Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: Opinion Needed: Keeping Sprint Airave and line charge now and post-merger

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    129
    Feedback Score
    0

    Opinion Needed: Keeping Sprint Airave and line charge now and post-merger

    I have had Sprint for a few years and am happy with my plan on my primary line. In addition, since I had issues with call quality, I was able to get them to provide a Sprint Airave 2.5 model at no monthly charge. However, I still pay taxes and administrative charges of about $3.00 per month.

    Over time, the network may have improved, since I haven't noticed any calling issues, even when my Airave was temporarily unplugged/offline. On my bill, the Airave device has it's own phone # and line.

    I was debating dropping it to save $3.00. However, I was also unsure if they may allow me to get a newer Airave if I call to ask. Having a better device may justify the $3.00 fee. I don't even know if Sprint still promotes Airaves/Magic Boxes or would even request the equipment returned.

    My bigger concern is what this could mean post merger with T-Mobile. Does Tmobile offer Airave devices and/or charge taxes and fees? Do they also assign a specific phone # to that device? Does anyone see any additional benefits for keeping my Airave line or should I drop it and save $36 per year?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    US
    Posts
    39
    Device(s)
    iPhone X
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0

    Opinion Needed: Keeping Sprint Airave and line charge now and post-merger

    Quote Originally Posted by diesteldorf View Post
    I have had Sprint for a few years and am happy with my plan on my primary line. In addition, since I had issues with call quality, I was able to get them to provide a Sprint Airave 2.5 model at no monthly charge. However, I still pay taxes and administrative charges of about $3.00 per month.

    ...

    My bigger concern is what this could mean post merger with T-Mobile. Does Tmobile offer Airave devices and/or charge taxes and fees? Do they also assign a specific phone # to that device? Does anyone see any additional benefits for keeping my Airave line or should I drop it and save $36 per year?
    What a coincidental and timely question about AirRave.

    Bottom Line
    1. Current AirRave 2.5 will be useless very soon if not now since 3G will be shut off by 2021 - so I understand.

    2. Sprint now uses a “Casa Pebble” signal enhancer which they are sending me for VoLTE.

    3. Casa Pebble is compatible with Sprint and new TMo.

    4. If you have no issues with your improved service, then no need to pay extra.

    5. Otherwise, request the Case Pebble and pay the $3/mo if it helps.

    See my next post for backstory.
    Last edited by gdrenick74; 05-23-2020 at 06:34 AM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    US
    Posts
    39
    Device(s)
    iPhone X
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0

    Opinion Needed: Keeping Sprint Airave and line charge now and post-merger

    My backstory referenced in my post above is that I contacted Sprint about my deteriorating service at home yesterday.

    My call connections were dropping and the person on the end of my calls have difficulty hearing / understanding me. I am in a rural area, but I do have traditional cable/internet service.

    HISTORY
    Over my 20 continuous years with Sprint, I used to have two different AirRaves the most recent being AirRave 2.5. I returned it about two years ago - expecting a newer version which never came.

    The response back from Sprint then was that I would just use WiFi Calling and there was no need for an AirRave replacement after months of waiting for the replacement.

    NOW
    Just yesterday, I was on the chat with four different technical Sprint specialists for an hour - re-provisioning / updating our phones with PRLs et al to no avail.

    I have a iPhone X running iOS 13.5 and my wife has a iPhone 8 with same iOS.

    RESOLUTION
    After persistent diagnosis, re-setting and continued issues, here are the ending threads:

    Sprint: [Sprint would arrange] “for a ‘Signal enhancer’ Casa pebble at your shared address and it work like your personal cell tower at your address. It just works in conjunction with internet and you need to place it nearby/inside a window for best results. And be assured that you won't face any sch issue again.”

    Me: Okay. That would be great. Is it compatible with both Sprint and TMobile?

    Sprint: “Yes, It's our latest Signal enhancer device that supports "Volte" and it will enhance overall services at your address so that you won;t face any such issue again.”

    Hopefully, I will see it in a couple of weeks. My next option is to test drive a new TMo phone and plan. Either way, I should end up there after full integration.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Olympia, WA
    Posts
    2,967
    Device(s)
    HTC One M8
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    I was wondering about this as well... where I’m at Sprint is extremely hit or miss in the house and is 1x.. T-Mo band 12 is there — but barely... I can now roam on it and it still cuts in and out in some of the rooms. The bigger issue — and why I don’t just go to WiFI calling — is the battery life issue. My phones just chew through battery due to the low signal — the Airave keeps them from doing that.

    A few years back I got an LTE Airave — I believe it’s the Airave 3 — it’s a rather large Airvana device... it works pretty good — puts out Band 41 LTE all around the property... but is extremely fickle. Sometimes it’s 3G only, sometimes LTE only... very much seems like this was an interim solution where they crammed a 3G and LTE Airave into one large box... but it suits my needs.

