Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 30

Thread: Are there two APNs for 5g access?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    306
    Feedback Score
    0

    Are there two APNs for 5g access?

    Should my Samsung Galaxy s20+ 5g just latch on to a 5g signal or would I need it provisioned with an APN etc? Thanks


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    306
    Feedback Score
    0
    No one knows?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    306
    Feedback Score
    0
    When I find 5g tower is there any important test mode performances I should run while connected to the tower? Thanks


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Almont, Michigan
    Posts
    4,411
    Device(s)
    Galaxy S10
    Carrier(s)
    LTE-A
    Feedback Score
    0
    As long as your data plan includes 5G access, your device should automatically connect when you are in a coverage area. Afaik, they don't use a different APN to utilize 5G. Service Mode is your best option to check bands, carrier sizes, etc. *#0011#

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    4,125
    Device(s)
    Note 10+
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by 10mm View Post
    As long as your data plan includes 5G access, your device should automatically connect when you are in a coverage area. Afaik, they don't use a different APN to utilize 5G. Service Mode is your best option to check bands, carrier sizes, etc. *#0011#
    I was thinking the same thing. As long as you are on elite or extra.

    Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    306
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by 10mm View Post
    As long as your data plan includes 5G access, your device should automatically connect when you are in a coverage area. Afaik, they don't use a different APN to utilize 5G. Service Mode is your best option to check bands, carrier sizes, etc. *#0011#
    Iím currently searching for 5g+. I found it in one block but couldnít find the tower. Iím assuming that code is for android phones? I had to restart my phone to connect to 5g. Would it say 5g or 5g+? Probably 5g correct? Here are two pics that seem to (at least two) that are not 5g but lte. Where my phone connected to 5g it was a low mbps but connecting to lte tower its 400+. Thatís better than where I live. Iím going to one other location then if unsuccessful Iíll go back to where I first found 5g and try and look for the tower. Thanks!




    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    306
    Feedback Score
    0
    The tiki torches were supposedly put up back in late 2018 around the time AT&T started deploying 5g here so I was hopeful but a las


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    306
    Feedback Score
    0
    Could these be the 5g towers Iím connected to? And also why does service mode say lte when connected to 5g? Thanks


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    306
    Feedback Score
    0
    Could these be the 5g towers Iím connecting to? Also why does service mode say Iím connected to lte when my phone says 5g?





    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    19,415
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S9+
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Voice will default to 4G. 5G is primarily used for data. 4G will not be going anywhere for quite some time. For now, the two run hand in hand. While 5G will likely incorporate voice in the future, it doesn't currently. Check out this article: https://www.qualcomm.com/invention/5g/what-is-5g
    Just another day in paradise.....

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Almont, Michigan
    Posts
    4,411
    Device(s)
    Galaxy S10
    Carrier(s)
    LTE-A
    Feedback Score
    0
    B66 LTE is the anchor band which is being utilized until Stand Alone 5G is rolled out but it's gonna be a while like Serial Port mentioned. The second pic you posted looks like a Sprint small cell. Not sure about the other two, but none of those are mmWave nodes which will display as 5G+. Sub-6/n5 will only be deployed on macro sites currently I believe, but I could be wrong. Not sure why your phone is showing 5G, but there's no info in the NR fields in Service Mode which indicates you aren't connected to sub-6 5G. It is, however showing 'Rel: 15 Support' which to me indicates your phone is detecting 5G but isn't connecting. Check that service mode screen again while you are running a test and will show if your phone is on n5. LTE will yield those fast speeds especially if you were utilizing LAA/B46.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    306
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by 10mm View Post
    B66 LTE is the anchor band which is being utilized until Stand Alone 5G is rolled out but it's gonna be a while like Serial Port mentioned. The second pic you posted looks like a Sprint small cell. Not sure about the other two, but none of those are mmWave nodes which will display as 5G+. Sub-6/n5 will only be deployed on macro sites currently I believe, but I could be wrong. Not sure why your phone is showing 5G, but there's no info in the NR fields in Service Mode which indicates you aren't connected to sub-6 5G. It is, however showing 'Rel: 15 Support' which to me indicates your phone is detecting 5G but isn't connecting. Check that service mode screen again while you are running a test and will show if your phone is on n5. LTE will yield those fast speeds especially if you were utilizing LAA/B46.
    Well Iím sure there isnít any sub 6 5g here. So youíre saying that the phone will definitely show as 5g+ when connected to mmwave? I had some hand in getting info from AT&Ts network team and through the office of the President which told me that there definitely is 5g+ at the cross street I was at when my phone detected 5g. Those pix above arenít two far from the intersection but I did spot these on top of a building. Please tell me I found 5g+ towers???? I walked around and couldnít really see anything else. Thank you all for your help!!





    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    306
    Feedback Score
    0
    Oh and so Iím assuming that two of those pix above are lte towers as my speeds went above 400 mbps when I was standing right near them


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    306
    Feedback Score
    0

    Are there two APNs for 5g access?

    More perplexing I guess is that while my phone says 5g when my phone saw 5g and I ran speedtests they all indicated lte.





    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    19,415
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S9+
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    In my earlier post, I pointed out the 5G is currently reserved for data and 4G (LTE) is used for voice. Both networks co-exist. That would explain you results. Only 1 APN is in use, no need for 2 different APN's. What is your concern ?? Everything appears to be operating perfectly normal.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-10-2013, 04:35 PM
  2. Are there two different versions of Body-Glove for i860?
    By ToddziLLa in forum General Nextel Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-04-2004, 04:35 PM
  3. Are there hidden menus for 3390?
    By GoldServe in forum Nokia
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-15-2002, 06:36 AM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-26-2002, 01:27 PM
  5. Are there manual slides for the 8260??
    By semidevil in forum Nokia
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-10-2002, 03:56 PM

Bookmarks