Thread: Unreliable ring

Feedback Score

Unreliable ring

I'm rather new to smart phones. I have a new unlocked E6 I bought from Motorola. It uses Ting.

Usually it works okay. About one time out of six, it doesn't ring when called, and the caller doesn't hear it ring either. After about 15 seconds, it goes to voice mail.

Also about one time out of six, it works, but it takes about 10 seconds for the phone to ring.

Is this a problem with Ting or a problem with the E6?

Feedback Score
    Hmmm. Maybe I found the problem. I disabled Wi-Fi calling and it now rings every time and much quicker too.

Carrier(s)
    RedPocket 500/500/500 plan at $10/mo
    Feedback Score
    I had the same experience with Google Voice. For some reason when set to wifi calling, I occasionally see that calls have come in, but I never heard a ring. When I change to carrier only, I never miss a call. Curious.
    My smartphone is a lot smarter than I am.

Feedback Score
    It must be a lot more complicated to receive a call via Wi-Fi. First of all, it must figure out my phone is currently connected on Wi-Fi, and then shove my call down my cable internet. Something along the way is moving slow. I don't think it's my Spectrum cable. Maybe T-Mobile Wi-Fi calling works well and if there is any bandwidth left over, it gives it to Ting.

Feedback Score
    WiFi calling is over-rated IMO.
    Internet doesn't guarantee the delivery of the packages in time, not without some specific settings in the routers involved:
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Quality_of_service
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wirele...dia_Extensions

The correct implementation of those services on home WiFi routers is... variable.

Power save on the phone WiFi throws another wrench in the whole concept. You need to change power saving settings in the phone, not to include the WiFi.

Feedback Score