Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Can't use google voice for voicemail with Tello

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Posts
    3
    Feedback Score
    0

    Can't use google voice for voicemail with Tello

    Because you can't change the voicemail number, or use conditional call forwarding to send to google voice (or any number) on no-answer, I don't see any way to use google voice for voicemail. Tech support also agreed there is no way to do so. They said it is a cost-saving measure, but really, can allowing you to use your own voicemail number really cost them anything?

    At any rate, their plans are quite cheap and the tech support was pretty good (a little tricky to find the online chat) so if you don't need google voice for voicemail, then not a bad deal. For me, a non-starter, as I use google voice to transcribe all my voicemails.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    4,708
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by nedesto View Post
    Because you can't change the voicemail number, or use conditional call forwarding to send to google voice (or any number) on no-answer, I don't see any way to use google voice for voicemail. Tech support also agreed there is no way to do so. They said it is a cost-saving measure, but really, can allowing you to use your own voicemail number really cost them anything?

    At any rate, their plans are quite cheap and the tech support was pretty good (a little tricky to find the online chat) so if you don't need google voice for voicemail, then not a bad deal. For me, a non-starter, as I use google voice to transcribe all my voicemails.
    I had them disable voicemail on the Tello number. Nobody has that number anyway. I use my GV number for everything.

    You can disable texts to the Tello number yourself in your online account.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    842
    Device(s)
    Pixel 3a
    Carrier(s)
    Mint with Google Voice
    Feedback Score
    0
    I'm having no issue with using GV for my voice mail.

    Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    13,481
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by prof68 View Post
    I'm having no issue with using GV for my voice mail.
    What process did you use to set it up?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Posts
    3
    Feedback Score
    0
    With voicemail disabled, where do unanswered calls go?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    842
    Device(s)
    Pixel 3a
    Carrier(s)
    Mint with Google Voice
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Boz1 View Post
    What process did you use to set it up?
    Don't remember being any different than setting up other carrier numbers I've had in the past (TF, Lyca, Mint, Sprint). I switch every few months.

    Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    208
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by prof68 View Post
    Don't remember being any different than setting up other carrier numbers I've had in the past (TF, Lyca, Mint, Sprint). I switch every few months.

    Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk
    Something makes me think you are using the GV number as the published dial-in number and the Tello number as the forwarding phone. Then GV will pick up if there is no answer. If my hunch is correct, then what the OP wants is to have the native Tello number dialed and then forward it to GV *after* Tello gets the call.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Posts
    3
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by mo832 View Post
    Something makes me think you are using the GV number as the published dial-in number and the Tello number as the forwarding phone. Then GV will pick up if there is no answer. If my hunch is correct, then what the OP wants is to have the native Tello number dialed and then forward it to GV *after* Tello gets the call.
    Yes, exactly. I am guessing most people use GV more like prof68, but I don't want to port my "real" number to GV.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    842
    Device(s)
    Pixel 3a
    Carrier(s)
    Mint with Google Voice
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by mo832 View Post
    Something makes me think you are using the GV number as the published dial-in number and the Tello number as the forwarding phone. Then GV will pick up if there is no answer. If my hunch is correct, then what the OP wants is to have the native Tello number dialed and then forward it to GV *after* Tello gets the call.
    Yes, my primary number is my GV number.

    Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

Similar Threads

  1. Using Google Voice for voicemail?
    By AnthKat in forum T-Mobile prepaid
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-12-2012, 09:46 AM
  2. Can't Enable Google Voice for Voicemail- Help!
    By Legaleye3000 in forum Android
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-22-2012, 09:02 PM
  3. can i use google voice with virgin mobile?
    By uiuiui9 in forum Virgin Mobile USA
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-05-2011, 07:50 PM
  4. Can you use Google Voice to call Long Distance....
    By JMadisonIV in forum Google Voice
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-15-2009, 08:07 AM
  5. Can we use Google maps for mobil on Samsung blackjack II with out data plan?
    By kcsrmd1 in forum Windows Mobile Standard (Smartphone)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-03-2008, 09:48 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks