Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 41

Thread: Truphone: Alcatel 4052R (AT&T) SMARTFLIP my only option?

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Republic of Texas
    Posts
    1,514
    Device(s)
    Moto X4, G Stylus, G Power, G7, G7 Power, G6, G5s+, E6, E5+, E5
    Carrier(s)
    Google Fi, metro by T-Mobile, TracFone on Verizon, AT&T and T-Mobile, TextNow and FreeUp.
    Feedback Score
    0
    This phone, at least mine does not prompt for the unlock code when inserting a foreign sim. The code AT&T sent was useless. I never did figure out how to input the code.

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    13,990
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by cellular-dude View Post
    This phone, at least mine does not prompt for the unlock code when inserting a foreign sim. The code AT&T sent was useless. I never did figure out how to input the code.
    Maybe it's already unlocked if it doesn't?

  3. #18
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    450
    Carrier(s)
    Truphone, FreeUp, FreedomPop US & MX, Toggle UK, Piranha, Netzclub DE, Simyo ES, Three UK
    Feedback Score
    0
    From what I remember reading, AT&T is no longer unlocking non-customers phones like they used to. I'd be thrilled to hear otherwise. Especially if they unlock Cricket devices.

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    California between Fresno and Yosemite.
    Posts
    1,695
    Device(s)
    LG phones, Motorola, ZTE, occasional Alcatel
    Carrier(s)
    TracFone/VZ
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by cellular-dude View Post
    This phone, at least mine does not prompt for the unlock code when inserting a foreign sim. The code AT&T sent was useless. I never did figure out how to input the code.
    I haven't heard back yet on the unlock request, I think it's more like 24-48 hours but will say when I get the email. Here are the unlock instructions for one of my other AT&T phones.

    Unlock instructions:


    1. Power off the device.

    2. Insert non-AT&T SIM card.

    3. Power on the device.

    4. Enter the unlock code provided.

    5. Select Unlock.

    6. The device is unlocked.


    Enter the code like dialing a number from the keypad. I think it gives more chances if the number is entered wrong. It did work for my three older phones.

    Sent from my Z557BL using HoFo mobile app

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Republic of Texas
    Posts
    1,514
    Device(s)
    Moto X4, G Stylus, G Power, G7, G7 Power, G6, G5s+, E6, E5+, E5
    Carrier(s)
    Google Fi, metro by T-Mobile, TracFone on Verizon, AT&T and T-Mobile, TextNow and FreeUp.
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Boz1 View Post
    Maybe it's already unlocked if it doesn't?
    Nope it's sim locked. It at least gives that message with a foreign sim.

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Republic of Texas
    Posts
    1,514
    Device(s)
    Moto X4, G Stylus, G Power, G7, G7 Power, G6, G5s+, E6, E5+, E5
    Carrier(s)
    Google Fi, metro by T-Mobile, TracFone on Verizon, AT&T and T-Mobile, TextNow and FreeUp.
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by djphilosophy View Post
    From what I remember reading, AT&T is no longer unlocking non-customers phones like they used to. I'd be thrilled to hear otherwise. Especially if they unlock Cricket devices.
    Last time I tried unlocking a Cricket phone I was turned down as not their phone.

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Republic of Texas
    Posts
    1,514
    Device(s)
    Moto X4, G Stylus, G Power, G7, G7 Power, G6, G5s+, E6, E5+, E5
    Carrier(s)
    Google Fi, metro by T-Mobile, TracFone on Verizon, AT&T and T-Mobile, TextNow and FreeUp.
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by WheelieBoot View Post
    I haven't heard back yet on the unlock request, I think it's more like 24-48 hours but will say when I get the email. Here are the unlock instructions for one of my other AT&T phones.

    Unlock instructions:


    1. Power off the device.

    2. Insert non-AT&T SIM card.

    3. Power on the device.

    4. Enter the unlock code provided.

    5. Select Unlock.

    6. The device is unlocked.


    Enter the code like dialing a number from the keypad. I think it gives more chances if the number is entered wrong. It did work for my three older phones.

    Sent from my Z557BL using HoFo mobile app
    Yeah they sent me all this also, even with the code.

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    California between Fresno and Yosemite.
    Posts
    1,695
    Device(s)
    LG phones, Motorola, ZTE, occasional Alcatel
    Carrier(s)
    TracFone/VZ
    Feedback Score
    0
    I came across a Reddit thread that deals with an AT&T unlock. They're saying that they unlocked their AT&T phone using a TracFone SIM and now the phone is locked to T-Mobile. The TF SIM must have been GSM/T-Mo. I didn't realize that could happen. Has anyone experienced that, and is that going to be an issue with anyone buying a used unlocked cellphone?

    https://www.reddit.com/r/ATT/comment...m_source=share

    Sent from my Z557BL using HoFo mobile app

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    6,056
    Feedback Score
    0
    Tracfone is evil.
    I will be Judged on how I helped the poor, sick & others in need; strangers & loved ones alike.