    I figure at some point Sprint will upgrade it to something that will be compatible with T-Mo once they swap the MNCs over in. A few years.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    US
    Posts
    39
    Device(s)
    iPhone X
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Don’t expect Sprint to automatically upgrade / replace the AirRave.

    One will likely be put through the whole assessment and qualification process again.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    129
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by gdrenick74 View Post
    Don’t expect Sprint to automatically upgrade / replace the AirRave.

    One will likely be put through the whole assessment and qualification process again.
    I also agree. Sprint will not automatically do anything. I still have an Airave 2.5 and was never automatically upgraded to the Airave 3 when it was available. However, I don't blame Sprint. Many companies are not proactive in sending out new equipment if the customer isn't actively complaining or asking about it.

    GDrenick,

    Thanks for doing me a little bit of a solid, through your earlier post. I used some verbage from your earlier post when I was speaking with tech support to get qualified for a Casa Pebble. The only holdup was that I have to return my Airave 2.5 before they will send me a Pebble. As I said earlier, I was debating the usefulness of the Airave, but it sounds like it'll be a paperweight once 3g is shut off and for $3 per month, it may be worth it to try out the Casa Pebble.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    6,809
    Device(s)
    iPhone 11ProMax/Note 9
    Carrier(s)
    ·T···Mobile· USA, Verizon, AT$T
    Feedback Score
    0
    T-Mobile has a two box setup for their repeater, or one that plugs into your own ethernet. Both work well.

    I have unlimited data from my ISP and gigabit fiber, so I opted for the ethernet option, but have used the cell repeater as well... both work fantastic.

    As T-Mobile re-farms Sprint's 2.5GHz for LTE/5G on the T-Mobile network, the airaves will be eventually de-commissioned and i'm sure they'll send a different/new model device.
    Verizon: Grandfathered UDP
    T-Mobile: Magenta Amplified (airline employee plan)
    AT&T: Premium & More w/ Free 100Mbps VDSL2 "for life"
    Sprint: Premium Unlimited (for 100GB hotspot!)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    129
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by brad15 View Post
    T-Mobile has a two box setup for their repeater, or one that plugs into your own ethernet. Both work well.

    I have unlimited data from my ISP and gigabit fiber, so I opted for the ethernet option, but have used the cell repeater as well... both work fantastic.

    As T-Mobile re-farms Sprint's 2.5GHz for LTE/5G on the T-Mobile network, the airaves will be eventually de-commissioned and i'm sure they'll send a different/new model device.
    Hi Brad,

    Sprint lists the AIRAVE on my bill with an actual phone/device #. I don't pay any fees accept an admin charge and some taxes----approx $3 total per month.

    Do you know how Tmobile deals with these on customer accounts? Does your device have a separate phone # attached to it and do you pay any charges?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    6,809
    Device(s)
    iPhone 11ProMax/Note 9
    Carrier(s)
    ·T···Mobile· USA, Verizon, AT$T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by diesteldorf View Post
    Hi Brad,

    Sprint lists the AIRAVE on my bill with an actual phone/device #. I don't pay any fees accept an admin charge and some taxes----approx $3 total per month.

    Do you know how Tmobile deals with these on customer accounts? Does your device have a separate phone # attached to it and do you pay any charges?
    T-Mobile devices do not get a seperate line, as they're not attached to a phone number. T-Mobile just registers the IMEI of the device in their network to the address it's suppose to be used at, and they configure it appropriately (so no taxes/fees on their repeaters)

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    US
    Posts
    39
    Device(s)
    iPhone X
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0

    Opinion Needed: Keeping Sprint Airave and line charge now and post-merger

    Quote Originally Posted by diesteldorf View Post
    I also agree. Sprint will not automatically do anything. I still have an Airave 2.5 and was never automatically upgraded to the Airave 3 when it was available. However, I don't blame Sprint. Many companies are not proactive in sending out new equipment if the customer isn't actively complaining or asking about it.

    GDrenick,

    Thanks for doing me a little bit of a solid, through your earlier post. I used some verbage from your earlier post when I was speaking with tech support to get qualified for a Casa Pebble. The only holdup was that I have to return my Airave 2.5 before they will send me a Pebble. As I said earlier, I was debating the usefulness of the Airave, but it sounds like it'll be a paperweight once 3g is shut off and for $3 per month, it may be worth it to try out the Casa Pebble.
    I received the Casa Pebble signal booster and hooked it via Ethernet - not WiFi. It seems to be working great - strong and reliable connection and no distortion of voice, et al.

    Sprint does have a separate line assigned albeit no charge except taxes (TBD).

    Funny thing is my wife’s iPhone 8 still has 1-2 bars while my iPhone X has a solid unwavering four bars. I know that the iPhone X does not have Band 71. I guess need to figure that out, but my wife’s phone connection seem to be good.

    Sprint Customer Care said the Pebble will not necessarily result in 4 bars.

