Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Activating a BYOP TMO SIM

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    55
    Feedback Score
    0

    Activating a BYOP TMO SIM

    Has anybody succeeded in doing an online activation of a BYOP T-Mobile SIM in the last few weeks?

    I tried yesterday and failed. After entering the SIM number, it asked for IMEI; never seen that before, but I seem to recall TMO is requiring VOLTE since early August. Entered the IMEI of an old 3G TMO phone, and it failed, as expected.

    Then I tried the IMEI of a factory unlocked Moto E4 (verified with the Mint checker) and it seemed to accept the phone, but popped up a message that there is no coverage in my zip code. I never entered a zip code, and it was the same logged in or not (cookies cleared between sessions in Firefox). Same behaviour not logged in using Edge.

    I assumed this was a bug in new IMEI code for TMO, but it's hard to imagine nobody else has activated on TMO in a month. Or perhaps I'm making some silly mistake. Has anyone made it work?

    I tried both the old and the new Android apps this morning, and it seemed they were going to work, although I didn't complete the transaction.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    176
    Feedback Score
    0
    How do you activate without entering a zip code?

    If you said activate keeping my phone number, the system would assume the zip code associated with that phone number.
    Tracfone rewards referral code LVNO-CB72 gives 8,000 points to new rewards members.
    Sign up for the TracFone rewards program here: https://www.tracfone.com/rewards

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    55
    Feedback Score
    0
    That's my point, perhaps not clear: it never prompts for a zip code, just errors out. I can't find a way past the error.

Similar Threads

  1. Anyone have extra TmO Sim and activation code
    By Cell_Phone33 in forum Cricket
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-31-2014, 07:35 PM
  2. Re-Activating Previously Used Tmo Prepaid Sim?
    By RobNyc in forum T-Mobile prepaid
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 01-25-2014, 05:58 PM
  3. Changing the area code of a pre-activated TMO SIM Card
    By Xee in forum General Prepaid discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 01-14-2007, 03:21 PM
  4. activate a "private" buy SIM
    By kenken325 in forum Rogers/Fido/Chat-r
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 04-30-2003, 01:34 PM
  5. FS: 5 Brand New, In-Active Rogers AT&T SIMS
    By lil DraGon in forum GSM phone Buy/Sell/Trade Archive
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-07-2002, 09:33 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks