Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20

Thread: LTE Data Suddenly Stopped Working

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    TEXAS
    Posts
    104
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6s, LG G2
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint, Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0

    Exclamation LTE Data Suddenly Stopped Working

    Yesterday, LTE data suddenly stopped working and is still not working.

    I have a Verizon TracFone SIM.

    I contacted TracFone and they can find nothing wrong on their end and I have 2GB remaining for the month.

    I tried refreshing all the data settings in my phone and also tried the sim in another phone of a totally different OS and still nothing.

    I then tried turning LTE off and 3G EVDO data DOES WORK. Turned LTE back on and no data again.

    VoLTE is working and text is working. APN is VZWINTERNET

    Any ideas? Could Verizon LTE just be down where I am?
    Personal: Sprint Apple iPhone 6s (A1688) on Sprint Post Paid SERO Premium SWAC Plus running iOS 13.4.1 with Sprint 41.0 and PRL 55072 and modem firmware 7.51.01 and SIM card version 63.09a
    Work: Verizon LG G2

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    30
    Feedback Score
    0
    If Verizon LTE was down where you are located, wouldn't your phone default to 3G EVDO when you attempted to use data, without you needing to manually toggle off LTE?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    TEXAS
    Posts
    104
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6s, LG G2
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint, Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by lg800g user View Post
    If Verizon LTE was down where you are located, wouldn't your phone default to 3G EVDO when you attempted to use data, without you needing to manually toggle off LTE?
    No idea. I've had to manually switch to EVDO with Sprint before when LTE was down...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    3,539
    Feedback Score
    0
    Maybe a new SIM would help. Sometimes things change, especially with Verizon.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    883
    Device(s)
    Unlocked Tracfone iPhone SE & iPhone 6S, Tracfone Samsung Luna Pro, Tracfone LG Rebel 4
    Carrier(s)
    TF/Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Probably not helpful, but I wonder if you changed the apn to TRACFONE.VZWENTP, saved it (if possible), noted the complete loss of data and then put back apn VZWINTERNET, saved it, if it might stir something.

    (also if haven't done reset network settings)
    Member formerly known as "lappers"

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    West Central Iowa
    Posts
    1,026
    Device(s)
    Galaxy J7 Sky Pro SM-S727VL, Galaxy J3 Sky SM-S230VL, ZTE Z723EL, ZTE Z233VL
    Carrier(s)
    Straight Talk, Total Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    I had a friend that lost his LTE data when his SIM card went bad. He had to get a new SIM card.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    TEXAS
    Posts
    104
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6s, LG G2
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint, Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by tomseys View Post
    Probably not helpful, but I wonder if you changed the apn to TRACFONE.VZWENTP, saved it (if possible), noted the complete loss of data and then put back apn VZWINTERNET, saved it, if it might stir something.

    (also if haven't done reset network settings)
    Been there done that.

    Quote Originally Posted by Lisme View Post
    Maybe a new SIM would help. Sometimes things change, especially with Verizon.
    Just got a SIM swap done. No change and $1 wasted, lol.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    West Central Iowa
    Posts
    1,026
    Device(s)
    Galaxy J7 Sky Pro SM-S727VL, Galaxy J3 Sky SM-S230VL, ZTE Z723EL, ZTE Z233VL
    Carrier(s)
    Straight Talk, Total Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    If a new SIM did not help, check and see if you can find out if your local Verizon LTE towers is has an issue. I have seen some towers getting overloaded due to the COVID-19.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    3,539
    Feedback Score
    0
    The old SIM is still good as a spare.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    TEXAS
    Posts
    104
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6s, LG G2
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint, Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Lisme View Post
    The old SIM is still good as a spare.
    Meh. Already tossed it.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    TEXAS
    Posts
    104
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6s, LG G2
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint, Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Contacted TracFone again. They can not find anything wrong with the account.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Buckeye Land
    Posts
    523
    Device(s)
    iPhone 7
    Carrier(s)
    TracFone, Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by techguru View Post
    Contacted TracFone again. They can not find anything wrong with the account.
    Are you using this or have you tried?

    http://www.unlockit.co.nz/unlockit/

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    883
    Device(s)
    Unlocked Tracfone iPhone SE & iPhone 6S, Tracfone Samsung Luna Pro, Tracfone LG Rebel 4
    Carrier(s)
    TF/Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    This is a byop sim in an LG phone? That was tested in a non TF iPhone 6S?

    And then the byop sim account was transferred to a new sim?

    If you call in for support, ask to speak to a supervisor with access to the account tools.. reps with access are usually more knowledgeable and have more control over the account.

    I think there are android apps that show you how the phone is interacting with the towers and how the radios are behaving... as I recall.
    (LTE discovery etc)
    Last edited by tomseys; 03-29-2020 at 02:00 PM.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    TEXAS
    Posts
    104
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6s, LG G2
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint, Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by TacoDan View Post
    Are you using this or have you tried?

    http://www.unlockit.co.nz/unlockit/
    APN on the LG is user changeable and set to VZWINTERNET.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    883
    Device(s)
    Unlocked Tracfone iPhone SE & iPhone 6S, Tracfone Samsung Luna Pro, Tracfone LG Rebel 4
    Carrier(s)
    TF/Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by techguru View Post
    APN on the LG is user changeable and set to VZWINTERNET.
    What does something like LTE discovery or signalcheck lite show?

    LTE on

    Name:  new.png
Views: 87
Size:  56.4 KB ------ Name:  Screenshot_20200329-151039.png
Views: 81
Size:  35.1 KB



    LTE off (does not work very well)

    Name:  Screenshot_20200329-161148.png
Views: 79
Size:  51.8 KB
    Last edited by tomseys; 03-29-2020 at 03:57 PM.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Reasons data could suddenly stop working?
    By Kren Ster in forum Tracfone/Net10
    Replies: 39
    Last Post: 02-12-2016, 08:30 PM
  2. Data suddenly stopped working - iPhone 4S
    By theimage13 in forum General Prepaid discussion
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 09-23-2013, 08:24 PM
  3. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 02-03-2012, 04:47 PM
  4. Data on Blackberry 8830 with Opera Mini Suddenly Stopped Working!
    By fly4awhtgye in forum Page Plus Handset and Technical Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-09-2010, 09:25 PM
  5. V300 all of a sudden stopped working?!?!
    By saintiam in forum Motorola
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 09-02-2004, 01:09 AM

Bookmarks