    Any explanation for the iPhone X having 4 bars and only 1-2 on iPhone 8. Just curious as all is much better.
    Last edited by gdrenick74; 06-01-2020 at 10:44 PM.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    25
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by gdrenick74 View Post
    I received the Casa Pebble signal booster and hooked it via Ethernet - not WiFi. It seems to be working great - strong and reliable connection and no distortion of voice, et al.
    Does the Casa Pebble require a connection to your local network to work?

    We live on the outskirts of town where signal is marginal at best. We use to have TMo (MetroPCS) and as soon as the trees got leaves we could no longer make calls even with the 2 box repeater. We went back to Sprint and still experienced poor signal but at least could make calls. Sprint sent us a Magic Box which made our phones useable in the house. I have not noticed any improvements that I can directly attribute to changes since the merger. IMO, the magic box has provided better functionality for us than the TMo system did.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    6,809
    Device(s)
    iPhone 11ProMax/Note 9
    Carrier(s)
    ·T···Mobile· USA, Verizon, AT$T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by BethM View Post
    Does the Casa Pebble require a connection to your local network to work?

    We live on the outskirts of town where signal is marginal at best. We use to have TMo (MetroPCS) and as soon as the trees got leaves we could no longer make calls even with the 2 box repeater. We went back to Sprint and still experienced poor signal but at least could make calls. Sprint sent us a Magic Box which made our phones useable in the house. I have not noticed any improvements that I can directly attribute to changes since the merger. IMO, the magic box has provided better functionality for us than the TMo system did.
    That's just because you happen to be closer to the Sprint cell site.. Did your phones have B71 support for T-Mobile? that will make all the difference in the world in a rural area.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    US
    Posts
    39
    Device(s)
    iPhone X
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0

    Opinion Needed: Keeping Sprint Airave and line charge now and post-merger

    Quote Originally Posted by BethM View Post
    Does the Casa Pebble require a connection to your local network to work?

    We live on the outskirts of town where signal is marginal at best. We use to have TMo (MetroPCS) and as soon as the trees got leaves we could no longer make calls even with the 2 box repeater. We went back to Sprint and still experienced poor signal but at least could make calls. Sprint sent us a Magic Box which made our phones useable in the house. I have not noticed any improvements that I can directly attribute to changes since the merger. IMO, the magic box has provided better functionality for us than the TMo system did.
    The Casa Pebble can either connect directly to your router via an Ethernet cable or via WiFi. I used the Ethernet option to preserve WiFi bandwidth and you can change it at any time.

    If you do not have the Casa Pebble, it is worth calling Sprint to request it. I am not sure what the “magic box” is, but if it is the AirRave (any version), then request the Pebble.

    I have an iPhoneX which unfortunately does NOT have B71, but my iPhone X has a solid four bars. My wife’s iPhone 8 only has 1-2, but her calls have not dropped or had bad audio.
    Last edited by gdrenick74; 06-03-2020 at 07:31 PM. Reason: Added response to question

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    US
    Posts
    39
    Device(s)
    iPhone X
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by gdrenick74 View Post
    The Casa Pebble can either connect directly to your router via an Ethernet cable or via WiFi. I used the Ethernet option to preserve WiFi bandwidth and you can change it at any time.

    If you do not have the Casa Pebble, it is worth calling Sprint to request it. I am not sure what the “magic box” is, but if it is the AirRave (any version), then request the Pebble.

    I have an iPhoneX which unfortunately does NOT have B71, but my iPhone X has a solid four bars. My wife’s iPhone 8 only has 1-2, but her calls have not dropped or had bad audio.
    Update: My wife’s iPhone 8 is now showing 4 bars consistently in the house.

    I walked outside of my house in a rural area. I still had 3-4 bars until went beyond ~ 500’ which is great because reception outside is not the strongest either.

    The Pebble certainly seems to be helping.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    175
    Feedback Score
    -1 (0%)
    Quote Originally Posted by gdrenick74 View Post
    I received the Casa Pebble signal booster and hooked it via Ethernet - not WiFi. It seems to be working great - strong and reliable connection and no distortion of voice, et al.

    Sprint does have a separate line assigned albeit no charge except taxes (TBD).

    Funny thing is my wife’s iPhone 8 still has 1-2 bars while my iPhone X has a solid unwavering four bars. I know that the iPhone X does not have Band 71. I guess need to figure that out, but my wife’s phone connection seem to be good.

    Sprint Customer Care said the Pebble will not necessarily result in 4 bars.

    Any explanation for the iPhone X having 4 bars and only 1-2 on iPhone 8. Just curious as all is much better.
    What magic words did you say to get the Pebble? We tried to get order it 3 weeks ago and ended up with an OG Magic Box.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 39
    Last Post: 04-10-2006, 07:03 PM
  2. new lines and activation charge
    By XFF in forum Verizon Wireless
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-22-2005, 11:34 AM
  3. Need youse sprint folks honest opinions
    By phinger23 in forum Sprint
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-17-2004, 02:02 AM
  4. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-16-2004, 06:02 AM
  5. Car charging opinions needed
    By Noslen in forum LG
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-13-2004, 07:23 PM

Bookmarks