Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Band 14 but no 5Ge?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    211
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0

    Band 14 but no 5Ge?

    I just noticed my area has band 14, which should mean AT&T put up new panels, so why has the tower not enabled 256 qam and 4x4 Mimo? I was under the assumption that AT&T completely overhauled towers when they went to add band 14 to them


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    2,478
    Device(s)
    Apple iPhone X🅂, Samsung Galaxy S20+ 5G
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T, Verizon, T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Upgrading a site to merely support all bands/frequencies does not necessarily warrant a 5GE badge. There are other factors as well, such as backhaul and more specific TAC requirements.
    - Bentley


    AT&T 5G+, Oklahoma City

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    4,121
    Device(s)
    Note 10+
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    In upstate NY, there are many areas where band 14 is deployed without displaying 5Ge. Like Bentley stated, there's much more to it than just band 14. The backhaul here in NYC has been cranked way up. What are speeds like in your area? Peak/ off peak hours?

    Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    19,398
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S9+
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Never assume anything without first verifying. We all know the saying about "assuming"........

    Never forget that At&t's branding of 5Ge was never 5G, and more like 4.5G instead.
    Just another day in paradise.....

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Almont, Michigan
    Posts
    4,406
    Device(s)
    Galaxy S10
    Carrier(s)
    LTE-A
    Feedback Score
    0
    There's a number of sites around here that display 5Ge that doesn't have B14 deployed.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    NE Ohio
    Posts
    5,081
    Device(s)
    iPhone X, iPhone 7
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    There's a market near mine where 5G has gone live on n5, and another market with no band 5 licenses that hasn't gone live for 5G yet. Despite that, the market with no band 5 started showing 5Ge in numerous TACs last year, while the n5 market still only displays "LTE" on all LTE phones.

    I suspect its as more to do with timing, as it appears that AT&T stopped flagging TACs that qualify for "5Ge" status sometime earlier this year after that marketing settlement regarding the use of "5Ge." Existing TACs that were already labeled 5Ge seem to continue to display it, presumably to avoid causing confusion for people who have already gotten used to seeing it at home/work/wherever they frequent.


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5,426
    Device(s)
    N/A
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon Wireless;
    Feedback Score
    0
    Remember 5Ge is just marketing nonsense; they can turn the badge on or off however they'd like.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    2,478
    Device(s)
    Apple iPhone X🅂, Samsung Galaxy S20+ 5G
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T, Verizon, T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hwertz View Post
    Remember 5Ge is just marketing nonsense; they can turn the badge on or off however they'd like.
    Not quite. Marketing, yes - however, there are actually specific requirements that TACs within a market must meet before the indicator can be turned on.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    2,240
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by BentleyBeard View Post
    Not quite. Marketing, yes - however, there are actually specific requirements that TACs within a market must meet before the indicator can be turned on.
    5Ge is not 5G so it's all BS

Similar Threads

  1. Is 5Ge using new FirstNet Band 14 Panels?
    By derek703 in forum AT&T
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-09-2019, 02:28 PM
  2. LTE Discovery... but No LTE Band!
    By ajholik in forum Verizon Wireless
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-19-2015, 08:46 AM
  3. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-24-2010, 01:34 AM
  4. I want the SE W850i slider, but no 850 band
    By CelluloidRage in forum AT&T Regular Phones
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-21-2006, 01:05 PM
  5. Ring, but no ring?!?
    By fourfone in forum General Mobile Questions and Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-30-2001, 09:24 AM

Bookmarks