Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Tricky problem. No outgoing calls on Nationwide/telus ..but txts are fine. Help experts :)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    vancouver bc
    Posts
    21
    Carrier(s)
    freedom wind
    Feedback Score
    0

    Tricky problem. No outgoing calls on Nationwide/telus ..but txts are fine. Help experts :)

    Ok. This is driving me nuts. I even got a new phone!

    Originally I had an older ZTE Zmax 2 (z958) when I got onto freedom 2 months ago. Things were fine except a massive battery drain when on freedom's networks. My ZTE had lousy bands and that explained it...so i got a new Samsung a10e (recommended by freedom)...

    Well it's fine battery wise now on freedom but i still go into non freedom areas and need to use telus/nationwide piggybacking. And damn it. I cannot make any outgoing calls. It just dies after I dial the number...I can get calls incoming and make txts but darn thing won't let me make a call.

    And the Samsung has a ton of bands...so now what? How do I get a fix for this issue...imagine if you are stuck on the side of a road and no freedom network..so you try the "nationwide" and still no calls...

    I'm in the vancouver BC area....if anyone an try to connect to the telus/nationwide network as a test....I'd appreciate it as well to see if I can trouble shoot this better..

    thanks

    bob

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    233
    Device(s)
    iPhone XS, iPad Mini 2, MacBook Pro 2013 13”, Apple TV 4.
    Carrier(s)
    TELUS
    Feedback Score
    0
    I’m curious to read about that! Do yoy have roaming enabled on your phone? (I’m just grasping at straws, here)


    Sent from my iPhone Xs Max using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    vancouver bc
    Posts
    21
    Carrier(s)
    freedom wind
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by TwitchyPuppy View Post
    I’m curious to read about that! Do yoy have roaming enabled on your phone? (I’m just grasping at straws, here)


    Sent from my iPhone Xs Max using Tapatalk
    I'm on the $99 all canada plan so it should be in place with freedom.

    However - is there an actual option in the phone's physical setting to engage roaming as well? Like I said...makes me crazy that i can get incoming calls but no outgoing...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    233
    Device(s)
    iPhone XS, iPad Mini 2, MacBook Pro 2013 13”, Apple TV 4.
    Carrier(s)
    TELUS
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by pointbob View Post
    I'm on the $99 all canada plan so it should be in place with freedom.

    However - is there an actual option in the phone's physical setting to engage roaming as well? Like I said...makes me crazy that i can get incoming calls but no outgoing...
    There is, yeah. It should be under Mobile networks or something. I don’t know Android phones very well haha! It’s weird that outgoing calls aren’t working. Did you reboot your phone?


    Sent from my iPhone Xs Max using Tapatalk

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    vancouver bc
    Posts
    21
    Carrier(s)
    freedom wind
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by TwitchyPuppy View Post
    There is, yeah. It should be under Mobile networks or something. I don’t know Android phones very well haha! It’s weird that outgoing calls aren’t working. Did you reboot your phone?


    Sent from my iPhone Xs Max using Tapatalk
    Ok. But I actually don't have data with freedom - it's $99 voice only annual plan....and yes on reboot...

    ive never had such quirky weird problems with a provider...

    oh and i talked to freedom and they have no idea...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    512
    Device(s)
    Galaxy S9, iPhone SE
    Carrier(s)
    Koodo, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by pointbob View Post
    However - is there an actual option in the phone's physical setting to engage roaming as well? Like I said...makes me crazy that i can get incoming calls but no outgoing...
    Yes. For Samsung it's Settings -> Connections -> Mobile networks -> Data roaming.

    When you cannot make outgoing calls, are you in a Freedom zone?

    Sent from my SM-G960W using Tapatalk
    Koodo: Unlimited Canada Talk, World Text, 8+9 GB Data
    AT&T: Unlimited talk & text in and between the U.S., Canada, & Mexico, 8+17 GB data

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    1,052
    Device(s)
    BlackBerry Key2 LE
    Carrier(s)
    Freedom Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Upgrade your SiM card. Sometimes that works

    Sent from my BlackBerry Key2 LE using HoFo mobile app
    ""Wine'm, dine'm, sixty9'm""

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    vancouver bc
    Posts
    21
    Carrier(s)
    freedom wind
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by The_Night_Owl View Post
    Yes. For Samsung it's Settings -> Connections -> Mobile networks -> Data roaming.

    When you cannot make outgoing calls, are you in a Freedom zone?

    Sent from my SM-G960W using Tapatalk
    Hi

    No I'm in nationwide/telus mode. It's just that where I work sometimes there is no freedom so i have to piggyback on nationwide/telus.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    512
    Device(s)
    Galaxy S9, iPhone SE
    Carrier(s)
    Koodo, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by pointbob View Post
    Hi

    No I'm in nationwide/telus mode. It's just that where I work sometimes there is no freedom so i have to piggyback on nationwide/telus.
    The mode is not the issue. Freedom coverage area is the issue. You say at work you SOMETIMES have a Freedom Mobile signal. So your work is in a Freedom Mobile zone. Freedom doesn't allow use of the nationwide (TELUS) network if you are in a Freedom home zone.

    Freedom Mobile coverage map:
    https://www.freedommobile.ca/en-CA/network-coverage

    Canadian Cellular Towers Map:
    https://www.ertyu.org/steven_nikkel/cancellsites.html

    Sent from my SM-G960W using Tapatalk

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    347
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by The_Night_Owl View Post
    The mode is not the issue. Freedom coverage area is the issue. You say at work you SOMETIMES have a Freedom Mobile signal. So your work is in a Freedom Mobile zone. Freedom doesn't allow use of the nationwide (TELUS) network if you are in a Freedom home zone.

    Freedom Mobile coverage map:
    https://www.freedommobile.ca/en-CA/network-coverage

    Canadian Cellular Towers Map:
    https://www.ertyu.org/steven_nikkel/cancellsites.html

    Sent from my SM-G960W using Tapatalk
    +1

    Unfortunately, if you're in a "fringe" zone where Freedom has a tower, it should not allow you to connect to a roaming partner. Unfortunately, if it does, it will show full bars but if you try to make a call, it will just give you dead air or disconnect within 30 seconds with a fast beeping signal.

    Best of luck with things!

Similar Threads

  1. TF- AT&T SIM, No outgoing voice on outgoing calls
    By ironpolska in forum Tracfone/Net10
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-23-2016, 07:46 PM
  2. No incoming or outgoing calls on away
    By JC_yyc in forum Freedom Mobile (previously Wind Mobile)
    Replies: 35
    Last Post: 08-22-2014, 11:34 AM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-17-2008, 10:51 AM
  4. No outgoing audio on some calls
    By 4mula1 in forum Siemens
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-22-2004, 09:51 PM
  5. No outgoing audio on dialled calls
    By 4mula1 in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-20-2004, 09:38 AM

Bookmarks