Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Red Pocket - why can't they active my device on Verizon?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    20
    Feedback Score
    0

    Red Pocket - why can't they active my device on Verizon?

    My father was just given an iPhone SE by my aunt who was using it with Verizon. She told us she uses Verizon, had a Verizon sim card, and if I go into the Settings/About section of the phone where it has the model#, IMEI#, and all that, it says "Carrier: Verizon 41.1"

    So can someone educate me why Red Pocket tells me it cannot be activated on their Verizon service? She also called Verizon to have it unlocked, if it indeed was. They told me they could activate it on their Sprint or AT&T service, but not Verizon. I'm lost as to why it was clearly being used on Verizon, but they tell me it's not compatible with their Verizon service?

    Thank you!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    6,274
    Feedback Score
    0
    is the phone still under an existing contract ?? - https://help.redpocket.com/hc/en-us/...Pocket-Mobile-

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    35
    Device(s)
    iPhone 11 Pro Max, iPhone SE (both gens)
    Carrier(s)
    ATT, T-Mobile, Visible
    Feedback Score
    0
    Take a look at my reply to your comment on the Boom thread. That could be the case and solution for you.


    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    13,864
    Feedback Score
    0
    Can you check compatibility at
    https://www.tracfone.com/keep-your-own-phone
    and
    https://www.pagepluscellular.com/byop-eligibility/
    and report back what they show?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    2,024
    Device(s)
    LG Ultimate 2 L41C, HTC Evo 4G, Photon Mifi
    Carrier(s)
    Pageplus Cellular
    Feedback Score
    0
    Did the op get a new Verizon sim card from red pocket to activate? Not sure if you can use an old one

    Sent from my S3_Pro Umidigi using HoFo mobile app

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    20
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ShredFred View Post
    Did the op get a new Verizon sim card from red pocket to activate? Not sure if you can use an old one

    Sent from my S3_Pro Umidigi using HoFo mobile app
    Not yet, all I did was contact them to see if I could use the device with them on their Verizon network. If they said yes, I was going to order a sim card. But they told me it was not compatible on their Verizon network, even though it was just being used WITH Verizon previously.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    144
    Feedback Score
    0
    Has the phone been removed from it's previous account at Verizon?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    2,024
    Device(s)
    LG Ultimate 2 L41C, HTC Evo 4G, Photon Mifi
    Carrier(s)
    Pageplus Cellular
    Feedback Score
    0
    Do you have to use Verizon? With RP, you can use AT&T, Tmobile too. The iPhone SE should be able to use any carriers.

    I don't work in the cell phone industry but it sounds like they couldn't have tried to activate because you need a valid Sim iccid along with your phone meid. My recollection is that you can't reuse a used sim card.

    The only thing I can think that is blocking you is whether the phone is currently on a contract or if the phone is not completely paid off?
    Quote Originally Posted by Ace77 View Post
    Not yet, all I did was contact them to see if I could use the device with them on their Verizon network. If they said yes, I was going to order a sim card. But they told me it was not compatible on their Verizon network, even though it was just being used WITH Verizon previously.
    Sent from my S3_Pro Umidigi using HoFo mobile app
    Last edited by ShredFred; 08-30-2020 at 04:47 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-07-2018, 02:20 AM
  2. why can't I activate my iphone 2g?
    By mobile_pro in forum Apple
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-04-2011, 07:01 PM
  3. Why can't I activate my phone right now?
    By Sal68 in forum Verizon Wireless
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 07-01-2005, 10:41 PM
  4. Why can't I save my CP on my computer?
    By Flavas125st in forum Software
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-14-2005, 09:12 PM
  5. Why can't I check my FW on my 6590?
    By dec0y in forum Nokia FAQ
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-22-2003, 01:00 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks