I think that's all of them

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    1,238
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thanks, let me see what I can find.

Similar Threads

  1. What's wrong with my U740? Band new
    By dlee1 in forum Feature Phones
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-04-2007, 11:59 AM
  2. American Pie Band Camp Sucks!!!
    By Squink in forum Nextel Lounge
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 01-09-2006, 02:53 AM
  3. BAND CAMP TOMOROWW!
    By peterd in forum The Lounge
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 08-22-2005, 09:44 PM
  4. Which GSM Tri-band to purchase?
    By Frank in forum General Mobile Questions and Discussion
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 07-27-2001, 06:49 AM
  5. something is wrong
    By deguman1 in forum General Mobile Questions and Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-27-2001, 08:30 PM

Bookmarks