    Visible (Verizon) UTT & Unlimited Data $25/mo
    Liberty Wireless (T-Mobile) UTT 07.26.21
    T-Mobile Gold Rewards $10yr exp 01.11.21
    Truphone (AT&T) every 180 days by 02.06.21

  10. #25
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    450
    Carrier(s)
    Truphone, FreeUp, FreedomPop US & MX, Toggle UK, Piranha, Netzclub DE, Simyo ES, Three UK
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by WheelieBoot View Post
    I came across a Reddit thread that deals with an AT&T unlock. They're saying that they unlocked their AT&T phone using a TracFone SIM and now the phone is locked to T-Mobile. The TF SIM must have been GSM/T-Mo. I didn't realize that could happen. Has anyone experienced that, and is that going to be an issue with anyone buying a used unlocked cellphone?

    https://www.reddit.com/r/ATT/comment...m_source=share

    Sent from my Z557BL using HoFo mobile app
    They didn't actually test other SIMs (e.g. their old AT&T SIM) to see if it's truly locked. Seems more likely it's just the app saying it's locked when it isn't.

  11. #26
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    2,167
    Device(s)
    LG G4, Galaxy S7 Edge, Note 4
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, FreedomPop, TracFone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by WheelieBoot View Post
    I came across a Reddit thread that deals with an AT&T unlock. They're saying that they unlocked their AT&T phone using a TracFone SIM and now the phone is locked to T-Mobile. The TF SIM must have been GSM/T-Mo. I didn't realize that could happen. Has anyone experienced that, and is that going to be an issue with anyone buying a used unlocked cellphone?

    https://www.reddit.com/r/ATT/comment...m_source=share

    Sent from my Z557BL using HoFo mobile app
    I don't think the redditor's phone is actually locked to TracFone or T-Mobile. Since the S7, Samsung flagships have installed carrier apps when you change SIMs. On T-Mobile and T-Mobile MVNOs the apps include the T-Mobile unlock app which falsely claims the phone is locked on unlocked non-T-Mobile phones.
    Find and compare prepaid plans at https://prepaidcompare.net

  12. #27
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    6,056
    Feedback Score
    0
    What can possibly be the reason other than fooling some people into buying new phones?

  13. #28
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    California between Fresno and Yosemite.
    Posts
    1,695
    Device(s)
    LG phones, Motorola, ZTE, occasional Alcatel
    Carrier(s)
    TracFone/VZ
    Feedback Score
    0
    Well, no unlock yet from AT&T on my Smartflip. Got an email from them today saying they're still researching my eligibility so I *suspect* this time they may not grant it.

    The other 3 phones they gave me unlock codes for were older and that may have been why they released those. The Smartflip is new and they may want to hang onto it hoping I'll activate it on AT&T. I want it for H20. I really don't have to unlock it for that. Red Pocket I would.

    I'll post as soon as I get the verdict.



    Sent from my moto e5 (XT1920DL) using HoFo mobile app

  14. #29
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Kansas City
    Posts
    2,474
    Device(s)
    OnePlus 7T, Apple iPad Air 4th Gen (WiFi), Apple iPhone 6S
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint, Verizon Prepaid, FreedomPop (AT&T)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by WheelieBoot View Post
    Well, no unlock yet from AT&T on my Smartflip. Got an email from them today saying they're still researching my eligibility so I *suspect* this time they may not grant it.

    The other 3 phones they gave me unlock codes for were older and that may have been why they released those. The Smartflip is new and they may want to hang onto it hoping I'll activate it on AT&T. I want it for H20. I really don't have to unlock it for that. Red Pocket I would.

    I'll post as soon as I get the verdict.



    Sent from my moto e5 (XT1920DL) using HoFo mobile app
    I wouldn't see why you can't use it on H2O or Red Pocket GSMA (but you would need an unlock for GSMT). Those should be using SIMs with ICCID starting with 8901410.

    Sent from my HD1905 using Tapatalk
    My common forum nick: GenesisDH.

    R.I.P. Circuit City

    We are the Bor... the new AT&T: Your World, Assimilated.

    1000th post: Sept. 29th, 2008, 17:42 CDT

  15. #30
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    California between Fresno and Yosemite.
    Posts
    1,695
    Device(s)
    LG phones, Motorola, ZTE, occasional Alcatel
    Carrier(s)
    TracFone/VZ
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Haas_Dave View Post
    I wouldn't see why you can't use it on H2O or Red Pocket GSMA (but you would need an unlock for GSMT). Those should be using SIMs with ICCID starting with 8901410.

    Sent from my HD1905 using Tapatalk
    Right, I have H20 already on another phone I like but it's 3g. I figure when 3g no longer works on that flip, I'll move the SIM to the Smartflip.

    Still no word on yea or nay from AT&T on unlock. It's the weekend ahead so I figure next week sometime.



    Sent from my Z557BL using HoFo mobile app

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 06-11-2018, 04:26 PM
  2. Full retail pricing, my only option?
    By tpredmore in forum Verizon Wireless
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-13-2010, 09:24 AM
  3. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 01-08-2008, 07:27 PM
  4. Is Verizon my only option?
    By Jevia in forum Verizon Wireless
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 01-19-2007, 12:34 AM
  5. Reminders - Is "Beep" My Only Option?
    By boltjames in forum Feature Phones
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-31-2004, 03:15 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks