Thread: 4G router issues/questions - Using D-Link DWR-961 for home internet

Feedback Score

4G router issues/questions - Using D-Link DWR-961 for home internet

Hi All -

I'm attempting to use a t-mobile tablet data add-on plan to run my home internet. I typically only use about 20-30GB a month in data, and I also want something that is portable that I can bring with me to the lake where I get surprisingly good T-mobile connection versus other carriers.

I bought a US Cellular D-Link DWR-961 4G router/modem on the advice from someone that it would have band 12 support and T-mobile would just recognize it as normal tablet data usage. I've been using it for a few months and it has worked okay, but I seem to have speed issues. I'm hoping someone can offer some advice. This is what I have seen:

• Since I have been working from home, the speeds sometimes seems fine for normal usage, but other times are unbearably slow just to surf webpages. Downloading files always seems slow
    • Running a speed test at speedtest.net sometimes shows DL speeds of 60Mbps+, and other times <0.5Mbps. It seems to depend on the server I pick
    • Running the google speed test usually shows speeds of <0.5Mbps DL
    • This would all make it seem like the data is being throttled, however, I am able to stream Amazon Prime and Netflix and for the most part it is HD quality. It usually takes a min or so to buffer up to full quality, and lately I have had some issues with the quality dropping out randomly in the middle of a show, but other than that it is fine.
    • Additionally, T-mobile seems to indicate some of the usage as hotspot data when I look up my usage stats, but not all of it.